Academy Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Academy Mortgage Reviews

Updated Jun 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 506 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Academy Mortgage CEO Adam Kessler
Adam Kessler
424 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No Cons, I actually don't mind waking up to come to work haha(in 26 reviews)

  • "As I know we have done over and over again here at Academy, proven by with loan officers in the top 200 for mortgage originators(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "BEST COMPANY OUT THERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Underwriter in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Management, Benefits, Purpose, Challenging, Integrity

    Cons

    Nothing, Nothing, Nothing, Nothing, Nothing

    Academy Mortgage2019-06-10
  2. "THE PLACE TO BE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Renovation Lending Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent Culture that inspires you to be more than an employee at a company. With the PAID Volunteer Time Off program employees become leaders in the communities that we serve.

    Cons

    I can't think of any con's!

    Advice to Management

    Keep us moving from Good to GREAT!

    Academy Mortgage2019-06-06
  3. "Best Mortgage Company in the Country!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful culture with the best programs and service in the industry!!

    Cons

    I can't think of a negative working for Academy...

    Advice to Management

    Stay engaged in your associates day to day work flow.

    Academy Mortgage2019-06-06
  4. "I love working at Academy Mortgage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I believe in Academy's Mission and Vision. The company demonstrates a commitment to excellence. Our leadership is ethical, principled, and effective. Overall great company to work for. I love coming to work every day.

    Cons

    I can't thing of any.

    Academy Mortgage2019-05-29
  5. "Enjoy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They offer great benefits, and make it possible to be a working mom! They give many opportunities to learn and grow.

    Cons

    Every job has its cons, but nothing outweighs the good at Academy.

    Academy Mortgage2019-05-23
  6. "Great Corporate support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Officer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love the support that corporate to production staff. I wish marketing material was a little more creative

    Cons

    Higher Rates than competitors. Had to sell my services so save deals.

    Academy Mortgage2019-06-05
  7. "Academy is a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lending Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good traditional lender with a lot of products.

    Cons

    Not a good environment for growth as a specialist

    Advice to Management

    Implement a top down mandate to originate all products and market to the client base consistently. Marketing, good with some regions, should be actively farmed and pushing out messages to our data base. The marketing is fragmented and is not all that it is sold to be.

    Academy Mortgage2019-06-04
  8. "I love working at Academy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The awesome people I work with day-to-day make the environment a great place to work. Academy tries really hard to focus on communication throughout the company on how we are performing as a whole, how we compete in the industry, and daily company news. The perks of having free snacks, a gym, and volunteer time is a plus. But above all, I am recognized by all the hard work I put in everyday by management where I have...

    Show More

    Cons

    Due to the nature of the business with seasonal production cycles, there have been several layoffs lately that could be due to over staffing.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to show your appreciation for who come in to make a difference. Its helped me and it goes long ways.

    Academy Mortgage2019-05-30
  9. "High Production Job/Good Income Position vs Senior & Mid Management Favored Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mortgage Underwriter in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Ability to underwrite from home.

    Cons

    Lack of Management Support

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees with respect and support. Do not play favorites that everyone can see.

    Academy Mortgage2019-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "#AcademyMortgage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Executive Team. The organization feels connected. I can make a suggestion and I feel heard.

    Cons

    To be fully vested in 401(k) takes 6 years. Decent match.

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to work on special cross-departmental projects to create better relationships and build knowledge across the enterprise.

    Academy Mortgage2019-04-23

    Academy Mortgage Response

    April 24, 2019Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate your feedback.

Found 506 reviews