AT&T Reviews in Charleston, SC | Glassdoor

AT&T Charleston Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
12 Ratings
  1. "18 years and it has been a pleasure to work there. Unfortunately being laid off."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Plant Technician in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benifits, pay, type of work.

    Cons

    Job cutbacks and down sizing.

    Advice to Management

    Take better care of your team.

    AT&T2019-07-04
  2. "Wire technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AT&T Wire Technician in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, hours are guaranteed, benefits are amazing.

    Cons

    No way to move literally at all, management will find any and everything to suspend you.

    AT&T2018-11-05
  3. "Retail Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AT&T Mobility RSC in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hourly pay and that’s it.

    Cons

    Too many to count. Shady business practices, horrible management team, kiss ‘butt’ mentality, fearing for job every day, horrible arsms that stab you in the back, meaningless metrics you are graded on. No work life balance, bipolar company direction.

    Advice to Management

    Take a cyanide pill.

    AT&T2017-10-07
  4. "Wire tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wire Technician in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits

    Cons

    Unreasonable work conditions metrics and hours, no support

    Advice to Management

    Every single complaint I have is self inflicted by att. Find your best techs and listen to them. Take care of and show appreciation for the techs that do good work. Focus on training

    AT&T2017-04-08
  5. "Great pay, but expendable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Manager in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AT&T offers a great benefits package for frontline employees, and pay.

    Cons

    The hours are terrible, with incredibly poor leadership. The benefits package for management is almost insulting, and the leadership shows no empathy towards this. Time off is scarce, and the company is numbers driven. Doesn't matter how long you've been with the company everyone is expendable, and they constantly cut employees to close deals like the DIRECTV acquisition and Time Warner. They are conastantly... surplussing positions, going through hiring freezes, and forcing sales managers to "coach" their teams to document employees on the frontline staff to fire them. The area managers and 2nd level managers say "don't fall in the sword for your team". There is absolutely no work life balance, your life will revolve around AT&T

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Align the 2nd level leaders with your front line staff. There is a huge disconnect.

    AT&T2017-01-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AT&T Wire Technician in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AT&T offers great benefits and competitive pay. Of course, the union has helped a lot with that.

    Cons

    Lots of work and hours. AT&T is a process oriented corporation... Follow the rules or file in at the end if the unemployment line.

    Advice to Management

    Relax a little. Most of us know how to do our jobs, so please, let us do our job

    AT&T2016-03-17

    AT&T Response

    May 16, 2016Talent Operations Manager

    Thank you for your feedback and acknowledging the pay and benefits we pride ourselves on. And, thank you for your overall feedback in the areas we can improve upon. We will ensure your feedback is heard.

  7. "Wire Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits.. that's pretty much it. Healthcare and discounts on AT&T products and services. Healthcare is some of the best out there, especially if you have a full family to cover

    Cons

    Hostile work environment, unrealistic management expectations, constant fear & intimidation toward all technicians, ridiculous turn over rate. Extreme micro-manageent

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate shotgun management style, fear & intimidation, and micro-management. Do not expect employees to maintain satisfactory metrics when they are based on factors outside of the employee's control

    AT&T2016-01-13
  8. "Wire Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits as well as great training!

    Cons

    Horrid treatment of employees, the very definition or micro management, you're only a number, management is abysmal, was told to lie to customers several times, you work when they say, how they say, you get off when they say, but overtime is great!

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way you wish to be treated

    AT&T2015-12-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Ups and Downs Stop the Greed!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Pay! Bargained by the CWA probably the best in telecommunications. Health insurance use to be the best and its gotten a little pricey. Also plenty of vacation. 401k and Pension

    Cons

    Horrible Management and Company Greed and on going company surpluses every quarter. Off shore hiring and contract employee for cheap labor and to weaken the unions. Company is more focused on sales then support and share holders.

    Advice to Management

    STOP WITH THE SURPLUSES WE NOW HAVE MORE OUT SOURCED EMPLOYEES THEN REAL ATT EMPLOYEE BRING GOOD JOBS BACK TO CREATE GOOD JOBS WITH FAIR PAY AND BENEFITS.

    AT&T2015-04-01
  10. "TREAD LIGHTLY! UPPER MANAGEMENT ARE SNAKES AND WILL RETALIATE IF YOU SPEAK UP FOR YOURSELF!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great devices and technology. Benefits are decent and so is pay (but cons out way the pros here.)

    Cons

    Will not uphold Retail Promise...You do not Matter...Neither do customers...please read and believe They will retaliate and fire you if you seem to be too honest for their comfort Racist and Intolerant to Religion but will cuss and make nasty jokes all day mgmt. included I've seen so many innocent people fired or mistreated despite union involvement The could care less about their customers and employees alike.... Management does not even understand their company policies and will make and break rules as they go Micromanaging and Good Ole boy networks run strong Asset protection, Ethics, HR do nothing to help when they discover the company is wrong

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't just promote Retail Sales Consultants as managers. Train them ADEQUATELY! Most of them were not at ALL ready or even fit for managing a hot dog stand. They had little to no people skills AND would be laughed at by more organized and companies. Sales Support Representatives do not get recognition for anything. This company breeds incompetent managers like Cockroaches in Louisiana on a hot humid summer.... Particularly Charleston South Carolina stores. AT&T does almost nothing to celebrate employees and will lay you off in a New York minute and with a smile and no support from the company. PEOPLE are $$$$ to your company. You are on the same level as Wal-Mart for the way you treat employees and customers alike. I've worked at VZW before and I thought I had issues there but it was NOTHING like the PITS of AT&T's HELL. You are thieves and liars at the corporate level. You will falsify documents and hide cameras.....you do anything to hide your dirty hands. But your time is coming. Anyone who is honest does not belong working here. I was warned before I worked here and I didn't believe it. I later was burned and realized it is SCARILY true! What's worse is this company knows it and cares NOT. As long as customer's are blindly walking into your web trap giving you their hard earned dollars you will continue the abuse. Worst company I've ever worked for!! Life changing HORROR STORY of a company.

    Show More
    AT&T2014-10-18
Found 17 reviews