AT&T Senior Technical Director Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Senior Technical Director Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
17 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, limited stress, low turn over

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for advancement (due to low turn over)

    AT&T2014-03-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, exciting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Every day brings new challenges. Fast paced environment. Extremely talented engineers. Very good benefits. Consistent annual bonus. Seemingly unlimited DEV & QA hardware resources - no request has been denied.

    Cons

    Southeast location makes commute difficult. 40 hours of training required annually, much of it is non-technical, repetitive and simplistic. Internal corporate websites are low quality, hard to use, and error prone.

    AT&T2014-03-06
  3. "An organization I am proud to work for and to be associated with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent corporation with solid ethics, superb work culture, benefits and colleagues. The corporation is competing extremely well with the competitors.

    Cons

    No cons which are of significance. The wireless industry is saturated from a perspective of new customer adds and the corporation needs to focus on offers to attract new customers.

    Advice to Management

    Nice vision and execution, please continue to keep the momentum.

    AT&T2014-02-16
  4. "I can't say enough about AT&T WiFi. It's a great place to work and I love the people I work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Good Pay, 401K matching, little micro-managing, no competition among peers as bonuses are team based

    Cons

    Location of office is south of downtown, commute can be long for those that live North. Pay is good, but not at the top of the spectrum.

    Advice to Management

    Continue allowing AT&T WiFi to prosper in what it does best. We realize we are now being folding more into Corporate AT&T and are fine with it, but don't let the corporate bureaucracy create barriers to prevent growth.

    AT&T2013-02-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Politically charged though employees are GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Durham, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    work life balance is fair, expected to put in far greater than 45 per week. Salary starts out well, great health, 401k and pension for employees. awesome access to technology, great employees to work with, some cool perks occasionally, opening up quite a bit to remote workers

    Cons

    hard to stay with the company for a long time, very political, hard to move up, ideas are often squashed or taken by ladder climbers as their own. not enough employees to cover the business line

    Advice to Management

    Really spend time with employees, learn from them. Sometimes chasing revenue is wasted when there is not a business plan ;-)

    AT&T2013-01-25
  6. "Senior Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Enjoy the work and people that are a part of AT&T

    Cons

    larger polices can be silly

    Advice to Management

    continue to empower your employees

    AT&T2012-06-30
  7. "Senior Technical Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Director in Newark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment, working on cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Stunted growth. Very low prospect of career growth. Career growth is pretty much non-existent. Lack of leadership training opportunities for middle level managers. Overworked, expected to be working even over weekend.

    Advice to Management

    Career growth opportunities is a great way to motivate managers. We do not see that happening. We see lot of moment in the upper management. But at the middle level, where most of the grunt work is done, the career path is almost non-existent

    AT&T2012-06-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Could be a nice place to work...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Director in Hoffman Estates, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AT&T

    Pros

    The benefits and pension, if it's still available.

    Cons

    Long hours...locked into positions regardless of performance. AT&T is so big that internal complexities get in the way of delivering what could be stellar customer service at a very low cost to the company.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure people are not pushed past their breaking point and truly share the rewards of the company with them when they go above and beyond.

    AT&T2008-10-07
Found 28 reviews