AT&T Senior Technical Director Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Senior Technical Director Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
17 Ratings
  1. "Senior Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in Howell, MI

    I worked at AT&T for more than 8 years

    Pros

    One of the premier telecommunications companies in he world, with some of the greater people.

    Cons

    Union contract negotiations are too frequent.

    AT&T2016-03-20

    AT&T Response

    June 30, 2016Talent Acquisition Manager

    We appreciate your feedback and will make sure it gets heard. We proud of our employees and like to hear that our employees appreciate each other. Thank you for your input on what we can improve upon.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "A good company - extremely tough to move up past a certain point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Good training programs. Generally friendly people. Lots of good discounts. Depending on your department, lots of telework opportunities.

    Cons

    Very Dallas-centric. Extremely difficult to move to the GM/Director level even if you're a High Potential employee, particularly if you're anywhere other than Dallas.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that your HiPo employees can actually advance. Having to move around laterally for a decade in an effort to move up leads to serious burn-out. And you're a global telecom with every opportunity to leverage high-end video conferencing and other communications media. Why do you still have to physically run into people in the hall of the Dallas headquarters to advance?

    AT&T2017-06-15

    AT&T Response

    July 24, 2017Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We truly care for our employees and appreciate your input on what we can improve upon – your feedback is very important to us and our efforts to make AT&T a better place to work.

  3. "Technical Skills Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Unlimited education degree/training/certification opportunities at little or no cost to managers. Grow your skills in order to stay relevant. If you are in a field you do not like, you can figure out a plan/path with numerous available resources and start working your plan without leaving the Company.

    Cons

    Limited time - 40-60 hr workweeks (salaried) can make it challenging to find time for the training opportunities that are available. If you can make it work, you should absolutely take advantage of it.

    Advice to Management

    In my experience (as a manager), communication is clear.

    AT&T2017-04-29
  4. "Sr Tech Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Alpharetta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Always changing in different directions

    Cons

    Leadership and organization changes...

    AT&T2016-01-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sr Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T

    Pros

    Yearly bonus and salary increase.

    Cons

    Very big company. Need to spend a lot of time to understand how to get things done.

    Advice to Management

    Reduce silos within the company.

    AT&T2016-02-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "AT&T great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work and easier to move up the chain with honest hard work.

    Cons

    sometimes difficult in making others change the process etc

    Advice to Management

    more transparency to employees and communication

    AT&T2016-01-15
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Indecisive leadership, slow moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Work/life balance and WFH each week * Good (not great) perks and discounts on AT&T services and accessories * Great coworkers. Fun people in the San Francisco and Palo Alto tech offices

    Cons

    * Work is as slow as molasses. Things that would normally take a week may take years * Most leadership has been there fore 20-30 years without any intent to modernize procedures * Very political. This is NOT a meritocracy. * Donation matching is very sneaky. AT&T takes donations from your check and donates it for you. They take the tax benefit. * Benefits are below par and expensive * Severely understaffed. Staffing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nestled in a major tech epicenter, you have a great opportunity to hire the very best talent in the bay area. Instead, you are building a reputation of treating skilled people like your 611 service does. The debacle with the SF office was a terrible demonstration of politics, incompetence, and inability to lead. People couldn't leave fast enough. 2 major re-orgs and 2 small re-orgs (in 2 years) later, you're worse off...

    Show More
    AT&T2016-01-19
  8. "Sr. Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in San Ramon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for lateral movement and training. There is a real push on now at AT&T for a skills transformation of its workforce from a telecommunications company to a cloud-based, network virtualized software company. Good benefits and salaries. If you are willing to relocate there are many opportunities in Texas, Georgia and New Jersey.

    Cons

    Upward mobility to Director or above, requires the ability and willingness to relocate and this could be a problem for some. Constant push to promote wonderful products that are often not available in employee locations. Many opportunities for those who have engineering (network or software) backgrounds, the company is moving away from project management, Six Sigma, Lean and other traditional disciplines, preferring to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow for more opportunities in California, outside of the Foundry in Palo Alto. Build out your best products (Gigapower, Digitial Life, U-Verse TV) in areas where your employees actually live, so that they can become the promoters of the business as you desire.

    AT&T2016-01-21
  9. "Senior Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in Ruther Glen, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay, good benefits, good people

    Cons

    Constant worry about downsizing workforce

    AT&T2015-10-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sr Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good pay. Access to new technology.

    Cons

    Very little upward mobility. Currently under pressure to reduce workforce due to multiple recent acquisitions and mergers.

    Advice to Management

    Improve opportunities for career progressions and rotations for personnel into other roles.

    AT&T2015-08-20
Found 28 reviews