AT&T Reviews in Norfolk, VA | Glassdoor

AT&T Norfolk Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
13 Ratings
  1. "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Management in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to demo new devices.

    Cons

    Racism, sexism and retaliation is ignored by HR and leadership. Fraud is encouraged, adding lines to customers accounts without consent is the new culture thanks to the new leadership team from NY but hey the market is number 1 and that's all that matters.

    Advice to Management

    What glitters isn't always gold!!

    AT&T2014-12-16
  2. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Management in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Fun environment as far as reps and management.

    Cons

    Terrible hours no work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better

    AT&T2014-11-10
  3. "My experience with AT&T was amazing, had a great time working their."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Newport News, VA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One pro for me was Being around technology

    Cons

    One con for me was Being micro-managed.

    AT&T2014-10-21
  4. "It has been pleasant, and if my contract was not expiring I would keep working for them."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Logistics Analyst in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I was given Supervisory freedom, and personal growth.

    Cons

    Working as a contractor is stressful, not knowing if you have a job year to year.

    AT&T2014-07-25
  5. "its ok could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Management in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    good hours, money, raises, and phones

    Cons

    upper management is terrible, hard to go to school and work here full time

    Advice to Management

    work -life balance terrible for managers

    AT&T2014-07-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good pay for young individuals first job

    Cons

    Too much politics, no work life balance some people placed in leadership have absolutely no idea how to manage anyone, commission structure constantly decreases

    Advice to Management

    Educate yourself first! if someone is performing don't target them just because you have a personal vendetta that's petty

    AT&T2014-04-10
  7. "Company is going backwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Hands-on experience with the latest in mobile technology. Co-workers were great people. Good base wages.

    Cons

    If you've been here long enough, you've seen your commission payout get cut year after year, while management lies to make it seem like you'll be making more money. You can only make money if you can hit an unattainable percentage over quota. Sales reps are forced to be the face of a company that screws over its customers, even though we don't make any of the rules. You also get the joy of having inexperienced store...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue. Put 2 and 2 together when you see that your employee turnover is so high in such a short period of time.

    AT&T2013-08-27
  8. "It was great for the first year, but now I'm looking to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T

    Pros

    Wireless technology is quickly evolving and you get a chance to help people and businesses use wireless technology to better their lives or their operations.

    Cons

    Senior management hasn't got a clue about how to manage

    AT&T2011-09-16
  9. "Prospect Small Businesses in order to eventually gain them as AT&T customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Portsmouth, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T

    Pros

    AT&T is a large company that offers a vast number of opportunities to do any job that you would like to do

    Cons

    Long hours and hard work in order to get to where you would like to be, but that's with any job

    Advice to Management

    Continue to promote and excel in the current tasks that you take part in

    AT&T2011-05-17
  10. "An okay company for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Chesapeake, VA
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T

    Pros

    Generally good money; More opportunity for higher payout than others; Re

    Cons

    Commission structure changes yearly; Scheduling can be tight and not flexible.

    Advice to Management

    Understand that we are the wheels that make AT&T run. We see the retail experience firsthand and it is very different from your office where on paper everything looks black and white. Gray areas to exist! Please remember, also, that to have a well functioning company you have to treat your employees well. Better benefits, Better pay, and flexibility in scheduling will make an employee more willing to do more for their...

    Show More
    AT&T2009-10-10
Found 20 reviews