Abbott Northwestern Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Abbott Northwestern Hospital Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Abbott Northwestern Hospital CEO Jeff Peterson (no image)
Jeff Peterson
9 Ratings
  1. "Very Good nice place to work good Payment and benefit work hard get paid And have a union fixable schedule. Respects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nursing Assistant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good for educational purposes student accepts to work abbott and they are happy abut management

    Cons

    Respects for all employees give opportunity and more advantage to going school free Dental and more am gald to work in abbott

    Advice to Management

    100

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2017-06-03
  2. "ACNM at Abbott Northwestern Hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Clinical Nurse Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many, many specialties are nationally recognized for high quality care and outcomes. Magnet status nursing care is top notch and the best in the Twin cities

    Cons

    Constant leadership and management changes

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2019-11-08
  3. "Great immediate team atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff RN 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have some great coworkers that I work with.

    Cons

    Constantly short staffed, pretty big divide between nursing staff and upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, help provide quality pt care by making sure your staff have the ability to eat lunch on a 12 hour shift.

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2019-10-14
  4. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very nice people in the department

    Cons

    a lot of sick calls - you can pick up hours as you can but the downside is sometimes you will be pulled from your own shift to others

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2019-03-29
  5. "pharmacy intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital part-time

    Pros

    I love my coworkers and learning new things

    Cons

    repetitive job and very tiring

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2019-03-13
  6. "Great Company with wonderful benifits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Worker in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working as a team on mental health is always a great pro and this company shows that on the child/adolescent unit!

    Cons

    There are always changes being made before asking staff members their input.

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2019-02-08
  7. "It is what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital

    Pros

    You will never get fired unless you do something stupid.

    Cons

    You are treated like "the help". Not respected by management, patients, etc.

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2018-07-19
  8. "Mental Health Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Mental Health Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abbott Northwestern Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Allina offered good benefits and I was paid well

    Cons

    It was a very stressful work environment with little support from the management. I felt that I was paid well, but the emotional and physical impact of the job wasn't worth it. If the managers had been more involved on the unit maybe it would have been different, but they made policies while rarely being present on the floor.

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2017-09-30
  9. "Not viewed as a professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Associate in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Abbott Northwestern Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits, great grad school experience

    Cons

    Incompetent nursing staff, underappreciated, not flexible with scheduling (unless you can find someone to trade or swap)

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2017-09-14
  10. "Overall, a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends

    I worked at Abbott Northwestern Hospital part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great resources in a strong multidisciplinary team

    Cons

    Once very nursing forward units seem to have shifted to large corporation based goals. Especially surrounding the nurses strike of 2016

    Abbott Northwestern Hospital2017-08-24
Found 37 reviews