AT&T Senior Technical Director Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Senior Technical Director Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Smart competent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AT&T for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very professional and employees are very collaborative- works well in large project organization. Turn key solutions and massive implementations

    Cons

    very large sometimes bureaucratic- takes 10 processes to get anything done. Project management is a challenge due to scale and size.

    Advice to Management

    learn your people

    AT&T2015-07-30
  2. "Lots of Bad with the Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in Hoffman Estates, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits, camaraderie, and open to ideas.

    Cons

    Lots of politics, jockeying for position, and lip service. If you're not located in Dallas or Atlanta, you hit the glass ceiling pretty quickly.

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest, and allow your team to do the same.

    AT&T2015-07-22
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    All of the people are smart, educated and great people to work with. The bureaucracy can be burdensome some times, but that is true with every large company , and most others.

    Cons

    Finance guys are winning the day by outsourcing most IT jobs. Not sure they are creating a better product though. Just a lot of finger-pointing and washing of hands when things go wrong with the contractors.

    Advice to Management

    force your managers to cut costs, by running leaner teams to do the same work, rather than sending jobs out of the country.

    AT&T2015-02-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Okay place. Slow pace."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in Bothell, WA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T

    Pros

    Product suite is huge and customer base is enormous.

    Cons

    Before AT&T Wireless and Cingular were purchased by AT&T they were fast and agile. Things slow way down with the mother ship taking over.

    Advice to Management

    Be more agile.

    AT&T2015-01-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not in my list"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T

    Pros

    Big Company and big name

    Cons

    Sily politics in Middle management , Empire building attitude to all the managers

    Advice to Management

    Improve professionalism to the Offshore Managers specially n manged hosting service

    AT&T2015-02-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Lifetime of experiences, never boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great attitude towards employees - rewarded for extra effort on the job Constant training in HR issues, technology innovations,

    Cons

    Need to be willing to move within US to move up the chain International assignments can help too

    Advice to Management

    Continue to look within the company before outside hiring is done

    AT&T2014-08-24
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Stable, but frustrating and uninspiring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    AT&T is a stable employer - once you are hired on full-time, it is very difficult to be dismissed. This is also a con. They pay pretty well for the most part, although it can be inconsistent.

    Cons

    AT&T is very frugal, especially for a Fortune 500 (#11 as of this writing) company. Small cost-saving things (taking away coffee, plates, forks, spoons, etc) and crowded/poorly-serviced facilities really hurt employee morale and make it a frustrating place to work. It is also an uninspiring company, to me - they are very risk-averse, so everything has to go through legal, brand, and several executive reviews before...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take some risks, show that you value your employees.

    AT&T2014-06-03
  8. "Senior Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and no micromanaging. I feel I am valued and respected by management

    Cons

    Location to where I live, but other than that, overall a great place to work

    Advice to Management

    could use more communications around strategy and where we are going as a large company. Communicate more about the opportunities in the pipeline. I seem to get more information on the outside about opportunities we are looking into

    AT&T2014-05-14
  9. "Headed in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    AT&T is on the path of valuing people. It is a secure place to work. They are trying to figure out where they "fit" in new web based technology stack and it's exciting to watch from the inside.

    Cons

    The culture is carpet and tile. Directors and above are on carpet and everyone else is tile. Upward mobility is more who you know than what you can get done.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay attention to not just "WHAT" was accomplished but "HOW" it was accomplished as well.

    AT&T2014-04-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great pay, bad benefits, terrible bureaucracy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Large salary bands, steady work. Can be innovative if in the right group. Future looks good thanks to the wireless leg of the business.

    Cons

    For a self-professed tech company they are overly focused on HQ (Texas), benefits have gotten progressively worse over time - unless you live in Texas, upper management is often two-faced with employees, and you're forced to spend several weeks on average each year supplementing a non-IT, union job. There is also a glut of lifetime employees that are absolutely entrenched. Be prepared for a process deluge if you work...

    Show More
    AT&T2014-04-07
Found 28 reviews