AUSL Reviews | Glassdoor

AUSL Reviews

Updated May 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
33%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
AUSL   (no image)
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "If you get lucky you can experience a great mentor teacher, who is experienced and teaches well(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The residency only teaches conformity and how to teach to tests(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at AUSL

    Pros

    Amazing admin — employeees play a huge role in making decisions here

    Cons

    Large classrooms up to 32 students

    AUSL2018-09-16
  2. "Great model, needs better implementation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AUSL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helping many schools recognize their potential and ability to remain open. Increasing education standards for neighborhood schools

    Cons

    The company is too bureaucratic and doesn't live up to it's mission every day. Often times, the concern for the students is lost in the greed and power struggles between higher AUSL administration.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the focus on the kids not how political connections can benefit your career.

    AUSL2019-05-13
  3. "Teach from the Heart!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Year Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AUSL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The Residency Program is amazing. I started the program with the knowledge that it would be a very rigorous program; I believe that I did well and am well prepared to begin my first year of teaching not only because of the amazing training and support that I received during my Residency Year, but also because I was not only dedicated to the process, but I also am one who can take critique as a means for growing not only as an Educator, but also as a professional. I believe the Residency program is well developed, I also believe that those on staff from my recruiter to my Mentor Coach... has been instrumental in my success. The work that we do is important, however, it's not for everyone, because it does take passion and dedication to push through on hard days, there will be hard days, but it's well worth it.

    Show More

    Cons

    I believe some people come into the program and feel a since of entitlement that manifest in their attitude towards the work and those whom they work with, and then blame the Program for their short comings. I learned that the program can prepare us to be great teachers, but we must also come into the program ready to grow and take accountability.

    Advice to Management

    Housing support would be awesome

    AUSL2018-08-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AUSL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nothing that I can think of...

    Cons

    Unprofessional, rude, not enough educated management and stuff.

    AUSL2018-09-18
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Worst Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AUSL full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get lucky you can experience a great mentor teacher, who is experienced and teaches well. Many of their mentor teachers are not trained on how to be a mentor teacher and do not practice great teaching. Through the residency program you also are studying and getting your masters at the same time. The professors you have are wonderful and are very understanding of how busy you are with AUSL and tend to be accommodating.

    Show More

    Cons

    Unethical--- the company has no morals or ethical values. They do not care about their residents at all. Residents are at the bottom on the totem pole and are treated as such. They do not care for the children either. They think the only way to teach children is to scare the living day lights out of them and treat them like they are in military school. This company is SKETCHY!!!! They lie to residents all the time, sweep things under the rug and are never truthful. You get paid 20K for a year and are working 60+ hours a week. You are not treated with respect. Feels like Big Brother is watching every move that you make.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone with respect! The children, residents, mentor teachers, university professors, and employees. Pay your residents more, you expect them to work all the time for you and to get paid nothing, if you see this as a working relationship that will last more than a year or more than the 5 year contract than treat residents how you would want to be treated.

    AUSL2018-09-07
  6. Helpful (13)

    "White Supremacy at its Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resident Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at AUSL full-time

    Pros

    Very effective marketing and recruiting strategies.

    Cons

    Don't do the Resident Program. DON'T DO THE RESIDENT PROGRAM. I signed so many contracts I feel like I have signed a deal with the devil. And the stipend they call a scholarship is really a loan you have to pay back. Also, your cohort will be cliquey and backstabbing, your professors inept and racially biased, and you will constantly have to watch your back and what you say or else you'll have "Circle Time" that could get you kicked out. Yet they encourage residents to hang out and collaborate. It's a very hostile environment and the CPS school year hasn't even started yet. I'm considering leaving even. Now I know why there were only nine residents at this years question and answer panel.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop acting like you're making a difference. I want to see diversity represented in upper management, those inspirational "speeches" given by old white men running things just aren't doing it for me.

    AUSL2018-08-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Lots of promise but falls short"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AUSL full-time

    Pros

    They have so many resources and hard working people to learn from. The residency component helps the entire network have a strong common culture that you don't see elsewhere. Teachers work incredibly hard here There are additional enrichments provided - art, sports, etc. for our students

    Cons

    Lots of turnaround in schools and in central office They don't have a real people strategy and senior leadership seems to operate as if people are replaceable They seem to be more comfortable with quick fixes versus long term plans for change so there are often initiatives that come and go and systems for common things are lacking. If you don't get along or agree with everything, there is not a reputable forum for feedback for real change Not a truly professional setting - there are a lot of feelings that people operate and make decisions from

    Show More
    AUSL2018-06-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mission Driven Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AUSL full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Doing work that is mission driven, and that gives one a sense of adding to the lives of students. Especially in terms of delivering excellent education.

    Cons

    Being able to get all this good work accomplished, there is always more we can do to move the mission forward.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be positive, motivate, and support your teams.

    AUSL2018-04-21
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AUSL full-time

    Pros

    The people (not the ED or the MD's) are great to work with. They share a common mission to see the best for Chicago's students. Some of the most talented people in the education landscape have worked at or continue to work at AUSL. They are highly sought after by other companies. There is a caveat that some staff remain in their roles for "interesting" reasons despite the fact they should've been walked out a long time ago.

    Show More

    Cons

    The Executive Director and the Managing Directors are the five cons of working for this organization. Shouldn't this so-called Management team be worried that more than half of the staff have left in the last few years? There's at least 5-6 departures in the last few months. It's pretty apparent that minority employees are treated differently unless the minority employee is needed to showcase the "diversity" of the organization. I'm surprised there has been no investigation for AUSL's unethical actions and the potentially misleading data about its "results." It's common in the Chicago education space to hear about how bad things are at AUSL. The Managing Directors have each uttered negative comments about one another to the Executive Director and about one another to each other and staff. So, if that's the leadership space, one has to wonder how employees can continue to work there? There is no trust or advancement within the organization. Residents should also be weary of what they are signing up for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please retire. Save the organization while there is time.

    AUSL2018-05-01
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Utterly Witless Senior Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AUSL full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working at AUSL provides you access to a wide variety of opportunities and ways to serve 17,000 CPS students. The work is life changing and you get to do it with some of the most gifted and hardworking people you will ever meet. The vast majority of frontline employees respect the organization’s core mission and live it out every day, on and off the clock. They do it because they genuinely care about students on the south and west side of the city and despite the organization’s mismanagement and lack of genuine concern for its employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    AUSL Senior Management’s #1 contribution to AUSL is engineering a hostile work environment. These 5-10 individuals manage via a combination of 3 approaches: 1-Failure/Incompetence; 2-Intimidation; or 3-Favoritism The infighting between those in Senior Management is embarrassing to behold, but the most unfortunate aspect of their bumbling ineptitude is that it results in organizational decisions that have more to do with the personal egos (and stock portfolios and mortgages) of about 5-10 people than what’s good for students/teachers/schools and AUSL staff. It’s no surprise that overall morale across AUSL departments is documentable-y bad and apart from a complete overhaul of Senior Management, improvements will be slow, limited, or non-existent. When narrow thinkers are this empowered and monied, organizations fail. This isn’t new or rocket science. When that happens here, though, no one should have any illusions about where the collapse originated. As it stands, AUSL leaders conduct themselves like they’re characters from a mashup of The Office and The Sopranos. Not a winning strategy (or professional one) by any standard measure. It’s an absolute wonder anyone privy to the utter witlessness of Senior Managers with any regularity can stomach the sight and sound. And the saddest part: In the event AUSL’s STUNNINGLY AWFUL retention issues continue, Senior Management will be too busy to notice because they’ll be standing around pointing fingers at each other while simultaneously exploring alternative personal revenue streams.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Can you turn yourselves around?

    AUSL2018-04-15
Found 52 reviews
</>Embed