Acadian Ambulance Service Reviews | Glassdoor

Acadian Ambulance Service Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 118 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Richard Zuschlag
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "NEMSA may not be the best paramedic school but maybe its the cheapest(in 9 reviews)

  • "The company is employee owned so you can invest in company stocks after you have been with he company for a year(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "I would like to see a more comprehensive and open dispatch policy(in 13 reviews)

  • "cares more about billing patients than patient care quality(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FLIGHT PARAMEDIC/CCT PARAMEDIC in Ruston, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service part-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    great pay compared to the previous company. part time personnel qualify for 401K/ESOP if they work enough hours. you will get out of the company the effort you put in

    Cons

    continuing education classes such as ACLS PALS or BLS renewal are not offered internally, however in our area there are plenty of instructor to get these through

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-05-02
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Most complacent work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT-Basic in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of hours Plethora of supervisors East access to guidelines and handbook

    Cons

    "Someone else's problem" mentality across the entire board Unreliable schedule Seems to run by what works and not by hard set rules or guidelines (cutting corners)

    Advice to Management

    Hold everyone accountable for their actions, inventory, required uniforms, and unit appearance. Get rid of the ideology of "not my job" by whatever means

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-05-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Learn To Promote Based Off Talent And Not Preference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paramedic 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    ESOP is probably the only thing they have going right now

    Cons

    Too big to manage Decentralized Leadership Promotes based of friendship and time at company not talent or merit Pay is lacking Work life balance sucks

    Advice to Management

    Learn to hire and promote the right people. Just because you have worked there 20+ years doesn't mean you know how to be a leader. You have baby sitters and supervisors not leaders. Promoting because you like the way she looks or because you are friends is no way to run a company.

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-04-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience, easy burnout."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT-PARAMEDIC in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of overtime opportunities, friendly and close-knit environment amongst employees, decent pay for the area, slightly more 911 emergency calls over transfers, mostly rural service area with longer transport times, many available hospitals to transport to, great experience for those new to EMS.

    Cons

    High focus on profit, overbearing management, getting off shift late relatively often, poor dispatch planning, high inter-facility transfer volume, little downtime, management and dispatch are not often empathetic to crews, EMTs have very limited scope of practice and too much unnecessary responsibility is placed on paramedics.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and treat them fairly. Running your crews into the ground and then requesting they work more OT is unfair and dangerous. Make a real effort to put employees over profit, and learn to praise your employees more often than you scold them. Remember that your experience in the field is different than how it is now, and take that into account. Stock ownership and small gifts for safety scores aren’t...

    Show More
    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-03-16
  5. "A steady well defined position with growth opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paramedic in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    I appreciate working here for many reasons they are the pay, the ESOP, the chance for advancement, and the stability of a large private ambulance service. The pay is the highest I have received in my career, but, believe you me you work for it. The ESOP is employee stock option program, basically I own a piece of the company. This gives me great pride in my working enviroment, my equipment, and my customers. Since...

    Show More

    Cons

    I would like to see a more comprehensive and open dispatch policy. I would like to see a more complete IT department. (Maybe move them out of the home office into a regional or roaming type situation.) I would like to see some moral improvements.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, listen to your employees, and keep us on track. Stop worrying about the budget and focus on moral.

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-02-23
  6. "A unique experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Critical Care Paramedic in West Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Not micromanaged, Payed well, Nice equipment compared to other ambulance services.

    Cons

    Can not be late but are expected to stay late at a moments notice. Sometimes it is not the company's fault but sometimes it is.

    Advice to Management

    Dispatch should not be as powerful as they are.

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-02-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Horrid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Critical Care Paramedic in Baton Rouge, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service

    Pros

    Overtime readily available and multiple locations. If you're an lsu fan you can pick up games

    Cons

    Management will speak down to you as though you are a child. There is no respect for females by management. In general, it is an environment that is very detrimental to mental health and poor morale abounds. Pay is criminally low.

    Advice to Management

    Start treating your employees like assets instead of children

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-03-21
  8. "Great coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and plenty of overtime

    Cons

    Low pay scale, long hours

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-02-04
  9. "Great Company, Upper management out of touch with field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paramedic Field Supervisor in Lafayette, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    GREAT RETIREMENT. Employee owned company. Decent health insurance. Yearly raises. Plenty of room for advancement in career as well as the opportunity to work in other divisions such as offshore, dispatch, airmed, etc.

    Cons

    upper management is severely out of touch with the field, many have not seen the back of an ambulance in over 20 years, sometimes push for unrealistic expectations.

    Advice to Management

    Get back in touch with working in the field, times have changed, it's not 1971 anymore.

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-01-19
  10. "great career opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Acadian Ambulance Service full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    If you start out with the company as an EMT or Paramedic and want to move up in leadership, there are plenty of opportunities

    Cons

    some areas aren't primarily 911

    Acadian Ambulance Service2019-01-03
Found 118 reviews