AT&T Senior Network Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Senior Network Engineer Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
46 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "At&t has been a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Arlington Heights, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The benefits are extremely hard to leave

    Cons

    There’s no framework or structure path for advancement and promotion

    Advice to Management

    The company needs to recognize employees more often and understand the “Do more with Less” methodology is not a solution and should be discarded, it brings employee moral way down and increases stress levels . The majority of At&t employees are stressed out.

    AT&T2018-06-05
  2. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Bedminster, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Large Organization. Provides lots of opportunities to learn and work on new technologies.

    Cons

    Candidates need to be proactive in learning new technologies

    Advice to Management

    Team work can be improved

    AT&T2019-04-19
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Planning Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay, technology driven, 401k

    Cons

    Corporate culture, Weak career advancement

    Advice to Management

    No one follows mission statement

    AT&T2019-04-13
  4. "AT&T review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and the pay is great.

    Cons

    There is no job security. They constantly lay off 2-3 times per year.

    AT&T2019-03-25
  5. "GREED...Downsizing to feed the top at an alarming speed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Design Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    steady pay and benefits for the interim.

    Cons

    The country is moving towards automation extremely fast and jobs are being cut at an alarming rate. I've witnessed 15 yr employees bust their humps to help the company achieve high marks year after year only to be sent home packing without justification. There's no loyalty at all. Then AT&T leverages those high marks to lean on their asset contracts with other businesses whilst never telling those companies they're...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    remember when the CEO was busted giving money to Michael Cohen for a a favorable position with the Trump administration? yea... well that money that was given cost a lot of ppl under him to lose their jobs. My advice is to take your talents elsewhere. A corporation this big no longer values the employees who got them where they are.

    AT&T2019-03-25
  6. "Surplus targets are not by contribution to the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Support Engineer in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    The teams I have worked with have great people who strive to do their best.

    Cons

    AT&T has been focused on downsizing for the last 4 years. Multiple times a year they issue intention to surplus notifications followed by actual names a month later. It has been very stressful not having job security. AT&T still has some work to do regarding pay equality for women and other minorities.

    Advice to Management

    Be more intentional with your surplus employee targets. I was ranked 3rd on my team of 30 but was surplussed due to my geographical location and as a virtual office worker That didn’t make good business sense. I was then immediately asked to come back as a contractor because leaving caused my team to be unauthorized meet their commitments.

    AT&T2019-03-17
  7. "Good environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Design Engineer in Mystic, CT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities in various of areas.

    Cons

    There are regular rounds of layoffs that cause a lot of uncertainty

    AT&T2019-03-12
  8. "Get your experience and leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist Network Design Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    It's some sort of income

    Cons

    You're just a number. No real training (Youtube videos), workforce reductions numerous times a year due to ill-advised Exec spending decisions, low pay.

    Advice to Management

    Cuts start from the top. Cutting the workforce to make up for your ill-advised spending is the not the way to do things. Resign and let competent people run the show.

    AT&T2019-03-03
  9. "Good company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Professional environment without much micro-management. Ability to work from home and from drop-in office locations.

    Cons

    Salaries could be better. Benefits are great, cheap but with high deductible. But they do have a matching HSA which helps out a lot.

    AT&T2019-02-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "All good things must come to an end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Decent compensation package, nice benefits, Annual raises usually around 3% to 4%. Yearly bonus usually between 7% and 13% (dependent on company performance metrics) Good severance package (50% of your salary as long as you've been an AT&T employee for 13 years, with gradual lesser increments for less time served)

    Cons

    Don't believe the fake news: You can take all the AT&T University classes you like, but there is no migration path for legacy network personnel to fill all the new jobs in next-generation technologies. (Cloud, Software Defined Networks, etc). Instead, the company is hiring fresh-faced affordable college graduates, and laying off thousands of dedicated technical folks in their mid-50's. " AT&T is gambling...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep mixing the Kool-Aid. With luck, investors and gullible employees will continue drinking it!

    AT&T2019-02-05
Found 64 reviews