AXA UK Reviews | Glassdoor

AXA UK Reviews

Updated April 7, 2019
115 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
AXA UK CEO Claudio Gienal
Claudio Gienal
10 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Excellent benefits and work life balance" (in 13 reviews)

  • "A fantastic company with great people, products, ethos and opportunities" (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lots of red tape which causes frustration" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Basic career progression available but can feel limited in scope and scale" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "I miss working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great development opportunities, excellent people to work with who are all passionate about what they do. Great location in Town

    Cons

    Depends on which business area you work in, depends on how performance is rated. In some areas, people seem to get away with murder!


  2. "ADM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AXA UK full-time

    Pros

    great company with great perks

    Cons

    nothing i can think of

  3. "Great culture & working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time

    Pros

    - Good agile working policy.
    - Strong leadership that engages with employees.
    - Positive steps and efforts have been made to create an inclusive workplace.
    - Good learning and development opportunities.
    - Keen to look forward and innovate as a business.

    Cons

    - Changes to senior leadership and to the organisational structure has created some uncertainty.
    - A fairly rigid reward and bonus structure for lower level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to engage with employees to work with them on the journey ahead of improving the business.

    AXA UK Response

    Mar 26, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review. It is fantastic to read that your positive comments included things which we are so proud of here at AXA.

    We really appreciate... More


  4. "Enjoyed working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at AXA UK full-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with
    Company looks after its people
    Good bonuses when the company does well

    Cons

    A lot of bureaucracy comes out of HQ in Paris

    AXA UK Response

    Mar 25, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a positive review. The health and well being of our employees is always a top priority, so it is great to read that you felt looked after during... More


  5. "Strategic communications manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Communications Manager in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Strategic Communications Manager in Royal Tunbridge Wells, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    A fantastic company with great people, products, ethos and opportunities. Excellent benefits and work life balance. Some inspirational heads of marketing.

    Cons

    None that are worth mentioning

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward

    AXA UK Response

    Mar 4, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. The elements you have highlighted above are really important to us at AXA, particularly as some of them help support the health & wellbeing... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Bristol, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Customer Service Executive in Bristol, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AXA UK full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice relaxed, welcoming interview style, warm friendly and professional interviewers, good benefits package, impressive premises, I am excited about joining AXA PPP Healthcare.

    Cons

    None that I can think of, everything was very positive and professional.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing I can think of, thank you for making my interview such a positive experience and conveying the exciting benefits of working for AXA PPP Healthcare.

    AXA UK Response

    Mar 4, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you so much taking the time to write a review. It is great to read that you had a such a positive interview experience, and even better to read that you got the job!

    Congratulations on your... More


  7. "Could have been much better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Test Consultant in Cobham, Surrey, South East England, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Test Consultant in Cobham, Surrey, South East England, England (UK)

    I worked at AXA UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance, salary okay

    Cons

    Ridiculous amounts of nepotism and really short sighted IT strategy.

    Advice to Management

    Stop getting all your IT ideas from Microsoft. They make software, you sell insurance.

    AXA UK Response

    Mar 12, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, it is nice to read you had experienced a good work life balance. All reviews which are left on Glassdoor are appreciated and please rest... More

  8. "Not the company they once were"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AXA UK full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly people
    Broad range of work
    Nice building

    Cons

    Poor leadership behaviours
    Trust issues
    Cost cutting agenda

    AXA UK Response

    Mar 11, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. It is nice to read that during your time at AXA UK you worked with some good people.

    Each review is read and everything written by you... More


  9. "Egos over results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AXA UK full-time

    Pros

    Private healthcare, nice view from the office

    Cons

    In its healthcare division there is no learning and development, managers wing-it and are very cliquey, ego over results. The culture is nothing like what AXA advertise it to be and there is very little commitment to its own values

    Advice to Management

    Restructure

    AXA UK Response

    Apr 2, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. I am sorry to read that your experience with AXA wasn't a positive one.

    Please rest assure that all reviews are read and the... More


  10. "Personal Care Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at AXA UK full-time

    Pros

    Made a few good friends

    Cons

    Unsupportive and often clueless management. Employees can play the field easily if you wanted to

    AXA UK Response

    Feb 20, 2019 – Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to review - we're very aware this is not a great review but please be assured that all reviews are read and the information is used so we can get better if we're missing... More