AT&T Senior Research/Development Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Reviews

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
10,148 Ratings
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (25)

    "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time

    Pros

    Good training, lots of opportunities for progression, good salary and benefits. They care about their workers.

    Cons

    Business processes are onerous and defy common sense.

    Advice to Management

    Empower your people and take more risks.

    AT&T2019-03-07
  2. "Not the MaBell of old"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AD-Talent Acquisition in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, culture, ability to experience new positions/roles

    Cons

    Hub-centric. Outside of HUB cities, it is more difficult to move around.

    AT&T2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (156)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits- that’s about it

    Cons

    HORRIBLE COMPANY! Constant layoffs! Management has also restricted Telecommuting. Employees used to be able to work from home all the time- now it is limited to 4 times a month. Impossible to find workspace at corporate locations- everything is “drop in” and you need to haul all your stuff into the office daily. Long hours and absolutely NO WORK LIFE BALANCE. Management does not care that you have a life... outside of “the Death Star”. Try to leave or work from home with a sick kid, and you get written up! And I am a high level IT professional.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    IT employees need the flexibility you once gave us. We have ZERO WORK LIFE BALANCE. Over time, the best and brightest WILL LEAVE ATT. My coworkers and I are all just marking time. Waiting for the surplus and package- at which time we will take our talents elsewhere. ATT will be left only with the employees on the right side of the bell curve who are nowhere approaching top Talent if they don’t change the... culture DRASTICALLY TO BE MORE EMPLOYEE DRIVEN!

    Show More
    AT&T2018-08-15
  4. "AT&T engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RAN Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Health care Paid Parental Leave PTOs Tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    Pay scale is not that great

    AT&T2019-11-21
  5. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Operations in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexibility. They are serious about continuing education and provide multiple resources to management. The EG’s are also great resources.

    Cons

    We definitely have to do more with less.

    Advice to Management

    Network and learn as much as you can. A lot of amazing people at this company.

    AT&T2019-11-20
  6. "Great Telecommunications Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Developer in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great for data engineering and data science

    Cons

    Technology Development Program structure needs improvement

    AT&T2019-11-21
  7. "Great Program and Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development 

    I have been working at AT&T full-time

    Pros

    Great culture and growth opportunities

    Cons

    competitive and stressful work, not an environment for everyone

    AT&T2019-11-19
  8. "A career not just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional Applications Developer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work environment with great benefits. Have ability to grow and learn new skills.

    Cons

    It's a large corporation which means sometimes things don't work as quickly as one would like.

    AT&T2019-11-20
  9. "DirecTV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Satellite Technician in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work outdoors meet new people and make customers happy with the enjoyment of watching television

    Cons

    Layoffs, too much down time, not enough work, training

    AT&T2019-11-19
  10. "AT&T - great for education but waves of layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent opportunities for education. Challenging assignments. Good diversity and inclusion.

    Cons

    Waves of layoffs in 2018 and 2019

    AT&T2019-11-20
Found 21743 reviews
</>Embed