Aberdeen Reviews | Glassdoor

Aberdeen Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 98 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Marc Osofsky
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with and you learn a lot(in 8 reviews)

  • "Very collaborative work environment where accountability and performance are well noted(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "More than 80% of the sales team doesn't know what any other department really does, nor do they care to learn(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Perfect Time to Join a Growing & Ambitious Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aberdeen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -As listed in the comments, the new CEO brings significant potential and energy to the company. He's always available to help each employee succeed -Aberdeen has very strong brand recognition in the market. It's a global firm, and a name that you want on your resume if you work in tech -Continuously innovating to keep up with and lead the market intelligence market. The company has substantially enriched traditional...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Need more meeting spaces in the office as employees sometimes struggle finding meeting rooms to have client calls without background noise -Need more investment in professional development and education of employees. While there's significant on the job learning for each role, there's limited access to professional training programs needed to grow skills over time

    Advice to Management

    The company is in a better position to drive significant growth than ever before. Need to fine-tune the overall approach to sales (talent management, territory planning, activity-based versus strategic selling) to facilitate this growth by keeping what works and abandoning those that don't

    Aberdeen2018-11-28
  2. "A Company With So Much Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aberdeen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The product is definitely competitive.

    Cons

    Lack of resources if you're not part of the "in" crowd. Management works overtime cover themselves when things go wrong and will never take responsibility. Management will only protect people are they deem value. Non-deserving employees are rewarded and deserving employees are not set up employees for success are rarely recognized for their contribution to the success of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Take ownership and listen. If an employee is trying to find a solution for an issue and it's evident that they are taking the necessary steps then accountability should be recognized and not chastised.

    Aberdeen2019-04-10
  3. "Could improve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aberdeen full-time

    Pros

    Good pay for entry level

    Cons

    No initial training No team meetings No 1:1 No guidance for new hires Tasks are not divided well between the team Not good for entry level as the culture impacts negatively

    Aberdeen2019-02-26
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aberdeen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a few good people in the midst, but they're often the ones reporting to someone higher up, without much control over the trajectory of the ill-fated decisions being made by management. Food sometimes?

    Cons

    The culture is a textbook example of how toxic leadership trickles down to the employees being hired. 90% of the directors have seemingly lucked their way into the position and have admitted openly to not having the credentials necessary to support their teams. More than 80% of the sales team doesn't know what any other department really does, nor do they care to learn. The vast majority of the analyst team are...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Understand that employees are your lifeblood. Talking to your workforce like children and putting up a collage of the word "Grit" in the main hallway is not the best way to make them feel like they've chosen the right place to spend their weekdays.

    Aberdeen2018-11-10

    Aberdeen Response

    November 16, 2018Vice President, Human Resources

    Hi! Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are always committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative working environment for all of our employees so I'm disappointed to hear about some of your experiences. As you may be aware, we have a new CEO and we have made ...

    Show More
  5. "Exciting place with super work-life balance with tons of boomerangs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Evangelist in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aberdeen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is just a phenomenal place to work that really puts everything great about tech start-ups into an atmosphere that is family friendly. Great new, aggressive CEO with a history of success has Aberdeen going into some amazing places, while securing big new business. If Aberdeen wasn't such a great place there wouldn't be so many return employees.

    Cons

    Waltham is OK. Product still needs development. Startup growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. Keep on churning and burning.

    Aberdeen2018-09-07
  6. "Pleased with company, culture, colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content/Marketing in Waltham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aberdeen full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Aberdeen is a stimulating, fast-paced, and motivational place to work. I've seen some changes in my time here, and they're all taking this esteemed firm to even greater places. I'm proud to be part of such an outfit; my colleagues, the leadership team, and our proprietary offering make this an exciting, stimulating place into which I can pour my efforts (and pick up skills & smarts from both internal SMEs and a super-skilled...

    Show More

    Cons

    * The free coffee isn't Green Mountain? (but the creamer, milk, and half&half is all actually delivered from a local farm, so consider this a con/not-con) * Waltham location is difficult if you don't have a a car

    Advice to Management

    * The open lines of communication are fab - please don't stop.

    Aberdeen2018-06-15
  7. "Marketing Operation Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aberdeen full-time

    Pros

    -Phenomenal work environment -Amazing opportunity for growth -Engaging office setting -Easy parking on site -Open lines of communication -Great pay and benefits -Free lunch every other Wednesday & breakfast at EOM

    Cons

    -Location can be difficult to get to if you don't have a car

    Aberdeen2018-06-14
  8. "Great company with a bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aberdeen full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with support from all angles. Management continues to lead the company toward an exciting future while also maintaining the core aspects of the business that have made Aberdeen successful. The future is bright!

    Cons

    Commute in and out of Waltham can be difficult

    Aberdeen2018-04-24
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aberdeen full-time

    Pros

    Awesome team! Really enjoyed everyone I worked with.

    Cons

    Nothing really to say here.

    Aberdeen2018-03-27
  10. "Good place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aberdeen for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with and you learn a lot

    Cons

    This is just too easy

    Aberdeen2018-04-06
Found 98 reviews