AT&T Reviews in Austin, TX | Glassdoor

AT&T Austin Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 244 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
117 Ratings
  1. "Retail sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good benefits, I was very honored to work with such great teams on both upper management and co workers. Great pay.

    Cons

    Work-Life balance, the amount of changes happening all at once.

    Advice to Management

    Comunicate how the many changes are burning out employees. I understand the company’s vision to be more than a cellphone provider but ultimately its backfiring since there’s no clear support when issues with the home services happen. There’s a huge disconnect between retail and installers and also customer service.

    AT&T2018-04-19
  2. "Stress-full but rewarding if you're good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    consistent raises till you cap out

    Cons

    micromanagement and pressuring to force sales in uncomfortable situations

    Advice to Management

    good morale is better for production

    AT&T2019-04-03
  3. "A lot of expectations - be prepared to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASM- Assistant Store Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time

    Pros

    AT&T has great benefits - paid vacation, 401K with company match, dental, vision, etc...the pay is fair for a non-specialized position. Inside job.

    Cons

    The company expects a LOT, it's easy to feel overwhelmed. Lots of spinning plates to balance. At times you feel like all you are is a number and all upper management cares about is numbers. Also, the company is only closed 3 days a year - Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. Your schedule will vary week to week so finding balance and consistency can be tough to non-existent.

    AT&T2019-03-31
  4. "It's reliable, but getting worse & worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are union represented, so your job is secure

    Cons

    Commission is being cut every year, and business is slowing down more and more

    Advice to Management

    Although you have higher ups pressuring you for more numbers, constant write ups and negative coaching are not the right approach. More training and collective team selling would be better.

    AT&T2019-03-18
  5. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AT&T Premises Technician in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Embracing and Safe work environment, low stress

    Cons

    Exposure to weather and the elements, and customers

    Advice to Management

    Promote worthy candidates sooner and more often

    AT&T2019-03-12
  6. "They're a Headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome medical benefits. Great vacation time

    Cons

    They are more focused on selling DirecTv than helping customers

    Advice to Management

    Go back to putting the customer first

    AT&T2019-03-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not so part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    You can make decent money if you work in a busy store or an area with a Uverse. My co workers were fun to be around so it made downtime enjoyable. You can get benefits working part time after 6 months, if you last that long.

    Cons

    Did not listen to my scheduling requirements. I was finishing up my last year of college and I did not want to work more than 20 hours a week. Management tried to work with me but eventually told me at the end of the day they have to focus on the business needs. Wanted you to sell Directv at ANY cost. I told them my customer was BLIND and management still had a rebuttal for why I should have asked more questions about...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    BETTER HANDS ON TRAINING. Better POS system, get some pointers from your competition. Focus more on the customer

    AT&T2019-04-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Job security is a concern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Design Engineer in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Salary, generous vacation and parental leave

    Cons

    Zero job security, constant layoffs, absorbing workload from those who have left the company

    Advice to Management

    Quit buying companies that are not profitable and you might get to keep some of the employees in your profitable lines of the business.

    AT&T2019-03-07
  9. "Big company issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior - Data Analysis in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, can be challenging, lots of different roles, pay is decent, great products and employee discounts

    Cons

    Health care expensive, always going thru layoffs which I am part of right now

    Advice to Management

    Stabilize the company and put more into employee growth and development

    AT&T2019-02-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Layoff Happy Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits & decent pay

    Cons

    Layoff happy and no job security

    Advice to Management

    Losers

    AT&T2019-02-15
Found 244 reviews