AT&T Staff Reviews | Glassdoor

AT&T Staff Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
AT&T CEO Randall L. Stephenson
Randall L. Stephenson
51 Ratings
  1. "Super Benefits, Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Member of Technical Staff in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    at&t does a good job of keeping up with current technologies. They do not break ground but are quick to follow. This gives the technology time to mature and reduces churn. They pay well, and benefits are outstanding. Work hours are generally pretty flexible.

    Cons

    good ideas are hard to implement.

    Advice to Management

    Connecting people is ultimately improving the human experience by breaking down barriers, teaching people about each other and the world. Many younger people need a mission besides making money

    AT&T2019-02-12
  2. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Chief of Staff in Reno, NV
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good benefits, hard to get fired.

      Cons

      Upper management is clueless about what their employees are actually doing.

      AT&T2019-07-08
    • Helpful (1)

      "I Developed PTSD From Working There!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Staff Accountant in Atlanta, GA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I honestly can't think of any.

      Cons

      They will work you for every penny you make there.

      Advice to Management

      View your employees as assets and stop treating them as useless liabilities.

      AT&T2019-06-25
    • "What good for many years, but its changing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Principal Member of Technical Staff in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The benefits were very good and until recently there was security.

      Cons

      Geo-rationalization. As many companies are expanding through distributed teams., AT&T is going the opposite direction. They want all members to be in the same office locations. This makes sense for a company that's starting up, but AT&T has people all over the place because of the consolidation of telecommunication companies. They have decide to jettison long time performing employees due to their physical...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Typically you need to hired in as management. It can be difficult to be promoted into management.

      AT&T2019-04-29
    • "Technical positions"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      You get to work with very talented people and get exposed to wide variety of projects and technologies

      Cons

      Teams are somewhat disjoionted outside your VP organization, need to reach out and collaborate.

      AT&T2019-04-01
    • "Evolving"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Work from home flexibility. Instead of wasting time in commuting, it was more efficient and effective to work from home and got more work done as a result. Cloud based employee profile allowed for BYOD (bring your own device) - Never lost anything or had to deal with laptop lease roll overs. Again, incredibly efficient way to handle something very basic.

      Cons

      Too inundated with politics. Unprofessional employees who yell at people (contractors) on phone calls or have babies screaming in the background (as they were abusing the WFH policy). Too much abuse by fellow employees on WFH policy...etc. Too little oversight on COBC by employees.

      Advice to Management

      Better employee selection. What I observed on conference calls for one is just shocking as professionalism didn't seem to exist.

      AT&T2019-03-21
    • "22 Year Employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Principal Member of Technical Staff in Tampa, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Salary and benefits. Great people on the staff level.

      Cons

      Complete lack of Organizational continuity. Area Managers and Directors only look out for their own interest. Lack of opportunities to advance. Bureaucracy.

      Advice to Management

      Take what staff members have to say and stop worrying about your own personal goals. Get away from who you know and only taking care of yourselves.

      AT&T2019-03-18
    • "Creative in Corporate"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff Designer in Dallas, TX
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - AT&T is a big company with many opportunities - You can really create your own path - You can network and meet a lot of people. - If there is something you need and it's not in your immediate department, someone is bound to know someone

      Cons

      - It's a big company and you can start to feel lost and feel like just a number, which is why it's important to build a network and find your own path.

      Advice to Management

      - Be transparent and supportive - Ask your employee what goals he or she may have and once you know them, help them get there.

      AT&T2019-01-23
    • "Upper management needs overhaul with fresh idea implementers. Good benefits, great co-workers."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Member of Technical Staff in Columbus, OH
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Direct Managers have been great to work for as they are very personable and appreciate the work that you do. Benefits and perks have been nice. I love what I do and enjoy challenges and enhancing my skillsets.

      Cons

      As the years have gone by from my initial start date to the present, the AVP level and up management have become less involved with work, employee success, and overall concern for what workers should be doing to succeed. Personal pay increases have not been in-line with the market, but the top management seems to enjoy bonuses in the millions of dollars. I would hate for the last 5 years define my overall review of...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      I get it that upper management (AVP +) have numbers to fulfill, but sometimes they should take a step back and realize how to make the workplace a better environment. Take a poll with your workers as to what works and what doesn't when it comes to collaboration. You're not Google, you're not Apple and you don't have a community lifestyle like these companies. The Company was built on roots on access everywhere and...

      Show More
      AT&T2019-01-27
    • "Pretty god coments and god company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Columbus, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at AT&T full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Good Benefits and good pay

      Cons

      If you gonna do somethink do it Right .

      Advice to Management

      Im ready to do Everythnik

      AT&T2018-09-05
    Found 89 reviews