Academy of Art University Reviews | Glassdoor

Academy of Art University Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 459 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Academy of Art University CEO Elisa Stephens
Elisa Stephens
255 Ratings
Pros
  • "Locations are all over San Francisco(in 22 reviews)

  • "The industrial design department faculty is composed of great people too(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management is very insecure -- lots of useless politics being played all over(in 37 reviews)

  • "bad communication down from mgmt, pessimistic work environment, lots of turnover, micro-managing, long hours(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Academy of Art University part-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    * Learn from & rub elbows with top experts in various artistic fields * Meet up-and-coming artists from all over the world * Enjoy an bustling work environment downtown

    Cons

    * With a scattered, urban campus, it can be difficult to feel a sense of connection at times.

    Academy of Art University2019-04-15
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Student Services Advisor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy of Art University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I have been working with the Academy for almost 2 year and in that time my hard work and dedication has been noticed and praised. I recently applied for a promotion and I was successfully chosen, I appreciate working where hard work is rewarded and recognized!

    Cons

    Health insurance is expensive if needed for a family.

    Academy of Art University2019-04-26
  3. "It all depends on placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Department Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Academy of Art University full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    My department is great: it's full of passionate staff & faculty who truly care about the students and there educations

    Cons

    This is a for profit university and the higher ups only care about making more money. For themselves.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget you're a school.

    Academy of Art University2019-05-23
  4. "Great stepping stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Undergraduate Admissions Representative in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Academy of Art University full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Learn every aspect of the admissions process (enrollment, registrar, financial aid, etc.) Build valuable communication skills

      Cons

      Very sales-y position Coworkers like to gossip

      Academy of Art University2019-05-08
    • "Student Services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Academy of Art University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very consistent work schedule everyday.

      Cons

      Not a lot of opportunity to grow within the Academy.

      Advice to Management

      To create a more inviting team environment. To also further discussions about holistic student development.

      Academy of Art University2019-05-02
    • "Cool"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Academy of Art University full-time

        Pros

        Work was easy people there was cool

        Cons

        Boring and no advancement

        Academy of Art University2019-05-01
      • "Call call call"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Student Services Advisor in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Academy of Art University full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        You don't take your work home with you

        Cons

        You are only evaluated on the amount o time you spend on the phone. No real qualitative feedback

        Academy of Art University2019-05-02
      • Helpful (1)

        "Not the best place to work -- maybe if you need experience?"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Student Services Advisor in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Academy of Art University full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        -Pay isn't terrible -Free class per semester (which is great if you can make time for it) -Great software -Nice facilities that you get to tour when you've just started -Great discounts -Accessible by BART and MUNI, right at Civic Center since I worked at the building on Hayes -A lot of the students I spoke with are really great people

        Cons

        -Student retention is difficult for them because of how expensive tuition is for students. -Management claims to care about students, but really only care about retaining them in order to keep their accreditation (which was on the rocks when I was there). -Management trains advisors to push students who can't afford it to enroll in courses and they really push hard to meet summer enrollment goals. I felt more like an...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        -Focus on advising instead of sales techniques and make it a student-focused environment. Students can really tell the difference. -Stop treating staff like they're machines and have flexible work schedules available. If advisors are happy, they'll love being there, and spread those positive vibes to their students. -Make it feel less like telemarketing and more like an academic institution, I mean, you have two names...

        Show More
        Academy of Art University2019-04-19
      • "A lot of upside"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Online Help Desk 

        I have been working at Academy of Art University full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Been in business a long time

        Cons

        Some departments are really bitter

        Advice to Management

        Too many Directors / chefs in the kitchen, need to let new directors in and place previous on consultant roles

        Academy of Art University2019-04-04
      • "Inefficiently Run Administration"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Academy of Art University

        Pros

        Student Discounts, decent job stability, free class per term.

        Cons

        Sales roles without the commissions Customer Service is basically the SDR Admissions Reps are basically Account Executives Student Advisors are basically Customer Success/Client retention Youre expected to wear multiple hats and for the pay, it just isnt worth it esp not with tech sales openings elsewhere. Coworkers are given runarounds when reaaching year mark for promotions High turnover rate

        Advice to Management

        Budget isnt an excuse. Not when there are private planes going around.

        Academy of Art University2019-04-08
      Found 459 reviews