Cover image for AUSL
Logo

AUSL

Is this your company?

AUSL

Add a Review

AUSL Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 63 of over 64 reviews
2.8
35% Recommend to a Friend
56% Approve of CEO

Found 58 of over 64 reviews

2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
    There are no pros to display at this time.
Cons
  • "Hostile work environment(in 4 reviews)
  • "Continued professional development of management, school leaders and staff and focus on improving climate and culture will build on the existing great aspects of AUSL.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Leading and learning

    Oct 5, 2022 - Educator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team! Great work! Great impact!

    Cons

    Health insurance premium is costly

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good intentions, poor implementation

    Oct 14, 2022 - Development Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When you first arrive, you think you are contributing to good work

    Cons

    Highly toxic senior management practices, manipulation of staff by ED and MDs, poor implementation of education practices across the board

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the AUSL team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great kids!

    Jul 15, 2022 - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great kids and hardworking staff.

    Cons

    Self care is needed to have a more balanced work and home life.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Glad that’s over

    Oct 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Connected me with great and like-minded teachers (rare experience) who either weren’t aware of what AUSL was before being hired like myself, didn’t go through residency, or were always critical.

    Cons

    Don’t trust any educator who uses Teach Like a Champion as their bible. I don’t value obedience over education and kindness.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Not Fun

    Jul 15, 2021 - Associate Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping children and teachers to be their bet selves.

    Cons

    Very hostile work environment at the senior management level.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic work environment

    Apr 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extremely hardworking teachers, really invested in professional development

    Cons

    The senior leadership staff is among the worst I've ever encountered. They are highly unqualified, and rest on their titles to ensure that their demands, based on the whim of the week, are met. The environment is toxic in that you MUST do whatever is asked of you, not for the betterment of staff, students, or families, many of whom are the minorities the organization comically parades to gain headlines and recognition for doctored data. If you offer feedback that is deemed misaligned by the powers that be, you are ostracized and targeted. The fact that this organization is still running is unbelievable.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Math and Reading focused

    May 14, 2016 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People care about making a difference for their students, it's nice to work with like-minded peers. AUSL brings in sports and extra curricular activities for students. If you teach math/reading you will get a lot of coaching and have the tools necessary to do a lot of data driven instruction.

    Cons

    Be prepared for most of the focus to be on improving math and reading scores. If you care about teaching science, it's important to find a school that best fits your views and values. They offer coaches for new teachers, but if you are not math/reading you will loose your coach if they have a shortage. There are a lot of high expectations that can really be a time suck, like bulletin boards and classroom environment. It is very easy to loose your home and work life balance as you strive to be the best teacher you can be. Also, depending on the school, you may feel like you're putting on a "dog and pony show" for visitors that does not really reflect what is happening at the school.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    AUSL Response

    Director of Human Resources

    Hello! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about AUSL. I would welcome an opportunity to talk a bit further about your experience. Please e-mail us at hr@auslchicago.org.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Teach from the Heart!

    Aug 20, 2018 - First Year Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The Residency Program is amazing. I started the program with the knowledge that it would be a very rigorous program; I believe that I did well and am well prepared to begin my first year of teaching not only because of the amazing training and support that I received during my Residency Year, but also because I was not only dedicated to the process, but I also am one who can take critique as a means for growing not only as an Educator, but also as a professional. I believe the Residency program is well developed, I also believe that those on staff from my recruiter to my Mentor Coach... has been instrumental in my success. The work that we do is important, however, it's not for everyone, because it does take passion and dedication to push through on hard days, there will be hard days, but it's well worth it.

    Cons

    I believe some people come into the program and feel a since of entitlement that manifest in their attitude towards the work and those whom they work with, and then blame the Program for their short comings. I learned that the program can prepare us to be great teachers, but we must also come into the program ready to grow and take accountability.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    No work life balance

    Aug 25, 2020 - Teacher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Not sure of them yet, if any.

    Cons

    Crazy workload, treating children like robots, coming in and taking over schools in Black communities and kicking Black teachers out

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Teacher

    Feb 11, 2016 - Resident Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The kids. There are great kids in all Chicago neighborhoods, though, and this has nothing to do with AUSL.

    Cons

    Mentor teachers recommend that residents and new teachers go on antianxiety medication to handle what happens in these schools. You are coached (yelled at) in front of kids, out loud. The residency only teaches conformity and how to teach to tests. Many who have come before you have had complete nervous breakdowns, and mentors and administrators call them by name regularly (i.e. "don't be another [name last name]") Years later, I regularly have nightmares about my time there. Phenomenal teachers are regularly fired because they do things like try to call attention to the inappropriate behavior of administrators. At a high school in the network, an assistant principal took a group of high school kids to Florida on vacation (not a school trip, a vacation) and put the photos of them together on facebook. He is still employed, even though there was evidence (my former coworker showed me them, clear as day). Nepotism is the word in this whole network. If you are a person of morality, or even one of professionalism, there are better pathways to teaching. Also, so you are aware, the other reviews about salary are about Chicago Public Schools' salary - not AUSL. The residency pays $32k.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews
</>Embed

AUSL Reviews FAQs

AUSL has an overall rating of 2.8 out of 5, based on over 64 reviews left anonymously by employees. 35% of employees would recommend working at AUSL to a friend and 25% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 14% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AUSL employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AUSL. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

35% of AUSL employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AUSL 2.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.6 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AUSL to be career development, coworkers and the cons to be management, culture, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with AUSL Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AUSL? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Teacher(11)
  • Resident Teacher(7)

AUSL Photos

+ Add Photo
AUSL photo of: Residents gather for a meeting
AUSL photo of: Students at Phillips Academy High School take notes in class
AUSL photo of: Teachers and students work on the Dvorak SOE mural
AUSL photo of: Volunteers organize a Back to School event at Bradwell SOE
AUSL photo of: An Marquette SOE teacher delivers a lesson to her students
AUSL photo of: Middle school students lead elementary students in an activity
AUSL photo of: Resident graduate teaching
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Chicago Public Schools

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

AUSL Job Seekers Also Viewed

Chicago Public Schools Logo
Chicago Public Schools

3.5

1,977 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 64 AUSL reviews submitted anonymously by AUSL employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if AUSL is right for you.