AXA Advisors Financial Professional Reviews | Glassdoor

AXA Advisors Financial Professional Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
AXA Advisors CEO Mark Pearson (no image)
Mark Pearson
1 Rating
  1. "Tough starting out but worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, unlimited income potential, great management (dependent on location). If you’re goal driven and don’t mind prospecting, you’ll succeed and eventually make a great living helping others.

    Cons

    Expensive to start: pay for your own testing, little to no income for first few months.

    Continue reading
    AXA Advisors2020-01-29
  2. "Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Professional 

    I have been working at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of potential to do really well. But career is harder than they make it sound in the interview process

    Cons

    Activity is all self generated but if you work hard and follow their advice you can be successful

    AXA Advisors2020-02-15
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in Houston, TX

    I worked at AXA Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No cap on earning potential

    Cons

    Self acquire clients. Commission based

    AXA Advisors2020-01-31
  4. "A great opportunity for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Professional in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incredible income potential in the long run, helpful staff (depending on your location), the book of business you build is yours forever

    Cons

    Hours are long and unpredictable, the beginning of the career is much more focused on sales and growing a client base than giving actual financial advice. Commission based compensation structure creates an instant conflict of interest for anything you recommend.

    Continue reading
    AXA Advisors2020-01-29
  5. "Their is a 95% chance that this will be a waste of time for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Series 7 and 63 sponsorship. The possiblity of making lots of money

    Cons

    you almost certanly won't make lots of money. the healthcare is really bad management is lackluster you kinda need good management to succeed the base salary isn't enough to live off of. it takes up too much time to get a second job. Cold calling. They don't provide viable leads (but they will tell you that they do in the interview). They don't tell you about expenses that you have to pay until you have to pay them. Durin the training period it is all comission. Very burn and turn with new people.

    Continue reading
    AXA Advisors2020-01-28
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A Painful Disappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Professional in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA Advisors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can get sponsored for your Series licensing here. You will still need to pay it out of pocket until you "contract" which takes approximately one year.

    Cons

    It is to my disappointment I feel the need to change my original review. Like many other 5 star reviews here, I had been “advised” by management to leave a shining Glassdoor review. After working at AXA for 3 years, I have experienced a birds eye view of the operations and culture at play. Upon reflecting, I have concluded I must actively seek alternative opportunities in addition to warning future college graduates that may seek employment here. Upon my first interview, I was told I could make $75,000-$100,000 in my first year via commissions. Similar large numbers are shared in interviews by giving examples of individuals that had seen success. Unfortunately, these numbers are outliers at best and lies at worst. The majority of the peers around me are struggling to get by in one of the most expensive cities in the country. Many of us still live at home. The payment options are either pure commission or a salary that locks you into an unlivable wage for San Francisco. Trainings are provided to us 3 days a week, however these largely consist of cold call roleplay or proprietary product pitching. We are heavily incentivized to push AXA based insurances and annuities, which is a direct conflict of interests with the Fiduciary Standard we claim to abide by. I have not been taught how to be a Financial Advisor, only a salesman. I now realize many of the accounts I have placed clients in are not in their best interest. Looking around, I do not see a financial firm but a cold calling center. The culture of this office lives 30 years in the past. Gossip spreads like wildfire here. I have seen things occur that no other company would tolerate in today’s world. If you apply here, you will likely receive an offer. There is little to no risk in bringing new hires in as you will only receive commission. I urge any eager job-seekers to take a step back and do some research before committing to AXA advisors. It may save your career. Thank you for reading.

    Continue reading
    AXA Advisors2020-02-07
  7. "Poor Branch Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Professional in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *This is a great opportunity to get your feet wet in the industry. You will learn a lot about life insurance. *If you are a lucky enough to get a good senior agent to take you under their wing, then you can also learn a lot about financial planning. *The validation points are low compared to other firms that interviewed me. *Pay scale can get high

    Cons

    *The organization as a whole is slow to invest the necessary resources needed to be competitive. *On a more disturbing note, under the current local leadership, the office has made a spiraling descent. By coming to work here you will be pushed into handing 25% of cases that you sourced over to management's family member under the pretense that they "do the paperwork." If you refuse to accept these terms, management will remove any and all support from you. Management will even "highly recommend" that you give them a portion of the cases you source. The "local management" is also a liar who will maneuver under the guise that you will never find out about their dubious deeds. When you bring your awareness to their attention they will resort back to lying. *Current management and management prospects are underqualified and only hold their rank for their ability to feed said "local managements" narcissistic ego. Questions to ask your potential district manager would be how long have they been in the business and how they were able to build their clients from scratch.

    Continue reading
    AXA Advisors2020-01-02
  8. "My opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in Pittsburgh, PA

    I worked at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great earnings potential if you put in time

    Cons

    make sure you have good management or you will not be able to succeed

    AXA Advisors2019-12-19
  9. "Disorganized company pushing proprietary products"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in Columbia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AXA Advisors full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you're willing to sell what they tell you to, you have the ability to make decent money.

    Cons

    Pushing unsuitable products on clients Long hours Horrible starting pay

    AXA Advisors2020-01-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Professional in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AXA Advisors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A sponsor for the Series 7

    Cons

    During the interview process they talk about a training salary of ~$1000 but never send an offer letter to layout everything. Once hired you get a one time payment of $289 then you are on your own. They act like this was a change between interviewing and hiring but there was never a training salary.

    AXA Advisors2019-12-22

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 143 reviews