Academy Mortgage Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Academy Mortgage CEO James Mac Pherson
James Mac Pherson
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very interested in a balanced work-life balance(in 38 reviews)

  • "This is why I enjoy getting up and working for such a great company(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Chaos, unaware management, rude loan officers(in 20 reviews)

  • "Sometimes feels like upper management does not listen to your ideas or to hesitations within projects they throw your way(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great workplace

      Apr 30, 2021 - Loan Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      work/life balance, amazing support, great team to work with

      Cons

      nothing at this moment that I see negative

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Awesome Place to work

      Apr 25, 2021 - Mortgage Loan Officer in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is an amazing place to work

      Cons

      I have nothing bad to say

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 15, 2021 - Manager in Sandy, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture that feels like family.

      Cons

      Doesn't pay top salary for industry

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Place to Work

      Mar 31, 2021 - Loan Officer Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Communication, Pull together as a team. Overall great company to work for

      Cons

      Not any important con just hiccup's along they way.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      I hope Academy is the last place I ever work !

      Jan 10, 2021 - Underwriter in Chandler, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are many positive things to say about Academy but I will just say that they don't micro-manage their Underwriters. I believe I have the support and tools I need to do my job well, the Company is up to date on technology and the people that work here are wonderful. I feel respected and appreciated by co workers and management both at local and Corporate level. Compensation and benefits are on point.

      Cons

      I really don't have any ' cons ' about the company... I like working for Academy!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Large volume

      Apr 2, 2021 - Administrative Assistant I in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of work to do

      Cons

      High expectations of work load

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company

      Mar 14, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunities, for growth, great leadership

      Cons

      Benefits are not that great.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Beyond blessed to work here

      Feb 5, 2021 - Loan Officer in Ellensburg, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      this company actually cares about their employees, wants employees to have a healthy life and time with family, invests in their employees

      Cons

      i don't have one... seriously

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Academy Always Feels Like Family

      Nov 13, 2020 - Operations Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The executive team practices what they preach in saying they put people first. There is such a high level and high quality of support and encouragement for team members. In addition to that, Academy is innovative in their adoption of new and improved technologies and processes, helping keep them a competitive lender. Academy Mortgage provides excellent quality services to borrowers and referral partners as well as their employees.

      Cons

      Recent pandemic and mortgage rate drops have disrupted the flow of business slightly (remote working, plus high increases in volume), but that is not exclusive to Academy Mortgage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Feb 10, 2021 - Business Development Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High loan volume, strong team feeling.

      Cons

      The job can get repetitive and boring.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 589 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Academy Mortgage Job Seekers

    Mortgage Loan Officer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Senior Mortgage Loan Processor
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Academy Mortgage? Share Your Experiences

    Academy Mortgage logo
    or