ASM International NV Reviews | Glassdoor

ASM International NV Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
ASM International NV CEO Chuck del Prado
Chuck del Prado
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Vacation is not what you expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nothing positive to say about ASM's vacation policy.

    Cons

    As a new employee, ASM gave me what I thought was a generous 2 weeks of vacation with an additional 1 week of flex time. Little did I know the company has mandatory plant closings 14 days out of the year. Either you use your vacation and flex time during these times, or you are not paid. This leaves me 1 whole day to use when I want. Ridiculous. On top of that, I have heard from others that you can plan vacation... months in advance, only for the company to reject your time off, stating priority business needs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop making employees take our vacation when it is convenient to ASM. And honor employees vacation plans, because after 60-70 hour work weeks, we deserve the time off.

    ASM International NV2019-05-13
  2. "Company moving in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart people to work with. Management is making right hires in order to compete against the bigger competitors. Decisions are made quickly. Not much office politics

    Cons

    Demanding customers. Overall company is too spread out and not enough interactions with other parts of the company. Still doesn’t feel like everyone in Europe or manufacturing is moving as quickly or working as a team.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward and celebrate the wins

    ASM International NV2019-04-06
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Mechanical Engineer II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Engineer II in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good learning curve Good Pay for the location Great ground level team and employees to work with

    Cons

    Upper management is the worst. The VP will fire anyone with ideas opposite to his. Long working hours Every project is a chaos and urgent. Because of the high turnover, the projects lack continuity No scope of growth Disconnect between Upper management and Lower level engineers

    Advice to Management

    Learn to be open to ideas different than yours

    ASM International NV2018-12-06
  4. Helpful (4)

    "General Manager Competency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time

    Pros

    None that I can think of....

    Cons

    This guy had the personality of Donald Trump, berating employees in front of peers, he made incredibly bad decisions in business directions and personnel.

    Advice to Management

    Fire this guy.

    ASM International NV2018-11-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to hide in middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Manager in Prescott, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    HR and upper Management support complete imcompentence

    Cons

    I ran out of employees to harass and belittle

    Advice to Management

    fire all of us and get some people from applied/LAM who can make your company successful

    ASM International NV2018-09-07
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time

    Pros

    If you want to be working in great people on cool technology then ASM is the place to be. Great Leadership with clear vision. Company is growing in its areas.

    Cons

    Most of the customers are in Asia so travel to these sites is required. competitive environment

    ASM International NV2018-07-15
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time

    Pros

    Great technology. Good learning opportunity. Competitive salary and benefits. Fast paced working environment.

    Cons

    Long working hours. Micromanagement needs to reduce.

    ASM International NV2018-05-20
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Pay and Vacation Benefits

    Cons

    Every project is an emergency requiring 60 hours a week and very unrealistic schedules. Management override engineering know-how.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the engineers and appreciate your coworkers. So many good people have left. Job turnover is crazy. It is sad to see what has happened to this company. I have worked here over 10 years. Really sad.

    ASM International NV2018-06-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Equipment Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equipment Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at ASM International NV full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My director is very supportive on my career advancement.

    Cons

    Fast-paced environment on the development on the product.

    Advice to Management

    More trainings and seminars in the future. Competitive market salary adjustment.

    ASM International NV2018-04-08
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great learning opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ASM International NV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands down the best health benefits I’ve had ever. Really good coverage for employee and family. Excellent opportunity to learn cutting edge technology. ASM is the go-to supplier for HKMG technology at any fab in the world. Compensation is competitive and matches industry standards. Culture can vary from team to team but if you’re in a good one, you’ll enjoy every day at work. At least their HR doesn’t post fake 5... Star reviews like most of other low rated companies. Semiconductor industry is not for the faint of heart. I’ve experienced way more stressful and longer days at previous companies. To remain competitive in an industry that depends on accuracy at the Angstrom level, you just have to put in a lot of hours to make things work and requirements from customers change each day.

    Show More

    Cons

    The workforce seems very disengaged with senior management. Most technical decisions are made by non technical folks who don’t understand long term ramifications of their actions. Some of the software is still written in languages rendered obsolete at other companies. Makes very difficult to make changes. Big disconnect between all different ASM sites in the world.

    Advice to Management

    Do not make emotionally and politically motivated decisions because you hurt everyone including yourself in this company in the long term. Have frequent surveys to monitor employee morale and take sincere action to fix their concerns so they know you have their backs

    ASM International NV2018-03-29
Found 77 reviews