AT&T Reviews in Akron, OH | Glassdoor

AT&T Akron Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
20 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Akron, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great Competitive environment with endless opportunities to advance in career opportunities.

    Cons

    nothing out of the normal for a corporate company.

    Advice to Management

    no one can be managed the same, keep and open mind, were all people

    AT&T2018-12-07
  2. Helpful (3)

    "RUN AWAY AS FAST AS POSSIBLE!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ihx in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    You get to meet lot’s of interesting people from all walks of life

    Cons

    Severe micromanagement, inflexible salaried Manager schedule but you’re treated like an hourly employee. Terrible systems that constantly crash mid usage. Operates on retail hours. If you’re looking for a 9-5 keep looking! Look at the reviews Nationwide. If it looks, walks, quacks like a duck? IJS

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up the vise grip a little with the micromanagement. If you don’t trust your employees to do their jobs the employees won’t trust you to lead. Stop making one size fit all policies. Address the person or persons who violate the rules. Everyone is not out to do the wrong thing so stop treating everyone like they are.

    AT&T2019-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boardman, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The money and benefits were great!

    Cons

    They're were too many changes with not adequate time to adjust.

    Advice to Management

    I don't think management could have done anything. It started from the top.

    AT&T2017-10-29
  4. "Perm Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Premise Technician in Akron, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Healthcare and paid time off...... the union is struggling with memberships due to major surpluses at AT&T but for the most part have your back

    Cons

    Way to many to list, unpredictable forced overtime, horrible pay, only 12 out of 52 Saturday’s off a year, just to name a few

    Advice to Management

    AT&T should clean house from the 3rd levels up... so disconnected and forget where they came from...

    AT&T2017-10-13
  5. "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Boardman, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay & benefits are decent, the training is adequate.

    Cons

    The culture at this call center is poor, and boarderline unethical. Now that their focus is on sales some of the managers straight up tell you to just say anything to get a customer off of the phone. I have worked in sales environments before, and ATT has the most deceptive sales practices out of all of them. They try to portray the job as being fun, and management goes too far and it's forced, childish and corky....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be sincere to your reps and you will be suprised how much production you will get from them.

    AT&T2017-05-04
  6. Helpful (3)

    "We need service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Call Center Representative in Boardman, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits included

      Cons

      Roles change too much and incentives constantly xhanging

      Advice to Management

      Customer service is needed. We are told we are sales and service and sales are our main focus. Customers need customer service as well. There are no advocates for the customer anymore!

      AT&T2017-04-29
    • "Install and repair uverse and DSL and phone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Call Center in Akron, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T

      Pros

      Money and benefits and retirement I hope .... the vacation time can be nice too ya know know know know

      Cons

      There is a lot of micro managing and the rapport between boss and tech is usually lacking these days I feel

      Advice to Management

      Treat your people great and they will give you great numbers

      AT&T2016-11-18
    • "PMO Organization"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Construction Manager III in Greenville, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Incredible trust and faith in ethical performance. Ability to think outside the box to deliver network upgrades.

      Cons

      Only wish I could have been full time, permanent employee.No other negative advice and incredible and memorable point in my career.

      Advice to Management

      Continue successful program. Always allow professional advancement opportunities to let industry follow a true leader. I only hope one day I can return to this incredible team and close my career.

      AT&T2016-10-18
    • Helpful (2)

      "Customer Support Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Call Center in Boardman, OH
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AT&T

      Pros

      Pay is great, meet new people, benefits, 401k.

      Cons

      Workplace drama, management is clueless, bonuses come in late. Goals are unattainable. Union is pointless.

      AT&T2016-08-17
    • "No Place I'd rather be than Right Here - Right Now!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Akron, OH
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        AT&T continually invests in our people. The company continually asks for employee feedback and takes action on it. AT&T continually pursues new growth markets which means there is always opportunity for those individuals here who embrace change.

        Cons

        We live in a place & time that is consistently changing so if an individual has difficulty with managing change this might not be the company to have your career with. However, for those who thrive on change & challenges - this place rocks!

        Advice to Management

        Keep doing what you are doing! So thankful that our C-levels want our feedback & take action. Additionally, programs for employees such as Leading With Distinction are clearly World Class so please keep 'em coming!

        AT&T2016-04-19
      Found 32 reviews