Acceleration Partners "fast paced" Reviews | Glassdoor

Acceleration Partners Employee Reviews about "fast paced"

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.9
Pros
  • "The work-from-home set up allows me the ability to cut out the noise while also having a great work/life balance(in 52 reviews)

  • "Bob and the leadership team have created an culture that truly fosters growth, both personally and professionally(in 36 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working from home is amazing but don't assume it's a cushy job(in 57 reviews)

  • "It's an agency, so it is fast-paced, which might not be for some(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "fast paced"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    AP is an incredible company where you get to work with wonderful people and in an environment that cares about your personal and professional growth. Working from home allows you to have a great work/life balance!

    Cons

    It's an agency, so it is fast-paced, which might not be for some. You have to make the time in the day for yourself and learn to balance your work and life. The capability to have a great work/life balance is there, but you must actively do it yourself otherwise it can be all-consuming.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-11-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "If you're a core value fit - this place is the best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Strategist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team at AP is very authentic and passionate and that comes from the top. Bob truly wants everyone to elevate and achieve their maximum potential both at work and in their personal life. Standards are high and we are constantly pushed to take ownership of our success. If you have this type of mindset, then you will do well here. If you work here, you will be better, you will achieve more in your life, you will grow as a person and you will experience a unique culture. I've worked at other agencies and this is truly a special place.

    Cons

    Like any agency, AP is fast paced and the workload can be intense. If you're going the agency route then this is something you have to accept and expect. Also, people who are not a true core value fit don't typically thrive in this environment. You really are held very accountable for your work, it's impossible to BS your way through it and it will be quickly noted if you're not meeting expectations. Working from home is amazing but don't assume it's a cushy job. This is the hardest job I've ever had, but it's hard to imagine working anywhere else.

    Acceleration Partners2019-10-08
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is amazing! We are all given a ton of flexibility to own our personal and professional schedules to get our work done. Although we are all remote, I have never felt more connected to a team. Everyone is smart, dedicated and extremely supportive of one another - everyone truly wants to see you succeed. We invest in a lot of training, both internally and externally, for our employees and want to be sure that they are set-up for success starting on day 1. This is key to expanding upon the strong teams that we have today. AP believes in transparency at all levels and it shows. The leadership team shares a lot of information with employees from client updates to our financials and it is such a benefit for employees to hear from them directly. The last thing I will say is our core values make us the successful organization we are today. We hire with the goal that all new employees not only understand what they mean, but will live and breathe them starting on day 1. You will hear everyone - from employees to management - reference our values on a daily basis.

    Cons

    No true cons at this point. The teams are great, and I enjoy the fast paced environment that others have listed.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-10-01
  4. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Affiliate Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Acceleration Partners has continued to be a great place to work for myself and many other team members. A few of the pros that are valuable to me are: - Transparent leadership that is driven to grow the company and our people - An amazing portfolio of clients that includes some of the world's biggest brands - The work-from-home set up allows me the ability to cut out the noise while also having a great work/life balance - Huge growth opportunities for those who want it and add value to the organization - An amazing group of people that I get to work with on a daily basis. We hold each other accountable and as a result, we drive results - The ability to provide feedback in a judgment-free zone that I can see is implemented to help increase team member happiness

    Cons

    There aren't a ton of downsides for me when it comes to working at AP. If you're a core value fit, I think you will thrive at AP. However, before accepting a role, I'd encourage you to look in the mirror and determine if you think your personal beliefs align with that of the company. While it's great to work from home, that joy will quickly go away if you're not ready to work as hard as you've ever worked. As such, a few of the cons related to working at AP are: - An extremely fast-paced environment that requires you to prioritize effectively - A lot of ambiguity and times where things are not clearly defined. Because of that, you need to be willing to take the ball and run with things and be comfortable not knowing the answers to everything

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-09-30
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Depends on the team you're assigned to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time

    Pros

    - WFH is convenient - Talented, intelligent coworkers are easy to come by - Positive and progressive company culture - Exposure to large clients and brand names - Great learning opportunities and team-building opportunities, as well as cross-team collaboration on ad hoc projects - Leadership for the most part, really does value work-life integration and they make a point of rewarding employees for taking time off to disconnect, organizing social events for employees that live near each other, etc. That's really appreciated.

    Cons

    - As other reviews mentioned, there's a big problem with some micromanaging within the company. It's very degrading to have to send your director your email drafts prior to sending to the client, then have every little word picked over by someone that thinks their way is the only way. Especially at a Sr. Manager level. I've never experienced this in other companies. - While I'm aware that certain clients are paying a lot of money for our services, I don't think that qualifies them to treat their account teams like their own personal secretaries. But when your director has set that standard, it's hard to push back against late working nights and ridiculous requests with nearly impossible turnaround times - The company offers raffle prizes for reviews so I feel like I was possibly misled by some of the glowing reviews. It seems like many are written quickly and without much detail, and list the same pros and cons over and over, almost verbatim. That's fine if you just want to win a raffles, but consider pointing out true pros and cons and stop just reiterating "fast-paced environment and work from home may not be for everyone". I know I would have appreciated a little more specific examples of cons like I've mentioned above, because I know I'm not the first to experience these.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2019-01-30

    Acceleration Partners Response

    October 4, 2019CEO

    Thank you very much for your time in sending us a review. We know it has been a while since you left this review, but we received similar feedback recently and we wanted to take the time to respond to you as well and reply to where we can do better. I am sorry to hear that you had a less than desirable experience with your team manager and I hope this is improving at the time of writing this. Our teams and our people depend on strong leaders and managers at all levels of the organization. The reality is that we have many new managers as we continue to promote and invest in our own people, which can be a double-edged sword. We heard your feedback and knew this was something we wanted to tackle, so we took on many Leadership and Management Initiatives this year. We launched our Global Leadership and Management Standards, an open performance measurement system for manager effectiveness, offsite retreats for leadership development for our Director level leaders, and even small group forums for management training. To have the best people we are committed to our core value of Excel & Improve and improving our infrastructure to support the growing needs for leadership and management training as we continue to grow and promote from within. I hope you are happy with the changes we have made in the last 6 months and those that will continue to come in the future. And if not, please make sure to let us know in Tinypulse so that we can continue to address the root issues. Many awards submission have long surveys and have participation thresholds to qualify and we recognize that these are time consuming for employees. In the past we have encouraged companywide participation through a raffle, which is 100% on the honor system, none of the data is seen by our team. You can win the raffle if you left a negative review and we would never know. With respect to the similarities in comments, I think that has more to do with our level of authenticity. Employees and prospective employees should want to work here for the right reasons, not a false perception. Working in client services, in a very fast pace company with constant change and remotely from home can be hard and is not right for everyone. We believe the reviews are often similar because we’ve done a good job at creating a consistent, global, and remote culture. We hire, reward, incentivize, and promote on the same core values and operating principles throughout the organization. The result is that most people do not get widely different experiences We believe this is a good thing as it shows that we say what we do, it does not mean we are the right choice for everyone. We feel that there are a good mix of reviews here and hope that most employees are not writing in haste, but with the goal to really give insight to future employees and clients about AP. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and providing us the feedback. We need feedback to improve the experiences for all of our employees and your voice makes a difference.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "AP is the Real Deal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time

    Pros

    I can't express how thankful I am to be able to work at company like AP. Being someone who came from an agency where inputs/hours worked were valued over results, and no value or support was given to employees, AP is a dream. The biggest pros are the culture, commitment to core values, and trust that AP gives its employees. Our clients are top notch and the work we do is changing the industry, as well as how people view work/life balance. There is no other company, in my opinion, that cares about its employees and clients the way AP does.

    Cons

    Not a con for me, but like many reviews have mentioned this is a growing agency and the work is fast paced. If you are a person who cracks easily under pressure and can't prioritize/balance work load you will have a hard time succeeding here. Folks who are looking for an easy WFH job with unlimited vacation time should not apply. We hold each other to high standards and are radically candid in our feedback, if you can't work well under those conditions you won't have much fun at AP.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2018-12-12
  7. Helpful (9)

    "The BEST Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seriously, AP is the absolute best place to work. I have never worked at another company who genuinely cares for the well-beings of their employees, both professionally and personally, as people beyond the employee. The work we do, while often demanding and challenging, is exciting and inspiring and pushes you to to continue learning and growing. From the top down, AP's employees are all superstars - every here is genuine and thoughtful, functioning a team and here to support one another day in and day out.

    Cons

    These cons are not true cons per se, but rather an aspect of the company that potential applicants should know about. The culture at AP is outstanding, the work we do is challenging and my colleagues are the best; HOWEVER it is a fast-paced environment, and both expectations and standards are high. To be successful here you have to be highly self-motivated, organized, as well as able to proactively juggle a lot of priorities at any given time. The work from home environment is a huge benefit, however it does not equate to a cushy couch job--we work, and work hard.

    Acceleration Partners2018-10-26
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Amazing place to work but with a few bad apples"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time

    Pros

    Amazing Culture with top notch leadership team. Working from home Mostly great co-workers Top rated training

    Cons

    AP's culture is amazing but with the rapid growth some of it seems to be getting diluted and is not trickling down. People left recently due to issues with managers or their teams. Like another reviewer mentioned, a lot of managers are completely micro-managing their teams with every piece of communication requiring a million edits. In a fast paced agency environment that can have a big impact on moral and productivity. Your success at the company is also impacted by the team/accounts and managers that you get assigned to. Optics and being able to magnify what you do is also sometimes rewards much more than pure performance.

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2018-11-21

    Acceleration Partners Response

    November 27, 2018Chief Client Officer

    Thank you very much for the feedback, we love hearing from our employees and it’s something we always take seriously. I am understanding of your concerns and I would like to address some of those to hopefully put them into context. Please note that I am not commenting directly about any of our recent departures and this is a general reply based on your noted concerns of micromanagement and some managers requiring a million little edits. As many other reviewers have noted, we strive to be an outcome based culture and to allow individuals flexibility in how they achieve required outcomes. At the same time, it is also important that we maintain high quality standards to ensure a consistent client service experience as that is a major reason clients choose AP. In other words, we have flexibility in how we get to the end result, however the quality of the client deliverable is fixed at a certain standard regardless of how one got there. People management not does come naturally to most people and requires training to improve this skill, thank you for your comment on our training program! With that said, we are working closely with our new managers on the importance of coaching and setting standards using our Client Service Methodology rather than feeling like they have to regularly check work themselves. In cases where deliverables are not meeting AP standards, our managers do need to intervene to coach their teams and ensure the client is getting the best result/service possible. The hope is that this is temporary, as this level of manager involvement is not sustainable, and that goes in both directions. It’s very possible that some of these situations you describe, where individuals may have felt or are feeling micromanagement, is related to client deliverable standards. If this is not the case and there is truly a micromanagement issue, we/I encourage individuals who aren’t finding AP or their manager to be the best fit, to bring their concerns to a member of our talent team or to any leaders at AP. We have historically found that when this happens, we’re able to find a positive outcome for all parties. In regards to the recent departures, while we aim for each of our employees to thrive in our environment, we recognize that this is not always possible and always try to get to the root of the problem openly and honestly. We are proud of the open dialog we have with employees and our Mindful Transition program where we support employees in finding a new role (internal or external), allow them to interview, provide career coaching and more.

    Continue reading
  9. "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Kingston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing culture, inspiring leadership, endless growth opportunity

    Cons

    Fast paced environment with a lot of work. Not necessarily a con, but not a workplace for anyone not looking to work hard

    Continue reading
    Acceleration Partners2018-10-16
  10. "Flexible, Fast-Paced Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acceleration Partners full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is the way of the future and AP has mastered the art. Additionally, AP is the hub of all affiliate knowledge and allows you to work with many different kinds of clients to help you grow in your career.

    Cons

    It is very busy and fast-paced. You must be self-aware and dedicated in order to succeed.

    Acceleration Partners2018-10-10
Viewing 1 - 10 of 21 Reviews