Abt Reviews

Updated Apr 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Abt Co - CEO's Mike, Ricky, Jon & Billy Abt (no image)
Mike, Ricky, Jon & Billy Abt
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Pay, good environment, family like feel, get promoted, easy going, laid back, great benefits, good job security, promotes within(in 11 reviews)

  • "great pay and great people to work with(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor Management in entry level positions, hours can be tough must be available for long hours during high season (holidays)(in 9 reviews)

  • "their bonus fund is a little goofy,(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 9, 2021 - Installer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great pay -Great benefits -Willing to train anyone that wants to learn -Family run business -Great coworkers -Friendly management

      Cons

      -Daily heavy lifting -Have to deal with the weather

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Abt warehouse experience

      Feb 2, 2021 - Warehouse Associate in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health Insurance, flexible hours, decent pay for entry level position.

      Cons

      Poor Management, Discrimination, Toxic work environment.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Abt Response

      General Manager

      Abt takes great pride in the many first responders and military members that work with us. We are also partnered with the United States Army through their PaYs program to employ veterans and active-duty members of the military. We love to see our employees grow and transfer within the company and this employee not transferring had nothing to do with his military status or work schedule, rather had to do with his poor job performance.

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales

      Mar 17, 2021 - Sales Associate in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work at with great benefits and pay!

      Cons

      Gets really busy so have to work hard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome place to work at

      Mar 17, 2021 - Technician in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced and always something different

      Cons

      Long hours never a balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Feb 12, 2021 - Warehouse Associate in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits Accrue PTO and sick time Receive forklift training Work together with your department Detail orientated work

      Cons

      Some lazy and some unfriendly coworkers Sometimes lack of accountability for poor performing employees Somewhat physically demanding Staying late some days, sometimes weeks at a time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      There for 2 years

      Mar 17, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are nice. Give out overtime quite readily.

      Cons

      If management likes someone more than you they can be apaid more for less work. I k ew people made more than me even though i consistently did 20-30% more work in the same amount of time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Abt Response

      General Manager

      Our Customer Service positions start at the same rate. All of our employees are reviewed on a yearly basis and raises are granted based on merit and tenure.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Feb 23, 2021 - Driver in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management and culture. Would rec.

      Cons

      Hours can be long but pay is great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great job while in college

      Oct 13, 2020 - Electronic Service Representative in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities to learn about the latest commercial tech products, and a one-of-a-kind retail experience. You will learn about TV's, Audio equipment and many other household electronics. This job will teach you how to use them, troubleshoot them, and even fix them. Great foundational knowledge can be gained about electronics in this role. The manager of the Electronic Service department, Dan DeBartolo, is absolutely great. He was my favorite thing about Abt. He really cares about his team and he has always tried to be on my side. Dan is probably the only reason I stayed at Abt as long as I did.

      Cons

      Nobody really notices/cares about your personal growth. I spent 3 years trying to get a promotion/raise... Never happened. Nobody ever believed in me nor were they willing to give me a chance. I always knew I had a lot to offer, it just took the right people to believe in me. Unfortunately, Abt failed to foster that kind of environment for me. I did not feel valued at Abt. However, it was a decent job while in college.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Abt Response

      General Manager

      A majority of our staff have started in entry-level positions and have moved up within the store. We offer in house training to all our employees and are always encouraging staff to grow with us. We empower our staff to move up within the company everyday with continued trainings and internal job postings.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      No

      Mar 31, 2021 - Warehouse Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None, none, none, none, none

      Cons

      Everything, everything, everything, everything everything.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place

      Jan 13, 2021 - Service Technician in Glenview, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A lot of OT during the pandemic

      Cons

      Late nights and only one day off in the middle of the week and sundays.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 146 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Abt Job Seekers

    Sales
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Appliance Service Technician
    Learn About the Job
    Custom Audio Video Installer
    Learn About the Job
    Electronic Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Abt? Share Your Experiences

    Abt logo
    or