KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AUSL

Is this your company?

AUSL

Add a Review

AUSL Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 54 of over 56 reviews

2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They also provide wonderful professional development and opportunities for leadership(in 4 reviews)

  • "If you get lucky you can experience a great mentor teacher, who is experienced and teaches well(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The residency only teaches conformity and how to teach to tests(in 5 reviews)

  • "Teachers are expected to show their worth with test scores(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      English Teacher

      Sep 15, 2018 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing admin — employeees play a huge role in making decisions here

      Cons

      Large classrooms up to 32 students

      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not Fun

      Jul 15, 2021 - Associate Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping children and teachers to be their bet selves.

      Cons

      Very hostile work environment at the senior management level.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Run Away

      Feb 4, 2020 - Graduate Student in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to complete a Master's degree in one year.

      Cons

      Extremely Toxic atmosphere that permeates all of their schools, which comes from the top down. It is a charter school network within the public school system. Neolibralism at its finest. They cut out parental involvement, if you appear to ask too many questions or go against the grain, you will be fired. The teachers are cutthroat against each other, and test scores are the most important thing- not the well-being of the students. I was actually told in a PD that my value as a human being and a teacher was dependent on my student's test scores. It is extremely toxic, and I do not see any benefits to the communities they profess to serve. Teachers are seen as numbers and replaceable- which is why they have third year teachers mentoring graduate students, and no one stays more than 5 years. I think had I had a better experience as a student teacher I would have stayed, however I will not be a public school teacher at this point in time because I value my mental and physical health too much.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      No work life balance

      Aug 25, 2020 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not sure of them yet, if any.

      Cons

      Crazy workload, treating children like robots, coming in and taking over schools in Black communities and kicking Black teachers out

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Toxic work environment

      Apr 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Extremely hardworking teachers, really invested in professional development

      Cons

      The senior leadership staff is among the worst I've ever encountered. They are highly unqualified, and rest on their titles to ensure that their demands, based on the whim of the week, are met. The environment is toxic in that you MUST do whatever is asked of you, not for the betterment of staff, students, or families, many of whom are the minorities the organization comically parades to gain headlines and recognition for doctored data. If you offer feedback that is deemed misaligned by the powers that be, you are ostracized and targeted. The fact that this organization is still running is unbelievable.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great model, needs better implementation

      May 13, 2019 - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Helping many schools recognize their potential and ability to remain open. Increasing education standards for neighborhood schools

      Cons

      The company is too bureaucratic and doesn't live up to it's mission every day. Often times, the concern for the students is lost in the greed and power struggles between higher AUSL administration.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Math and Reading focused

      May 14, 2016 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People care about making a difference for their students, it's nice to work with like-minded peers. AUSL brings in sports and extra curricular activities for students. If you teach math/reading you will get a lot of coaching and have the tools necessary to do a lot of data driven instruction.

      Cons

      Be prepared for most of the focus to be on improving math and reading scores. If you care about teaching science, it's important to find a school that best fits your views and values. They offer coaches for new teachers, but if you are not math/reading you will loose your coach if they have a shortage. There are a lot of high expectations that can really be a time suck, like bulletin boards and classroom environment. It is very easy to loose your home and work life balance as you strive to be the best teacher you can be. Also, depending on the school, you may feel like you're putting on a "dog and pony show" for visitors that does not really reflect what is happening at the school.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      AUSL Response

      Director of Human Resources

      Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about AUSL. I would welcome an opportunity to talk a bit further about your experience. Please e-mail us at hr@auslchicago.org.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Teach from the Heart!

      Aug 20, 2018 - First Year Teacher in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Residency Program is amazing. I started the program with the knowledge that it would be a very rigorous program; I believe that I did well and am well prepared to begin my first year of teaching not only because of the amazing training and support that I received during my Residency Year, but also because I was not only dedicated to the process, but I also am one who can take critique as a means for growing not only as an Educator, but also as a professional. I believe the Residency program is well developed, I also believe that those on staff from my recruiter to my Mentor Coach... has been instrumental in my success. The work that we do is important, however, it's not for everyone, because it does take passion and dedication to push through on hard days, there will be hard days, but it's well worth it.

      Cons

      I believe some people come into the program and feel a since of entitlement that manifest in their attitude towards the work and those whom they work with, and then blame the Program for their short comings. I learned that the program can prepare us to be great teachers, but we must also come into the program ready to grow and take accountability.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Teacher

      Feb 11, 2016 - Resident Teacher in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The kids. There are great kids in all Chicago neighborhoods, though, and this has nothing to do with AUSL.

      Cons

      Mentor teachers recommend that residents and new teachers go on antianxiety medication to handle what happens in these schools. You are coached (yelled at) in front of kids, out loud. The residency only teaches conformity and how to teach to tests. Many who have come before you have had complete nervous breakdowns, and mentors and administrators call them by name regularly (i.e. "don't be another [name last name]") Years later, I regularly have nightmares about my time there. Phenomenal teachers are regularly fired because they do things like try to call attention to the inappropriate behavior of administrators. At a high school in the network, an assistant principal took a group of high school kids to Florida on vacation (not a school trip, a vacation) and put the photos of them together on facebook. He is still employed, even though there was evidence (my former coworker showed me them, clear as day). Nepotism is the word in this whole network. If you are a person of morality, or even one of professionalism, there are better pathways to teaching. Also, so you are aware, the other reviews about salary are about Chicago Public Schools' salary - not AUSL. The residency pays $32k.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Something's rotten...

      Jul 30, 2015 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The mission is a good one Lots of passionate people Pay is not bad since you are working in a charter school environment but getting a public school salary The founders and board seem like good people with their hearts in the right place

      Cons

      Lots of people taking advantage of the organization structure and the residency program to benefit themselves but not the students Residency program is abused- instead of training to teach most residents just do whatever tasks their "mentor" teacher doesn't want to do Militant student behavior management style Questioning is discouraged "Mentor" teachers vary in quality Shadiness Deliberately deceiving The AUSL way of doing things has not resulted in significant school improvement but instead of rethinking the model they have become even more strict adherents High teacher and admin turnover Focus on numbers to "prove" change in schools and propensity to twist those numbers to their advantage/obfuscate negative facts

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 54 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with AUSL Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at AUSL? Share Your Experiences

    AUSL logo
    or