Acadian Asset Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Acadian Asset Management Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
81%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Acadian Asset Management CEO John Chisholm and Ross Dowd
John Chisholm and Ross Dowd
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Yes & Nos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Asset Management full-time

    Pros

    Acadian offers great benefits & peaks.

    Cons

    Growing fast and suffering from lost of transparency as well inability to see when bad decisions were made on projects and sticking to them rather than cutting loses.

    Advice to Management

    If turnover is high in a group - maybe look at management and stop assuming it's just chance.

    Acadian Asset Management2017-09-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "OK company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Asset Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good pay, vacations 4 weeks, benefits health medical dental vision

    Cons

    long hours work culture, too much politics, no work life balance

    Acadian Asset Management2017-09-29
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Asset Management full-time

    Pros

    Good growth and career opportunities

    Cons

    Not much to fill in here

    Advice to Management

    Doing Good

    Acadian Asset Management2017-07-27
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Best place that I have ever worked!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Asset Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Management really cares about developing employees, both personally and professionally - Open and welcoming learning environment where people are encouraged to learn for the sake of it, not pressured to stay in lane - Kind and compassionate coworkers, most with a solid sense of humor - Colleagues have a genuine interest in quantitative investments and coding - Lots of company, department, and team social... events with great food and drink. Did I mention the time they took everyone and their families one of the swankiest ski resorts in northern Vermont? They don't mess around. They want you to be colleagues and friends across the company, and they make it fun and tasty!

    Show More

    Cons

    -As with any finance company, there are those who engage in ego wrestling matches and make their advances at others' expense -Some people forget that it is small shop, team effort that makes Acadian special and try to steer the company in the direction of becoming just another Boston Brahmin investment company

    Advice to Management

    Stay Acadian. Don't be like the rest of these Boston finance/investment companies. You do you.

    Acadian Asset Management2017-02-21
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great boutique investment firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wellesley, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Asset Management full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Firm management cares about employees. Employees have career development / growth opportunities. High quality firm with good long-term investment results and positive market reputation. Firm culture is achievement oriented but collegial and supportive.

    Cons

    Hard to move from some functions to others (say operations to investment research). Firm is still dependent on equity strategies so firm growth, and employee growth opportunities, can be cyclical.

    Acadian Asset Management2016-10-26
  6. "Performance and Attribution Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Acadian Asset Management

    Pros

    Acadian is a great company. The people I worked with were very friendly and I leaned a lot.

    Cons

    Nothing in particular that I didn't like

    Acadian Asset Management2016-10-31
  7. "Good People - No Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Acadian Asset Management full-time

    Pros

    Smart people to work with

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth

    Acadian Asset Management2016-05-31
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Asset Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Team environment, Acadian takes care of its employees with little perks, they pay for graduate school I believe if you stay there for a certain amount of time

    Cons

    Quantitative firm gives it a much different feel than a traditional asset manager. Different learning curve and lots of coding. If you like finance and coding its a perfect place to be but

    Advice to Management

    No advice great management

    Acadian Asset Management2016-04-20
  9. "It was a good learning experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Systems Engineer Intern in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acadian Asset Management for less than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work, Friendly people.

    Cons

    None that i can remember

    Acadian Asset Management2016-03-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acadian Asset Management full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Culture of meritocracy, transparency, innovation. Even as a very junior employee, I felt valued. They take their responsibilities to clients very seriously.

    Cons

    Sometimes too many decisions are made by committee, and every meeting has 20 people which makes it tough to get stuff done.

    Acadian Asset Management2016-02-15
Found 28 reviews