Acadia Realty Trust Reviews | Glassdoor

Acadia Realty Trust Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Acadia Realty Trust CEO Kenneth F. Bernstein (no image)
Kenneth F. Bernstein
13 Ratings
  1. "Lease Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lease Administrator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great training and company atmosphere

    Cons

    Rye office location is far from ammenities

    Acadia Realty Trust2019-09-23
  2. "Horrible Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust full-time

    Pros

    The location of their office

    Cons

    So many cons that it’s hard to know where to start. The current HR team couldn’t care less about their employees to even smile when they pass you in the hallway. The morale is low throughout the entire office and it feels very negative. The CEO only truly cares about the employees in the acquisitions department and leasing and the rest mean nothing. Overall the company pretends its innovative and collaborative but... it’s not. There is not real room for growth here besides getting more work dumped on you and being told title doesn’t mean anything here.

    Show More
    Acadia Realty Trust2019-03-14

    Acadia Realty Trust Response

    March 20, 2019Vice President Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. We're sorry that your experience at Acadia did not meet your expectations or our intentions. Our goal is to provide a collaborative and inclusive environment for all of our employees. Our HR team is continuously focused on launching new programs to help develop and continuously engage our talent across the entire organization. This year, over 10% of our employees across the company were promoted into new roles. This is pretty significant given our size. Once again, we thank you for your feedback, as we are always looking for ways we can improve.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Dysfunction at the highest levels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rye, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Contemporary office space- investment in technology

    Cons

    Senior Management is very dysfunctional. There is a tremendous amount of back biting among the Senior leadership team that trickles down to the general population. It is almost encouraged by the CEO and CAO. While they give a half hearted attempt at a collegial and collaborative environment it couldn't be any more divisive. Morale is low and the office environment has a very heavy negative energy. Absolutely no... room for growth. It's as if the CEO is intimidated by furthering the careers of very talented professionals. HR support is weak and/or non is existent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    A complete transformation of your leadership is long overdue.

    Acadia Realty Trust2018-12-14

    Acadia Realty Trust Response

    February 20, 2019Vice President Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to hear about your experience. Acadia is committed to creating a comfortable, transparent and collaborative work environment where all employees can grow and build their careers.

  4. "Full time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust full-time

    Pros

    Great and very smart people

    Cons

    NA - a pleasure working here.

    Acadia Realty Trust2018-08-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I truly enjoy working for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Management Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadia Realty Trust full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This was my third full-time job out of college in 16 months and I have currently been with the company for 2 years now. I not only enjoy the work but I work with some of the best people I know! The company takes care of their employees which is why we have a low turnover rate.

    Cons

    I cannot think of anything I would want them to change. Everyone has their days when they don't want to go to work but in the last two years, I have really only had about 3 of those days total!

    Advice to Management

    I would like more opportunities to get involved in the industry outside of the office - even if it would be after office hours.

    Acadia Realty Trust2018-01-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits, Org chart needs a lot of cleaning up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in White Plains, NY

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Great learning experience for new grads / interns.

    Cons

    Very uptight and formal setting. Lots of unhealthy competition. Too many people reporting to an SVP. Needs a lot of organizational structuring. Unnecessarily long work hours

    Acadia Realty Trust2017-07-13
  7. "This Company "Just Gets It!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadia Realty Trust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong belief in Human Capital Fantastic Culture 21st Century Work Space Transparent & Authentic Leaders Believer in work/life balance Passion for developing talent Values: Integrity/Intelligence/Intelligence/Innovation

    Cons

    "Some" senior leaders old school

    Advice to Management

    Continue to push for change at the top, when needed. There have been changes at the senior level, which has been positive as the "old school" leaders retire. Some of the senior leaders are fantastic, and understand the value of Human Capital, and are the glue keeping the company's culture together. Again, others are old school, and simply don't see value in coaching and training their team. This has started to... change as leadership changes, and will only make the company that much better!

    Show More
    Acadia Realty Trust2017-06-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadia Realty Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great chemistry. Everyone gets along well. Very casual environment. Flexible work schedules. Everyone has the ability to work remotely if they need to and are given new laptop tablet PCs to do so. Plenty of cool programs like Wellness, Yoga and after work boot camp with professional trainers. Every month they celebrate that month's birthdays with cake and there are yearly ping pong tournaments. Young... employees who excel in their roles are quickly noticed and often promoted. Company seems very stable. Senior managers have been around a long time with some retiring soon.

    Show More

    Cons

    none at the present time.

    Acadia Realty Trust2016-10-11
  9. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Asset Management in Rye, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust

    Pros

    Great office culture with personal interaction with all senior vice presidents and executives. Overall a great experience.

    Cons

    Work load was lacking at sometimes during the internship, but overall projects were very involved and mimicked those associates were working on at the time.

    Acadia Realty Trust2016-09-08
  10. "Ok if you know what you are doing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acadia Realty Trust full-time

    Pros

    People were nice and supportive, had quite a few close friends, work was interesting

    Cons

    Better know what you are doing, probably not the best if you need guidance or just get started in your career

    Acadia Realty Trust2016-04-27
Found 17 reviews