AT&T Reviews in Michigan | Glassdoor

AT&T Michigan Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 279 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
149 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Surplussed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Loyalty Specialist in Kalamazoo, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good. Benefits are ok but the cost goes up every year.

    Cons

    My job was surplused because AT&T prefers to pay its call center reps peanuts overseas. I was with the company 11 years and my wife 18 yesrs at the same call center in Kalamazoo when they announced just before Christmas that our center had been closed down. I don’t have faith that the company will be keeping its remaining USA call centers open so my wife and I are not transferring to a different call center but we are accepting termination pay and finding better jobs. We are also ending all of out At&t home products like Directv, internet, cell phones because it disgusts me to see that ugly At&t logo in my home anymore.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2019-02-09
  2. "Very nice company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Okemos, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The working environment was decent and the pay was good for a young adult (I’m 22)

    Cons

    The commission system made it almost impossible for you to actually make commission on the things you sold.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-11-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Money, benefits, people you work with are cool, UNION job

    Cons

    Company doesn't care about their employees. Constant pressure about surpluses, job description changes on a daily basis.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-10-25
  4. "Good Money, but things change all the time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Home Expert in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The compensation is great. Working with customers is fun.

    Cons

    I've had many changes to my job over the course of 6 months. Make sure you understand ATT it's big company and you can feel way more like a number in the grand scheme of things.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-10-25
  5. "Good money for entry, Micro Managing is bad though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Representative in Roseville, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay was great, I made about 1000-1500 before the commission a paycheck, access to the latest phone tech, and the commission.

    Cons

    Micro Managment, Horrible Leadership, Bad Sales techniques.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-10-01
  6. "Very Corporate but great pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hourly pay, commission, discounts

    Cons

    very strict corporate policies for a cell phone store

    AT&T2018-09-14
  7. "Liars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - U-Verse Premises Technician in Grand Rapids, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay was good until they wanted us to do stuff outside the contractual agreement

    Cons

    When they recieved the tax brake and promised more jobs, they immediately cut half of the technicians and sent the call center jobs to India. The jobs they offer are for contractors who only get paid per job and dont receive the benefits that a full employee receives. I would never have joined att as an employee if I know the back room deals and horrific conditions that they would make employees work.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-09-25
  8. "Business sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Working with talented sales representatives and designing networks.

    Cons

    Horrible, fast paced, no work life balance, micro management company. They take and take with a constant bullish attitude. Every single person that works at this company is overworked and under valued. This company is too big. Old antiquated systems, reactive products, and in my opinion the worst customer service in the industry. I worked at the company for over a decade. In this time span I had about 4 managers per year on average. It’s only a big deal when it’s review time and the manager they have reviewing you is a “company guy” who bases your annual review/raise solely off the overly inflated metrics. Which equals no raise. They have this three check box review concept they use to justify your raise and growth within the company. It’s completely flawed. Moving on, my advice to sales reps working their, be cautious on what you sell and make sure you track every order. The company employs 5 layers of audit folks who live to take away your commission. If you are a top performer, specialize on what you’re good at and work for a device/cloud company. This company’s sales commission at plan number is over stretched, and how they will sell you in working there. Take at least 40% off the commission amount, and get ready for paying back deals that you sold that the company cannot install. On a positive note you will learn a ton about telephony and will meet a lot of people along the way.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-07-22
  9. "Has its Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Battle Creek, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discounts for employees. However prices do change.

    Cons

    No growth opportunities. You remain in the same position for the most part.

    AT&T2018-06-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "AT&T an company that knows agile!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    An environment that drives innovation and for driven employees allows education and advancement.

    Cons

    Constant Change and job security is not always the best due to natural attrition related to multiple large mergers over the last 10 years.

    Continue reading
    AT&T2018-05-18

    AT&T Response

    July 9, 2018Talent Operations Manager

    Thanks for your positive comments regarding opportunities for advancement. We encourage everyone to continue looking forward in their careers and aim to provide as many ways as possible to advance their career goals. Please know that your feedback is appreciated and heard.

    Continue reading
Found 279 reviews