AT&T Reviews in Davenport, IA | Glassdoor

AT&T Davenport Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
10 Ratings
  1. "Good money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Rock Island, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T

    Pros

    Make good money and great benifits

    Cons

    Too many rules constantly changing and not for the best

    Advice to Management

    They change methods of sales back and forth

    AT&T2015-03-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "One and a million"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T

    Pros

    Friendly, fun ,progression, ability to grown in the company, change happened frequently

    Cons

    Hours were my only issue with three small kids being at work till 930 was hard on me

    AT&T2015-03-07
  3. "AT&T Mobility Call Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Call Center in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T

    Pros

    Great benefits, decent pay and incentives, Union positions, discounted wireless services, hour lunch break, good working conditions, onsite cafeteria

    Cons

    Long initial training period, but very limited time sitting with a seasoned employee. Lack of support once training is completed. Metrics that are somewhat unrealistic without proper training/support.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more time with seasoned reps, and have a season rep Y cord with all new phone reps for a few days minimum.

    AT&T2015-01-20
  4. "It was a GREAT experience. I learned so many new things about technology."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I met a lot of new people. Good pay for the area.

    Cons

    High turnover rate makes it hard to work with people you know. Every Six moths had to bid for your shift and there were no guarantees. Sceduled are not flexable.

    AT&T2014-08-28
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Atrocious, lousy, incompetent company. They are DEAD LAST in customer service- they don't care about their people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Call Center Team Manager in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is pretty good. Once you start, you realize WHY the pay is good- no one wants to deal with the company! Local leadership is promoted on the Peter principle. Highest performers are held back from promotion opportunities.

    Cons

    Let me count the ways- Feedback to management is ignored. Leadership looks for ways to oust the potential leadership below them. Metrics are based on measurements that have nothing to do with customer service. Common sense is a rare commodity above the Team Manager level.

    Advice to Management

    Leave. Only new leadership from top to bottom will save this government-level catastrophe of stupidity.

    AT&T2014-03-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, but you are at the mercy of the competency of your center management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge products, ongoing training, excellent benefits, good bonus structure Nice facilities and resources

    Cons

    Call center team managers are overworked and micromanaged to the point of absurdity. There is way too much emphasis on documenting and completing reports, and not enough time to develop and positively motivate employees. It creates a miserable environment that fuels turnover

    Advice to Management

    Engge employees and solicit and implement improvements and ides that are submitted. Get away from the constant top-down directives

    AT&T2013-11-15
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great pay and benefits for work required."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center in Davenport, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Benefits one full month after hire date -Great pay compared to other call centers -Great employee discounts -Raises 3 times a year -holiday pay

    Cons

    -upset customers-which comes with any company -being just a number to a large company -high call volume

    Advice to Management

    As customer service representatives we were constantly told by the company to "show we cared" for the customers. It was upsetting that when I went through a personal issue, which caused me to miss more than the allowed number of days. Only a portion of my FMLA was approved. I was terminated without a second thought. I understand that large companies have policies in place for a reason but I was a loyal employee and was...

    Show More
    AT&T2013-08-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay... When you're new! Pressure cooker, though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay with wage credits for newer employees (Wasn't available for those of us that have been there 3-5 years or more) Medical, Vision & Dental Benefits

    Cons

    Limited upward mobility Metric expectations can seem unrealistic Turnover - keep losing reps due to strict attendance requirements Hours of Operation - when I started, we weren't even open on Sunday (just late during the week). Now, we've expanded hours to Saturday and Sunday. the schedules are a NIGHTMARE Dealing w/ the union can be counterproductive

    Advice to Management

    For customer care, hours need to be 9am-9pm M-F and limit Sat/Sun to 9-6 or something. We have vendor centers in other countries for a reason, to pick up extra call flow... We only need a couple teams there on Saturday & Sunday If employees work Saturday don't make them also do Sunday (and vice versa). We need to have this option SOON or turnover will NEVER improve!

    AT&T2013-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wanting Management? Try Elsewhere!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Team Manager in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is competitive Benefits are great Physical environment is beautiful- very positive-appearing place to work. Employee discounts are generous

    Cons

    Managers are never allowed to manage their people, but must cave in to flavors of the month by the Center Director. They should rename the position from Team Manager, to Team Bureaucrat, or Assistant Coach- there is no real authority in any supervisory position in Customer Care. My best day at AT&T was the day I gave my notice.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure consistency at all levels of management, starting at the top! Try to set realistic, achievable goals for the hard-working reps and managers. Allow freedom to manage the teams without micromanagement. Use metrics that validate successful mastery of key behaviors.

    AT&T2013-09-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Manager in Davenport, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay and great benefits.

    Cons

    The call center is controlled by the local union war mongers. They breed discontent and hate and they protect employees who should not be there and sow fear to those who do. Sadly, because of the union, managers are actually paid less than what the representatives are and so any kind of career opportunity is actually a set back for most of them. The only benefit to being a manager is the love of helping other people...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stand behind your people and don't throw them under the bus, if you approve an action, take responsibility for it.

    AT&T2013-08-21
Found 27 reviews