Abt Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Abt Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
90%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Abt CEO Mike, Ricky, Jon & Billy Abt (no image)
Mike, Ricky, Jon & Billy Abt
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay, good environment, family like feel, get promoted, easy going, laid back, great benefits, good job security, promotes within(in 11 reviews)

  • "I thought it was a great place to work(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor Management in entry level positions, hours can be tough must be available for long hours during high season (holidays)(in 8 reviews)

  • "their bonus fund is a little goofy,(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great job growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunites to grow in the company. They have so many different areas in which you can try to learn a new specialty. If you want to transfer to a new department to explore new interest which I did a couple of times it seemed pretty easy so long as there was an opening. They have great employee benefits and that is something I miss even after leaving the company.

    Cons

    It seems sometimes that the supervisors can form a bit a clique that can show who favorites are. Everyone should be treated with the same respect and be given equal opportunities.

    Abt2019-09-26
  2. "It was a great learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abt

    Pros

    It’s a family owned company

    Cons

    That you have to work Saturday’s.

    Advice to Management

    Figure it out.

    Abt2019-10-09
  3. "Great Place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abt

    Pros

    Good Pay, good environment, family like feel, get promoted, easy going, laid back, great benefits, good job security, promotes within

    Cons

    No cons at all. Very good place to work at.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Abt2019-09-13
  4. "Indifferent work place environment here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Logistics Router 

    I have been working at Abt full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    close to home, managers are understanding if you are a good employee

    Cons

    the environment can be toxic with a lot of gossip and immaturity

    Abt2019-09-18
  5. "the pros and cons working at ABT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Analyst in Waltham, MA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Abt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the people are great there management is also very collaborative working as a team

    Cons

    moving up the ladder could be a challenge due to the low rate of the turn over.

    Abt2019-09-01
  6. "Love this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Appliance Repair Technician in Glenview, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's always work. Money is great. The people that work there are AMAZING including the Abt brothers.

    Cons

    The bonus is what made me run away. The fines you get hit with left and right. My ocd couldn't see past that.

    Abt2019-08-30
  7. "best place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Glenview, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    fast paced - gorgeous surroundings - great $ - super nice co workers and owners - customers are great

    Cons

    parking is far from the employee entrance

    Abt2019-08-07
  8. "Current driver for 5 years and counting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Glenview, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abt full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Love this place. One thing I admire and notice when working with various helpers on my truck is the quality of people they hire. Almost everyone I’ve worked with has good morals and good manners. There are a set of rules I go by that Abt has instilled in me. Do not steal or lie, work hard, and make the customer happy. If you do those 4 things you will work here for as long as you want. I work with one of the... owners son who is a great guy as well. Their entire family will be generous to you if you respect them and their family business. Do not listen to the negative reviews that these other people give. I have been coming to Abt since I was a kid and have really grown to care about the company. Our head manager for deliveries is very helpful as well. He gives every driver and helper his personal phone number so you can ask him any questions you might have. He was also a former driver/installer so he understands what we do and is always available to answer questions we may have on the road as well. Also very generous with time off which I love. One more thing - you get to see so many different places. I’ve been to famous peoples houses, the Hancock, wrigley field, the practice facility for the Blackhawks, and the list goes on. Great great company to be a part of.

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can’t think of any. You get to ride around and see new places all day and make people happy. What’s bad about that?

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. I really admire the owners. We have a three point contest every year and I remember after I got knocked out one year Ricky (one of the owners) told me we will practice together next year so I won’t get knocked out again. Billy (one of the other owners) gave me a high five after I made a tie breaking shot. Little things like that make it that much more enjoyable to work here. The point of this story... is that they are so down to earth and they are just like the rest of us. They aren’t hidden upstairs in some office, they get to know you and you get to know them. That’s one of my favorite parts about them. They don’t think they are above anybody else and they are very modest. Appreciate you guys and thanks for everything.

    Show More
    Abt2019-07-16
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver 

    I have been working at Abt full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work for everything about them is awesome and great family business.

    Cons

    There’s none for Abt they’re a good company.

    Abt2019-07-07
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working here. Everyone is happy to help if you are having trouble. Everyone knows each other and it makes me feel included.

    Cons

    Some salesman and general managers can be rude when trying to make a sale.

    Abt2019-06-12

    Abt Response

    June 29, 2019General Manager

    Abt consistently strives to make our customer experience the best possible. We have over 240 salespeople that go to various product trainings and sales meetings in order to make sure our customers get the best service. We also have a price guarantee where we will meet or beat any authorized dealer. We have been rated #1 in Consumer Reports for the past 8 years and are proud of our customer service.

    Show Less
Found 116 reviews
</>Embed