AT&T Software Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Software Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 196 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
84 Ratings
  1. "Working on cutting edge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. Cutting edge technology

    Cons

    slow growth prospects and takes time to move up the ladder

    AT&T2019-09-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Back-end software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Redmond, WA

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Eventually got to telecommute most of the time. Infrastructure groups generally struggling but always willing to help if I asked.

    Cons

    Outsourced (really, laid off) along with the rest of IT to IBM GBS.

    AT&T2019-09-04
  3. "Good place to work, lots of growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good senior members, fast paced.

    Cons

    Long hours, if you work at the innovation lab.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing good work.

    AT&T2019-09-06
  4. "Nice pay for college grads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay right out of college

    Cons

    Needs to have more consistant meaningful work for people

    AT&T2019-09-20
  5. "Minimum growth but great learning curve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Bedminster, NJ

    I have been working at AT&T for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Have a great learning curve as the company uses the latest tech stack

    Cons

    Poor growth personally. Company keeps purchasing other companies which will have more pressure on current employees.

    Advice to Management

    Need to provide increments on a regular basis.

    AT&T2019-09-18
  6. "Wonderful company with motivated people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - TDP Software Engineer in Middletown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone seems to love their job. A lot of what AT&T is working on right now is pretty cutting edge, and they stay very competitive in their markets. It's exciting that they are expanding to be a multimedia company with the acquisition of Warner Media.

    Cons

    The TDP program seems like it might hard to get out of it.

    AT&T2019-09-02
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for people who are looking to grow in their technical fields

    Cons

    Nothing coming to my mind as of now

    AT&T2019-08-28
  8. "TDP Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Middletown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T for less than a year

    Pros

    - Work-life balance was great: flexible start and ending times even for an intern. - Got 3 Paid Days off for the summer. - This year's TDP interns (summer 2019) got a solid pay bump to $30/hour and got paid for 40 hrs/week. - The AD's got TDP and FlexForce a new open workspace which is very spacious and looks really nice. And there's a game room. - The AD's (bosses) of TDP are very nice and accommodating of... everyone and their hard work is really making TDP at Middletown a super attractive place to work. - The work itself is very relaxed, there's no rush/stress but it's pretty much what you make of it; as an intern you will most likely be given a piece of the application your team is working on and how you design and develop that piece and at what pace is up to you so that's a very appreciated freedom to have from me personally.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no complaints, I didn't really have much interaction/effect from the higher executives of the company but from what I did, it seems they are trying hard to improve the company and make it an attractive company to work at on par with the tech industry. The Warner Media merger is exciting because HBO is AT&T's version of the Netflix and that can be a very exciting platform to work on and innovate better... than Netflix but from our end at TDP, Middletown there was not much contact with it and after asking around a bit, didn't get a solid answer on how to approach to work there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ADs: Keep doing what you're doing. Love the way you receive employee feedback, keep that up. Executives: Please take feedback seriously and make business decisions with as much design, thoughtfulness, and discussion with the rest of the company possible, fill in some of your higher positions with fresh talent so you can see fresh results. If you want AT&T to become an attractive spot for young talent, take... young talent that is AT your company and their feedback seriously. Make the company more colorful, make the workspaces more colorful, more attractive to come to work in everyday, you have so much money, invest it in your employees first because they're the ones who develop products for your consumers. and for the love of GOD, hire DESIGNERS. DESIGN DESIGN DESIGN is soooooooo important in order to be noticed. Have jobs and people literally dedicated solely for design of applications/products/business. There's so much young blooming talent in design that can make everything you do so much more attractive just by making it look more beautiful. LET THEM and PAY THEM BIG!

    Show More
    AT&T2019-08-27
  9. "At&t used to be an awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers. I consistently worked with amazing co-workers. Good benefits

    Cons

    From 2018, there have been constant layoffs. In 2019, a whole lot of employees were given offer letters that they were moving them to IBM and Tech Mahindra. IBM and Tech M in turn will do a knowledge transfer from these employees and lay then off with little or no severance. It is the cheapest mangement strategy of all times.

    Advice to Management

    To the C suite executives - please be human for heavens sake. Moving fulltime employees to crappy companies only to be laid off without severance is the centuries worst offense. You will be accounted for in the house of the lord.

    AT&T2019-09-08
  10. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, Salary, flexible work arrangements

    Cons

    Change and more change

    AT&T2019-09-06
Found 196 reviews