Abernathy MacGregor Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Abernathy MacGregor Group Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Abernathy MacGregor Group CEO Tom Johnson (no image)
Tom Johnson
3 Ratings
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time

    Pros

    Great clients, hard working people

    Cons

    Always busy and lots of work

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2018-09-20
  2. "IT Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY

    I worked at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Low amount of clients, easy work environment.

    Cons

    Internal politics, change of top level IT positions. Changed dynamics

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2018-08-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Abernathy MacGregor Group

    Pros

    The job itself was fantastic. Management was engaging and there was a strong focus on learning. It was the perfect internship.

    Cons

    There were no cons that I can think of.

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2017-09-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Intern - Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abernathy MacGregor Group

    Pros

    Great people who provide interns with interesting work opportunities. Substantive work experience involving a number of industries.

    Cons

    A bit more of an on-boarding process teaching interns how to use the various databases would have been nice.

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2017-08-26
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great in-the-trenches experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time

    Pros

    Are invited by senior managements to be as engaged in client work to the extent that your willing to put in the work. Are encouraged to pursue work that you are interested in.

    Cons

    Always on call. Compensation and willingness to invest in employees are two areas that could use some work.

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2017-07-13
  6. "SVP"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time

    Pros

    very collaborative culture not afflicted by the usual problems of an agency. They don't hire jerks, in other words.

    Cons

    A little inbred - needs to adopt more ideas from outside the firm and take modest risks. Also needs to take its own advice to clients on building its profile in the market.

    Continue reading
    Abernathy MacGregor Group2017-01-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Smart people doing interesting work, though hours can be long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the 3+ years I've been here, I've been exposed to really fascinating high-profile projects, including crises and M&A transactions that are on the front page of the papers. The people here are smart (for the most part), nice (for the most part) and seem to really like the work.

    Cons

    Not every day is exciting. Some days, I feel like I'm trapped with boring research projects or media monitoring projects. Also, you are expected to be on call pretty much all the time. So even if you get out of the office at a reasonable time, you still have to check email constantly to see what's going on.

    Continue reading
    Abernathy MacGregor Group2015-02-12
  8. "Prestigious firm in NY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Access to great clients, exciting work, collegial atmosphere

    Cons

    Lack of training for junior staff

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2015-01-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abernathy MacGregor Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with, smart, professional

    Cons

    Smaller size so there are not a lot of layers for advancement

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2014-03-05
  10. "Great way to learn business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abernathy MacGregor Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good work environment -Good benefits -Help you learn and develop your career

    Cons

    -Hard work/life balance -Low starting salary

    Abernathy MacGregor Group2013-07-22
Found 12 reviews