Acceleron Pharma Reviews

Updated Apr 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Acceleron Pharma President and CEO Habib Dable
Habib Dable
15 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    A great company and culture

    Apr 7, 2021 - Senior Process Engineer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company looks to make employees feel invested and enthusiastic about the programs. The benefits are beyond most biotech in Cambridge. The 401k package is a 10% match up to $10,000. The health insurance is comprehensive and high quality (i.e. it costs $0 to have a baby). There are yearly equity awards (additional to the employee stock purchase plan) and the company looks for opportunities to reward employees. There is a strong focus on the culture and prior to the pandemic, there were biweekly happy hours, off site events and gatherings quarterly for the families and some parties just for employees. Even during the pandemic committees have hosted events for cooking or art classes and shipped materials to peoples' homes. The company has continually emphasized diversity and inclusion and has increased charitable efforts to include these areas as well as the rare diseases being researched. This message comes from the CEO, who often has breakfast with the employees and attends the fun company events with the rest of the leadership team. Also should add that there is a balanced approach now to telework in addition to onsite activities. The company also provides free parking with its own parking lot or T-passes as well, which in Cambridge is pretty great.

    Cons

    Due to the lean nature of the research and development teams (true of all departments), often employees are working very hard and juggling many balls (wearing many hats?). It is not a good place for people that do not have initiative, want to punch a clock and aren't willing to take on roles. For instance a laboratory employee could find their job entails: multiple molecules at different stages, lab work, manufacturing support, troubleshooting, vendor contacts and outsourcing, project management duties, logistics and materials management as well as bringing in innovative solutions and drug discovery. (which are Pros for career advancement and opportunity) The company is also focused on extremely tight and condensed timelines to execute the vision and can feel off the rails at time to advance programs with breakthrough designation. There is the ability to get burned out.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great culture

    Feb 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CEO and leadership team. Collaborative fun, passionate culture . Truly committed to patients

    Cons

    My experience so far has been amazing here

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    great company

    Dec 27, 2020 - Scientist II in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    inspiration, care, transparent, kindness, team work

    Cons

    I have no idea so far

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company -Rewarding

    Jan 13, 2021 - Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    small company feels like a family culture

    Cons

    growing pains -growing fast, not as diverse

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not an equitable and inclusive work force

    Jan 31, 2021 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can’t think of any. Maybe the science

    Cons

    Not inclusive . Company culture is misrepresented.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    Acceleron Pharma Response

    Manager, Social Media

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. At Acceleron, we understand that there is always room for improvement, and we continually seek ways to better serve our community. In our ongoing commitment to inclusion, diversity, and equity, we prioritize transparency and two-way communication. During our company-wide Town Halls, we celebrate our achievements, highlight growth opportunities, and share the formal and informal feedback that we collect on a regular basis. Notably, we have created an Inclusion and Diversity Council, implemented changes in our hiring processes, training employees on unconscious bias, and increasing our focus on internal development opportunities. We are confident that Acceleron’s strong culture built by open-minded Accelerators will help us continue to make strides towards a more inclusive organization representative of the many different cultures, races, and beliefs of our community. If you have any suggestions to help us better represent our company culture and inclusivity, we’d love to hear them. Ana Marfil, Director, Talent Management, Inclusion and Diversity

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work

    Jan 9, 2021 - Associate Director in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team, work-life balance, company culture

    Cons

    none that come to mind

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Compassionate and Transparent

    Jul 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very positive company outlook right now. Humble management, good work/life balance for a small company (small departments mean fewer people to spread work around, but they do try to keep it reasonable). Lots of effort to keep employees happy and engaged.

    Cons

    Growing so quickly creates some lack of structure. The plus side is that it gives you room to help shape what it should look like moving forward, and Mgmt actively solicits input. But it is a bit disorganized.

    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Loved going to work!

    Sep 16, 2020 - Quality Systems Specialist in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved going to work and being apart of the Acceleron team.

    Cons

    None cons. I loved working for Acceleron.

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Always a blast

    Aug 16, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you want visibility and transparency to do great things, the opportunity is there. Management listens, and if you pull your weight, you're given the chance for development and growth. Underpaid for what my role does at other companies, but hoping that changes as we undergo growth and development. As new people come and others move on to better adventures - we gain new perspective and ideas!

    Cons

    As new people come, and others move on to better adventures - the hiccups and growing pains are expected. Underpaid for my role compared to other companies - understood this is being reassessed internally. I have been offered more $ elsewhere, but Acceleron has earned my loyalty and hard work. Yes, to me, it's that good.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Acceleron Pharma Response

    Acceleron Pharma

    We are happy to hear that you feel acknowledged for your hard work and that you feel you can advance your career with us! Providing a path for growth and a window into how to do it are certainly priorities for us. At Acceleron, we continually benchmark our compensation packages — including salary, bonus, equity, and benefits — against those of our peers, and in a hiring environment as dynamic as this one, that picture can change quite quickly. Please feel free to reach out to me directly should you want to discuss it further. - CHRO

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Nice

    Nov 5, 2019 - Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Nice perks, flexible schedule/WFH policy, nice senior mgmt

    Cons

    Needs better IT infrastructure, hiring too fast getting some weirdos

    2 people found this review helpful

    Acceleron Pharma Response

    We’re happy to hear you are enjoying your time at XLRN and appreciate your feedback! We are growing quickly, and as we do, we will continue to invest in our departments and resourcing. We understand that there is always room for improvement, but we have the utmost confidence in our IT team, our Talent Acquisition team, and our employees. At XLRN we are always looking to hire people who work hard and are committed to helping patients, and there’s nothing weird about that!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with Acceleron Pharma Job Seekers

Research Associate, Cell Biology
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Human Resources Business Partner (HRBP)
Learn About the Job
Senior Associate, Cell Biology
Learn About the Job

Work at Acceleron Pharma? Share Your Experiences

Acceleron Pharma logo
or