Access Sciences Reviews | Glassdoor

Access Sciences Reviews

Updated October 24, 2017
19 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Access Sciences President & CEO Steve E. Erickson
Steve E. Erickson
3 Ratings

19 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Solid employer with a good track record."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Solid employer with a good track record, even through challenges of oil and gas cycles. Former CEO Tulek brought much needed positive change such as ESOP, better recruiting, new clients, and many years of profitable growth. Tulek kept the company going while competitors were closing their doors or had to get outside funding to stay alive. Current CEO Erickson is going away from software, and narrowing the strategy, and it is going well. Nice, collegial spirit and culture.

    Cons

    Located in Houston where oil and gas still plays a big role in companies like Access Sciences.
    We can be myopic at times, but that isn't always a bad thing.

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on client excellence and growing our careers.


  2. "Change Management Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Access Sciences full-time

    Pros

    -Good Managers
    - Positive Culture
    - Good Long Term Benefits

    Cons

    - Hire too quickly to fill positions when big consulting contracts come in
    - CEO at the time was concerned about petty things and picked fights with whoever she thought was competing with us.
    - Pay could be better relative to other niche consulting firms

    Advice to Management

    Keep on with what works and keep growing sustainably.

  3. "Opportunity is what you make of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences full-time

    Pros

    Employee-Owned - employees are committed to providing the best services and solutions to clients.
    Room for growth and opportunity to travel

    Cons

    Nothing to report at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to diversify business mix and put employees first.

    Access Sciences Response

    Mar 3, 2017 – Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We think Access Sciences is a great place to work and we continue to make changes for the better.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Once a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Access Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    -Great people to work with.

    Cons

    -Pay was mediocre to say the least.
    -Dependent on the Oil and Gas industries/projects which led to massive layoff of the workforce.
    -Terrible former CEO who drove the company into the ground after trying to go all in on a Microsoft Access-based software.

    Advice to Management

    -Glad to see Steve Erickson in charge, but it may be too late.

    Access Sciences Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We think Access Sciences is still a great place to work and we continue to make changes for the better. Over time, business strategies change and as a result, companies... More


  5. "Amazing company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences (Less than a year)

    Pros

    ASC has flexible work hours and PTO. Full Benefits, 401k. Excellent pay. Great people. I've been with ASC for a cumulative 20 years, over 16 years in my current assignment.

    Cons

    I have no complaints and I've worked with ASC since 1990.

    Access Sciences Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We think Access Sciences is a great place to work and we continue to make changes for the better.


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Awesome people, good work environment.

    Cons

    Can't complain about much with this company

    Access Sciences Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We think Access Sciences is a great place to work and we continue to make changes for the better.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Leadership Committed to Employees' Well-being"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have worked at other consulting firms before and although most of them were concerned about their employees' well being I have never seen a company as transparent, accessible and genuinely invested in providing the best working conditions and support for their people as Access Sciences. Even in hard times the focus has always been to keep people employed and busy with tasks that will enrich them professionally and help the business over time.

    Cons

    The company relies a little too much on the competency of a few seasoned consultants. Methods and job aids exist but are in need of revision to bring them up-to-date with state-of-art thinking and increasing their usefulness for less experienced consultants.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on core competencies and develop tools and methods that can truly be helpful in performing consulting work.

    Access Sciences Response

    Nov 16, 2015 – Vice President

    Thank you for the feedback on the need to update our consulting methods with state-of-the-art thinking and useful tools. There are plans underway to build a Program Management Office to take on the... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly a discouraging environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Access Sciences provides flexibility to work from home or beyond traditional office hours, allowing employees to maintain a healthy work-life balance.

    Cons

    Little room for advancement or job assignment diversification. A positive performance review doesn't necessarily yield a bonus or even a hearty "job well done". Company is employee-owned, yet it seems the employees don't really have visibility into the long-term plan of the company. The atmosphere in the office is highly tense and uncomfortable because people are worried about their job stability.

    Advice to Management

    Utilize an individual's strengths and encourage the employee to identify opportunities for growth and improvement, including training. A collaborative environment is nice until it becomes so collaborative, work progress is delayed or hindered. Share company's vision with employees. Transparency should only increase during difficult economic times.

    Access Sciences Response

    Nov 16, 2015 – Vice President

    Thank you for your frank feedback. We strive for work-life balance to keep our employees happy and healthy. Access Sciences has developed a Consulting Career Model to address your concerns about... More


  9. "Supportive work environment and meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    People work here because they do meaningful work on teams with smart people who are dedicated to their clients. And, we have a friendly and supportive environment!

    Cons

    We used to have more office-wide get-togethers...would love to get those going again.

    Advice to Management

    Remember to have fun at work!

    Access Sciences Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We think Access Sciences is a great place to work and we continue to make changes for the better.


  10. "Supportive Work Environment, Recognizes Talent, Provides Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Current Employee - Manager in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Access Sciences full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The company recognizes talent and provides new opportunities. Management is warm and supportive and encourages ongoing learning.

    Cons

    When working in consulting or outsourced positions it can be difficult to maintain a strong sense of community with the company itself.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be supportive of employees. Recognize those at the technician level who do great work and serve the company and clients over the long term.

    Access Sciences Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Vice President

    Thank you for your feedback. We think Access Sciences is a great place to work and we continue to make changes for the better.


Showing 19 of 19 reviews
Reset Filters