Acceleration Partners Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Acceleration Partners Senior Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Not your typical agency!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    AP has one of the best and most transparent cultures I have seen in my career. The senior leadership is completely approachable and extremely focused on creating an environment that is challeging, but also rewarding for it's employees. The company is 100% remote (work from home), however, the business has been bulit from the ground up with this in mind and goes the extra mile to make the connections betweeen teams and other colleages as strong as within a traditional office environment. The culture promotes hard work, celebrates wins, and is open and honest about challenges and areas for personal and professional improvement.

    Cons

    Working remotely can be a great fit for some, but certainly not for all. It does require discipline and focus, as well as a higher level of autonomy than most jobs. The fast pace is that of a typical agency, which can be very rewarding but also very challenging at times. One has to truly focus on their own personal and professional development in order to achieve the optimal work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2020-01-31
  2. "Easily the Best Company I've Ever Worked At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is an incredible perk and I love the autonomy and trust that AP has in its employees. Everyone is extremely friendly, dedicated, and always focused on improving personally and professionally. Leadership is among the best I've ever seen.

    Cons

    None that I can think of. AP is a unique company in that regard.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2020-01-06
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing! We are all given a ton of flexibility to own our personal and professional schedules to get our work done. Although we are all remote, I have never felt more connected to a team. Everyone is smart, dedicated and extremely supportive of one another - everyone truly wants to see you succeed. We invest in a lot of training, both internally and externally, for our employees and want to be sure that they are set-up for success starting on day 1. This is key to expanding upon the strong teams that we have today. AP believes in transparency at all levels and it shows. The leadership team shares a lot of information with employees from client updates to our financials and it is such a benefit for employees to hear from them directly. The last thing I will say is our core values make us the successful organization we are today. We hire with the goal that all new employees not only understand what they mean, but will live and breathe them starting on day 1. You will hear everyone - from employees to management - reference our values on a daily basis.

    Cons

    No true cons at this point. The teams are great, and I enjoy the fast paced environment that others have listed.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-10-01
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Affiliate Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Acceleration Partners has continued to be a great place to work for myself and many other team members. A few of the pros that are valuable to me are: - Transparent leadership that is driven to grow the company and our people - An amazing portfolio of clients that includes some of the world's biggest brands - The work-from-home set up allows me the ability to cut out the noise while also having a great work/life balance - Huge growth opportunities for those who want it and add value to the organization - An amazing group of people that I get to work with on a daily basis. We hold each other accountable and as a result, we drive results - The ability to provide feedback in a judgment-free zone that I can see is implemented to help increase team member happiness

    Cons

    There aren't a ton of downsides for me when it comes to working at AP. If you're a core value fit, I think you will thrive at AP. However, before accepting a role, I'd encourage you to look in the mirror and determine if you think your personal beliefs align with that of the company. While it's great to work from home, that joy will quickly go away if you're not ready to work as hard as you've ever worked. As such, a few of the cons related to working at AP are: - An extremely fast-paced environment that requires you to prioritize effectively - A lot of ambiguity and times where things are not clearly defined. Because of that, you need to be willing to take the ball and run with things and be comfortable not knowing the answers to everything

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Acceleration Partners Alum, Family Member for Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I spent approximately four years at Acceleration Partners before leaving to pursue an incredible opportunity at a large tech company (which came my way via the CEO of Acceleration Partners, Robert Glazer). During my tenure at AP, I learned invaluable lessons, experienced tremendous growth both personally and professionally, and was provided with the guidance and tools I needed to be successful. The culture is amazing, the employees are some of the smartest in the industry, and the quality of the work is second to none. The company truly is one of a kind and it all starts at the top with CEO Robert Glazer. The late Al Davis, (past owner) of the Oakland Raiders who never lost touch with those who left the franchise for new beginnings coined the following: "Once a Raider, Always a Raider. I personally feel the same is true of AP. While working for the company it felt like I was part of a large family, and even after leaving the company I have found that to remain true. I am regularly invited to AP networking events in the area, and keep in touch with many past and current employees. I truly value all that AP has given, and continues to give me and I'm grateful to be a part of the extended AP family.

    Cons

    Wish the culture would spread to other companies.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-09-05
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Depends on the team you're assigned to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time

    Pros

    - WFH is convenient - Talented, intelligent coworkers are easy to come by - Positive and progressive company culture - Exposure to large clients and brand names - Great learning opportunities and team-building opportunities, as well as cross-team collaboration on ad hoc projects - Leadership for the most part, really does value work-life integration and they make a point of rewarding employees for taking time off to disconnect, organizing social events for employees that live near each other, etc. That's really appreciated.

    Cons

    - As other reviews mentioned, there's a big problem with some micromanaging within the company. It's very degrading to have to send your director your email drafts prior to sending to the client, then have every little word picked over by someone that thinks their way is the only way. Especially at a Sr. Manager level. I've never experienced this in other companies. - While I'm aware that certain clients are paying a lot of money for our services, I don't think that qualifies them to treat their account teams like their own personal secretaries. But when your director has set that standard, it's hard to push back against late working nights and ridiculous requests with nearly impossible turnaround times - The company offers raffle prizes for reviews so I feel like I was possibly misled by some of the glowing reviews. It seems like many are written quickly and without much detail, and list the same pros and cons over and over, almost verbatim. That's fine if you just want to win a raffles, but consider pointing out true pros and cons and stop just reiterating "fast-paced environment and work from home may not be for everyone". I know I would have appreciated a little more specific examples of cons like I've mentioned above, because I know I'm not the first to experience these.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-01-30

    Acceleration Partners Response

    October 4, 2019CEO

    Thank you very much for your time in sending us a review. We know it has been a while since you left this review, but we received similar feedback recently and we wanted to take the time to respond to you as well and reply to where we can do better. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable experience with your team manager and I hope this is improving at the time of writing this. Our teams and our people depend on strong leaders and managers at all levels of the organization. The reality is that we have many new managers as we continue to promote and invest in our own people, which can be a double-edged sword. We heard your feedback and knew this was something we wanted to tackle, so we took on many Leadership and Management Initiatives this year. We launched our Global Leadership and Management Standards, an open performance measurement system for manager effectiveness, offsite retreats for leadership development for our Director level leaders, and even small group forums for management training. To have the best people we are committed to our core value of Excel & Improve and improving our infrastructure to support the growing needs for leadership and management training as we continue to grow and promote from within. I hope you are happy with the changes we have made in the last 6 months and those that will continue to come in the future. And if not, please make sure to let us know in Tinypulse so that we can continue to address the root issues. Many awards submission have long surveys and have participation thresholds to qualify and we recognize that these are time consuming for employees. In the past we have encouraged companywide participation through a raffle, which is 100% on the honor system, none of the data is seen by our team. You can win the raffle if you left a negative review and we would never know. With respect to the similarities in comments, I think that has more to do with our level of authenticity. Employees and prospective employees should want to work here for the right reasons, not a false perception. Working in client services, in a very fast pace company with constant change and remotely from home can be hard and is not right for everyone. We believe the reviews are often similar because we’ve done a good job at creating a consistent, global, and remote culture. We hire, reward, incentivize, and promote on the same core values and operating principles throughout the organization. The result is that most people do not get widely different experiences We believe this is a good thing as it shows that we say what we do, it does not mean we are the right choice for everyone. We feel that there are a good mix of reviews here and hope that most employees are not writing in haste, but with the goal to really give insight to future employees and clients about AP. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and providing us the feedback. We need feedback to improve the experiences for all of our employees and your voice makes a difference.

    Continue reading
  7. "A Great and Motivating Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AP has been a great place to work from day 1. It starts with the incredible training program and continues on from there. The best talent in the industry works here which allows for knowledge sharing and thought leadership. The leadership team is always transparent and implements feedback and change for the betterment of the company when possible. There is a clear growth path and trajectory for each person in their role which allows for an even playing field and clear next steps for individuals looking to get to the next level.

    Cons

    A work from home/remote environment isn't for everyone. This would be something to consider prior to accepting the job. With the fast growth, your workload will be very full and a lot will be expected of you, things are ever changing which could be a pro for some but a con for others.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2018-09-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working with Acceleration Partners for under 2 years and I'm so grateful to be working here. I've been given so many amazing opportunities to elevate myself and grow within the company. I've also been able to work internationally. There are amazing client accounts to work on and I love my colleagues. It hardly feels like a remote job when the people you work with are so great and fun to connect with.

    Cons

    Work can be challenging but will help you grow professionally.

    Acceleration Partners2018-03-30
  9. "Sr. Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked in many different agencies and AP is a place like no other. Expectations and accountability are clear and everyone truly lives and breathes through the company core values. Quality of work is valued above hours spent working, and the concept of owning your calendar is always reiterated. We are held to high work standards and most people perform at a super star level. This is all possible due to the thoughtful and transparent leadership team, who lead by example, and make themselves accessible to the greater team. AP leadership puts emphasis on the importance of setting and achieving not only your professional goals, but also your personal life goals. Most importantly, the culture at AP across all employees, is extremely supportive and team oriented. The energy is positive and people are always willing to step in and help if you raise your hand. While working from home may be difficult for some, AP has done a great job of really integrating the teams and connecting people in a way that makes working from home not feel isolating at all. I’ve built great relationships with team members and have made connections with people on our team from all across the country. There is no other place likes this and I feel fortunate to be part of this exceptional company.

    Cons

    Like any client services job, workload is pretty demanding and can be stressful. However, managers and directors are always willing to step in and help prioritize, identify ways to better manage time, and help employees figure out more efficient ways to get their work done. Regardless, there is a fair amount of time when working a few hours in the evening is necessary as days can be meeting heavy, even when you do your best to own your calendar and plan your time. This is pretty typical of any agency, but the difference is, we have flexibility during the day when needed and it is OK to leave and go to the gym, run errands, go trick or treating with your kids, and do whatever else you need to do to help you be mentally present and happy both at work and in your personal life.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2018-02-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "AP = Innovation, Knowledge and Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Upper Management is VERY transparent Hardest working and most knowledgeable employees in the affiliate industry Work/Life Integration Very motivating managers with a wealth of knowledge and experience Open Time Off Policy All employees are very outgoing, welcoming and friendly so less cliques sometimes seen in other companies

    Cons

    Working from home isn't for everyone. Like any client services position it can get stressful at times with some clients being more demanding than others

    Acceleration Partners2017-10-20
Found 15 reviews