Abbott Laboratories "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Abbott Laboratories Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
68%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Abbott Laboratories Chairman and CEO Miles D. White
Miles D. White
931 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, opportunities, multicultural place, friendly place(in 143 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, flexible work schedule(in 124 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes work life balance isn't good depending on the role(in 60 reviews)

  • "Being in a regional role means late night conference calls and work long hours(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Validation Engineer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 

    I worked at Abbott Laboratories

    Pros

    Small company. Freedom to wear many hats.

    Cons

    Upper Management based in IL did not have faith in our vision

    Abbott Laboratories2018-11-08
  2. "Very Little Advancement Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development Engineer in Plymouth, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    + Work/Life Balance + Interesting Products and technology + Decent benefits + Decent PTO

    Cons

    - Management - Upper Management - Compensation - Favoritism / Politics - Career Advancement

    Advice to Management

    + It would be great to see management take more interest in engineering development and the communication and practical translation of company directives

    Abbott Laboratories2019-11-13
  3. "ok place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abbott Laboratories full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    benefits, work environment, coworkers, pay

    Cons

    schedule, management, overall compensation, upper management

    Advice to Management

    none really

    Abbott Laboratories2019-10-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "What was once a great department to work for is no more"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postmarket Surveillance in Sylmar, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    - Great company overall - A really good department to get footing in the industry - Good facility and great benefits - People in the department are nice to work with

    Cons

    - Upper management doesn't seem to care much for work life balance. The work/life balance has really declined over the past few months. All they care about is meeting metrics without proper compensation for the amount of overtime worked. - Poor implementation of new processes. This further worsens the workload put on people. The reallocation or resources isn't properly thought out and at the end of the day puts stress on the entire department. - Understaffed and people are consistently leaving due to poor management.

    Show More
    Abbott Laboratories2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work, will hit ceiling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Specialist in Des Plaines, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abbott Laboratories full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Provides good opportunities for training and somewhat secure work. Products are interesting and work provides good mental challenges.

    Cons

    You will hit a ceiling in terms of career growth, site upper management tends to develop tunnel vision and severely hinders the growth of immediate subordinates. Seems like they are threatened and are not open to new ideas. They also have a very strange sense of what management support is and refuse to recognize when they are micromanaging.

    Advice to Management

    TRUST your people!!! Once tasks are assigned, please support your people and get out of their way.

    Abbott Laboratories2019-07-27
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Worked into the Ground - No Appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Sylmar, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abbott Laboratories full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, job tasks were rewarding

    Cons

    Worked on an average of 70 hrs per week. Management's attitude is that this is expected. When I quit I was handed a check - that was it. No exit interview or explanation that my benefits would be cut off once I walked out the door. Upper management is rude and condescending. Never appreciated, told that we will not receive any parties or anything for Christmas. No company picnic for years, no pats on the back.

    Advice to Management

    Start recognizing good , hard-working employees. They are walking out the doors in droves.

    Abbott Laboratories2018-09-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Overall amazing company with great benefits and numerous opportunities for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager in Lake Bluff, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Laboratories full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, opportunities for growth, international experiences are readily available

    Cons

    Location, Conservative culture, need more diverse upper management (director and above), flexibility in schedule highly dependent on manager

    Abbott Laboratories2018-09-03
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Laboratories full-time

    Pros

    There are none in my opinion.

    Cons

    RUN RUN RUN far away from this company. If you are going to this job thinking it will be better than your last IT WON'T BE. Move on. The management staff is incompetent. They all think the site cannot function without them, because they are so amazing. Management is full of bullies that just belittle each other constantly during meetings. The place is a good ol' boys club. I've never seen so many men be so dismissive of the women and treat them like they are their personal secretaries. Managers have been written up and upper management knows of the poor behavior and nothing is ever done. I would not want my wife to work here. The pay is not competitive. MOVE ON.

    Show More
    Abbott Laboratories2018-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Laboratories full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Abbot at a global level is a VERY good company. Great benefits, and if you are the "right" gender and are in the right crowd, the sky is the limit. Good compensation

    Cons

    Micromanaged and belittled, this applies only to Hematology in Santa Clara, I have no experience with the rest of Abbott. No job security, even if you are doing the right things and your "stuff" works. HR and or Employee Relations are useless, unless you are in upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees with respect and give credit where credit is due. You will be surprised how well things work when you treat everyone with respect and give the credit to the people that deserve it. You will keep losing great people if you do not do this.

    Abbott Laboratories2018-08-25
  10. "Technical Manufacturing Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chemist 

    I have been working at Abbott Laboratories full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, work balance, flexibility, learning oppurtunities

    Cons

    Pay, workload, scheduling, upper management

    Abbott Laboratories2018-06-05
Found 39 reviews