Academy Mortgage Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Academy Mortgage Reviews

Updated February 16, 2018
377 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Academy Mortgage President Adam Kessler
Adam Kessler
318 Ratings

377 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • There is a good work/life balance (in 25 reviews)

  • Our management team leads by example and provide a great work environment (in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • No Cons - Wonderful place to work (in 20 reviews)

  • As I know we have done over and over again here at Academy, proven by with loan officers in the top 200 for mortgage originators (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "My review of Academy mortgage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Management care about it's employees

    Cons

    At times communication is lacking


  2. "Underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people and enviroment, culture for academy is high

    Cons

    Not great benefirs for maternal/paternal leave

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We value employee feedback and appreciate all that you do.

  3. "Top Shelf Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Newport Beach, CA
    Current Employee - District Sales Manager in Newport Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Incredible leadership across the board. The Executive Team is second to none. Creative control for management at all levels. Support that is unparalleled. A forward thinking company where the true entrepreneurial spirit is supported and encouraged.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Your support is appreciated and your sincerity is refreshing and motivating. I have been with Academy for 2 years, in the business for 19 years and in management for 16 years. Academy Mortgage is without a doubt the best mortgage company that I have had the pleasure to partner with.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review. Thank you for all you do.


  4. "Like the People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Academy Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    Met some outstanding individuals while I worked there.

    Cons

    Middle management could use some improving on accountability.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Feb 6, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    We appreciate your positive review as a former employee and we hope that with your feedback we can continue to improve our culture and continue to be one of the Best Places to Work.


  5. "underwriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Academy Mortgage full-time

    Pros

    I enjoyed working at Academy. Management and support was excellent.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate your positive feedback as a former employee.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "No Initial Training / Managers and Other staff too busy to respond / HR not aware of every state law"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Diego, CA
    Former Employee - Operations in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Academy Mortgage full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Decent pay
    Company strongly believes in humanitarian work

    Cons

    No initial training what so ever with corporate policies, procedures and LOS system. Everyone is too busy to "show you how" and they expect you to jump right in and learn it yourself with no direction on how to do it.
    **Was told by an Underwriter she got written up because she didn't do a certain internal procedure correctly in the allotted amount of time given by corporate to learn the procedure. When there was NO training on how to do the procedure in the first place! (Underwriter left the company shortly thereafter)

    Managers rarely call you back because too busy with everything else they are doing

    Was sent incorrect procedure information that only pertained to certain states.
    *Had to tell Benefits person who sent it that it didn't apply to my state.

    Reached out to Human Resources with an issue and never heard back.

    Advice to Management

    Employ assistance to Managers with too much workload. They are only human and can do so much.

    Have corporate trainers available to new hires for 2 weeks, then have employee do an online learning management system test to ensure they are ready to perform.

    Have Corporate Benefits and HR employees well educated with each state law.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    We take pride in creating a positive environment for our employees and providing them opportunities to succeed. With your feedback, we can continue to improve our culture and continue to be one of... More


  7. "Loan Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Hattiesburg, MS
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Teamwork; Products; Culture; Community Involvement; Opportunity

    Cons

    Communication; Better insurance rate for employees

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate all you do at Academy.

  8. "Transaction Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Transaction Coordinator in Chandler, AZ
    Former Employee - Transaction Coordinator in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Academy Mortgage full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great lean lending environment. Extremely helpful. Fun staff.

    Cons

    Not transparent. Not all employees have the respect they deserve.

    Advice to Management

    Speak with everyone and consider their thoughts and ideas. Not just the LO's.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Jan 19, 2018 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    We take pride in creating a positive environment for our employees and providing them opportunities to succeed. With your feedback, we can continue to improve our culture and continue to be one of... More


  9. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Current Employee - Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, marketing, team/family atmosphere. In house processing, underwriting and funding.

    Cons

    Hard for someone to understand all that we offer when they are hired on.

    Advice to Management

    Better help with onboarding to explain all the tools Academy has. We have so many tools for success, that its hard for a new employee to understand them all.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and we value your feedback.


  10. "Great Experiences... for coming up on 4 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Marketing Manager in Draper, UT
    Current Employee - Branch Marketing Manager in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Mortgage (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've had a tremendous experience throughout my 4 years at Academy. I've been able to move up, gain valuable career experience, and make many connections in my community. Most importantly, I feel good about coming to work everyday and believe that the mission and vision of the company is fully in play and makes things happen in the communities where we work.

    Cons

    Technology. For every step forward Academy takes with regards to technology, another step back is taken.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure technology is on par with other mortgage lenders of the same size. Find better ways to pay managers in the field so they can work towards the good of all their LOs and not focus so much on their personal production.

    Academy Mortgage Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Senior Manager, Integrated Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. We appreciate all you do for Academy.


Showing 377 of 379 reviews
Reset Filters