AT&T Director of Product Management Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Director of Product Management Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Great Company, I like work for them

      Cons

      None, no cons to mention. positive

      Advice to Management

      none

      AT&T2019-02-02
    • Helpful (1)

      "Few things about AT&T"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great long term strategy and stable company

      Cons

      Moving many jobs to Dallas is silly for such a global company.

      Advice to Management

      Improve communication to employees on changes. Delegate decision to employees makes for better morale through empowerment. Less re-orgs to create stability and continuity

      AT&T2018-09-10
    • "Director"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Seattle, WA

      I have been working at AT&T full-time

      Pros

      Dedicated team members committed to making a difference

      Cons

      Unclear expectations from Management ever changing priorities no clear foundation

      AT&T2017-12-22
    • "Director Product Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Redmond, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Predictable, newly remodeled offices in Redmond

      Cons

      No real amenities, limited job opportunities and LOTS of bureaucracy.

      Advice to Management

      Very tough environment in Redmond, WA if you are looking to advance your career. Not a lot of local opportunities and company is just as bureaucratic as you might think of a company this size.

      AT&T2017-12-12
    • "Welcome to burnout"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director of Product Management in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      It was a job with a paycheck that cleared.

      Cons

      I was part of a company that AT&T acquired. It sucked the soul out of the place.

      Advice to Management

      GET OUT OF THE WAY and let people do their jobs. Provide a work environment that promotes creative thinking, risk taking and ingenuity.

      AT&T2016-10-21
    • "Great stability, and very high quality services produced, but it can be a challenge for some."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Director, Product Marketing Management in Atlanta, GA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The company is focused on providing the best quality services for their customers (I was in Business Services). The compensation is good, benefits remain pretty strong, and it's certainly a stable company.

      Cons

      The drive to only provide the "best" services to their customers is often at the expense of speed to market, and responsiveness to customer needs. Nothing gets produced without a *lot* of review and oversight, and sometimes the apparent whims of very senior leadership can knock a formerly important project right off the RADAR, replaced with a MUST DO NOW idea.

      Advice to Management

      Never sacrifice the "Good," searching for Perfect. In many areas of the business, Customers now expect an iterative (and therefore sometimes imperfect) product cycle.

      AT&T2014-11-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Not bad, could be better."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Associate Director - Product Management in San Antonio, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Lots of opportunities to grow but not many that offer promotions.

      Cons

      Highly political environment. Lots of old school thinking that slows down progress and innovation. Can be demotivating.

      Advice to Management

      Break up your projects into smaller teams. Focus on task based teams rather than organizational roles.

      AT&T2014-10-29
    • "Pretty good, limited upside"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Executive Director, Product Management in Glendale, CA

      I have been working at AT&T

      Pros

      smart people, interesting tasks, large effect via our large sales force. huge effect on local search. We have great opportunities and are able to effect some change and build some cool software

      Cons

      There are a lot of politics back to corporate AT&T and there is limited upside, as this is not a startup. We're not "cool" and there is a lack of talent we can get because of that (people are good, but we get turned-down).

      Advice to Management

      Spin us out and let us grow, or at least put us on part with print business so that we can move forward without so many constraints.

      AT&T2011-02-10
    Found 8 reviews