Accellion Reviews | Glassdoor

Accellion Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 57 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Yorgen H. Edholm
40 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Their management team is just terrible(in 5 reviews)

  • "I have some concerns over some technological and product management decisions that the company has made(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Accellion full-time

    Pros

    The best of the best.

    Cons

    There are none. None at all.

    Accellion2017-10-18
  2. "Good People, Outdated product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Accellion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are good to work with. good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Missed the boat on being a great company. Catching up with younger companies. Need to look good on paper, not investing in product or people.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in people.

    Accellion2018-01-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wasted time here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Accellion full-time

      Pros

      Got paid to do nothing.

      Cons

      Wasted a few years of my life here feeling like I was doing nothing.

      Accellion2017-10-06
    • Helpful (5)

      "Covfefe"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Account Executive in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Accellion full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Close to the bar at the golf course, to drown your sorrows when realizing you still work here. Don't let the Palo Alto address fool you, this is basically EPA.

      Cons

      Their senior management makes the Trump administration look like a well oiled machine. No structure, no saneness, top down management at it's best. A start up mentally that thinks they are still fresh and relevant.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees and hire better people. Maybe it's too late. Copy what Box and Dropbox seem to be doing. They are killing it!

      Accellion2017-08-09
    • Helpful (1)

      "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Accellion full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good life/work balance Projects reach a wide audience

      Cons

      Not much room for opportunity Very "clicky" culture No way to gauge health of current standing with management Senior management are out to lunch

      Accellion2017-03-06
    • Helpful (13)

      "Twilight zone"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Accellion full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You can pretty much do whatever you want until they do another mass lay off. If you are okay with just your base salary and never making any real money then this is the place for you!

      Cons

      No money to be made. Product has major issues. We didn't come close to our competition. Although our product was good before the change our competition was killing us because they actually knew how to market the product. Horrible HORRIBLE management. Never leading by example. Never ever picking up the phone. I've never heard a manager sell or speak to a customer and I was there for a while.

      Advice to Management

      Same as all the other reviews but it never happens. There was a huge lay off yet again but same managers were left behind, so guess what that means? NOTHING WILL CHANGE! DUHHHHH! The craziest thing is when they let you go and your asked to write a good review about your time here. WHO DOES THAT? #ACCELLION

      Accellion2016-12-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Too little too late"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Accellion for more than a year

      Pros

      Excellent product, great people, great location!

      Cons

      Too little too late, too stressful, employee morale is in the toilet.

      Advice to Management

      Sell.

      Accellion2016-10-18
    • Helpful (6)

      "Not so good except for the flexible schedule"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Accellion full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The only good thing I can say about Accellion is the flexible schedule and the fact that we were able to work from home one day a week on average. Sorry but I cannot think of any other good thing!

      Cons

      Not much room to grow and add work experience. Team work had no meaning in this place and managers were playing favorites all the time. Forget about strategic planning and execution. No wonder this place has such high turn over rate for years. Stay away!

      Advice to Management

      Wake up and change the way you run the business before it too late.

      Accellion2016-08-26
    • "Exciting Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Accellion full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The company is filled with exciting opportunities for people willing to go beyond their defined job scope. Recent changes in leadership are a positive sign for the company going forward. Ping pong table and a beautiful location with gardens, fountains, geese and the bay scenery.

      Cons

      Food can be better. Friday lunches are good, but the pantry is usually filled with junk food otherwise. People need to be more enthusiastic and passionate.

      Accellion2016-07-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Palo Alto, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Accellion full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great, fun to work with engineering team. People are nice and aways ready to help you or answer your questions.

      Cons

      Never in time with release schedule due to over-promising to higher management and customers.

      Advice to Management

      Less unnecessary features, more quality code.

      Accellion2016-07-17
    Found 57 reviews