Academy Sports + Outdoors Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Academy Sports + Outdoors President & CEO JK Symancyk (no image)
JK Symancyk
389 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Team leads take their job a little too serious(in 81 reviews)

  • "Long hours on your feet with only one break(in 63 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Team Sports Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time

    Pros

    Good management and decent pay

    Cons

    Some fellow employees are lazy

    Continue reading
    Academy Sports + Outdoors2019-11-11
  2. "summer job"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time

    Pros

    nice environment, friendly co workers

    Cons

    typical retail, closing as a "team" meant you couldnt leave until the every department was ready

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-06-05
  3. "A good place to work for retail"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hunting/Fishing Associate in Denham Springs, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A mostly laid-back work enviroment where the team leaders and managers promote a friendly work place.

    Cons

    Not too many cons, other than staying late on the closing shift.

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-25
  4. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time

    Pros

    Entry-level experience, easygoing workplace as long as you do your job. Very amenable about scheduling.

    Cons

    You are not allowed to drink from a water bottle in view of customers.

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-22
  5. "I worked here during college. I liked everything about the culture other than it got too busy."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team, Pay, upper management, schedule, breaks

    Cons

    rude customers, gets too busy

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-21
  6. "Unmotivated environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outdoor Enthusiast 

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work in the fields you enjoy

    Cons

    Unmotivated workers and management argued all the time

    Continue reading
    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-19
  7. "Typical stressful retail environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Director in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Challenging environment, fast pace and fun customer experience

    Cons

    Outdated company infrastructure to support sales volume and growth

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-28
  8. "Team Sports"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time

    Pros

    Discounts, but other than that there is much to be desired

    Cons

    The management at the store was very dysfunctional and seemed to just be down right rude for no reason.

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-28
  9. "Good job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Equipment Operator in Katy, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Academy Sports + Outdoors full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of overtime opportunities

    Cons

    Hourly pay is too low

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-13
  10. "Decent place to work for seasonal or part time. Would not want to be stuck there forever"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Cashier Team Lead in Waco, TX

    I worked at Academy Sports + Outdoors part-time

    Pros

    Discount alright, made good friends

    Cons

    Customers can be very difficult.

    Academy Sports + Outdoors2020-05-27
Found 2277 reviews