AT&T Reviews in Portland, OR | Glassdoor

AT&T Portland Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

2.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
6%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
18 Ratings
  1. "AT&T Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AT&T Retail Sales Consultant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, great commission.

    Cons

    You have to sell direct TV to unlock your commissions, to get paid out a hire percent of the gross profit that you made the more direct TV you sell the more commission you make.

    AT&T2019-08-09
  2. "Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    AT&T Mobility RSC in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T

    Pros

    Decent pay, insurance, discounts, schedule

    Cons

    Lies, scams, cheating, cash above all else, retail hours, every customer even disabled have to be high pressure sold on DirecTV

    AT&T2019-05-20
  3. "ATT is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Executive in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent products, supportive team members

    Cons

    lack of opportunity, to large, constant restructuring

    AT&T2019-03-12
  4. "Not worth the stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay for the position, good discounts off cell service and other services.

    Cons

    The stress, the pressure. It’s non-stop. I worked for more than one location for AT&T, but one thing that did not change was the stress and pressure to perform. Everyone I worked with was self-medicating in one way or another to deal with the pressure. No matter how good your sales or results were, there was a constant feeling of “what have you done for me lately?” For example, I saw a manager go from employee... of the month to fired in less than 3 months because he had a stretch of 2 bad months after many good ones. I was forced to attend “demotivational” calls once a month where the director of sales took an hour to scream at store managers who were underperforming in front of their peers. Not helpful, not how you run a business, terrible for morale. Everyone felt this way but were too afraid to say anything about it. We were treated like children behaving badly. Not what I expected from a Fortune 10 company. Upper management constantly talked out of both sides of their mouth, discussing how employees mattered so much, but then constantly hanging the threat of surpluses over our heads or other ways to make us live in a constant state of fear. Working here really did a number on me psychologically, and I was a model employee, regularly praised for my performance. I can’t imagine the stress poor performing employees were under, considering I was a “good” employee and yet I thought I’d die from a heart attack any day from the stress.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually follow through on your words. Don’t treat your employees like small children. Human beings deserve basic levels of decency.

    AT&T2018-09-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Representative in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a place that will take you into many doors. Excellent training.

    Cons

    Your management can make or break your time there.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair when considering internal promotion.

    AT&T2018-05-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Job review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Global IT and Data Sales in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and support for working mothers.

    Cons

    Lots of confusion with all the Mergers.

    Advice to Management

    I believe the managers did with they can in the situation they were in.

    AT&T2018-05-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Integrated Solutions Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integrated Solutions Consultant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company provided device. Discount on wireless and TV services. Opportunity to learn new technologies. Tuition reimbursement.

    Cons

    Integrated Solutions Consultant is described as providing a White Glove Experience to customers for a great customer experience, but is really only a glorified door-to-door sales position. Vacations can be canceled last minute due to your leadership not planning ahead and letting employees carry balances to the end of the vacation calendar year.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees, not just the bottom line.

    AT&T2017-11-30
  8. "Terrible Work/Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is not bad

    Cons

    A big company but with a small company feel due to the small size of retail stores. Depending on your manager, it can be wonderful or horrible. Managers move around a ton, so even if you get a nice one, they will probably be moved.

    Advice to Management

    Consistency for employees, value the parents instead of making them feel terrible for needing time off to see a school play.

    AT&T2017-02-07
  9. "AT&T"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AT&T has great benefits, 401k, and more. The pay is great for the type of work we do.

    Cons

    Management training is poor and retail hours can make having a normal life hard

    AT&T2016-05-31
  10. Helpful (2)

    "culture of fear due to re-orgs and school-age office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Retail Management in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, (PNW excluded) good people. Internal systems and resources above competition

    Cons

    Poor management benefits. Company is losing some of the best people they have due to internal politics and a culture of focusing on appearances in lieu of actual results.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce attrition by valuing more that one personality type.

    AT&T2016-06-11
Found 32 reviews