Accolade "health assistants" Reviews | Glassdoor

Accolade Employee Reviews about "health assistants"

Updated May 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
56%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Accolade CEO Rajeev Singh
Rajeev Singh
133 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company allows employees to have a more flexible schedule with the ability to work from home if needed(in 21 reviews)

  • "Great group of people happy to serve and make a difference in the healthcare industry(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's just a glorified insurance call center(in 34 reviews)

  • "The bonuses were an added incentive for the Health Assistants, who were the heart of the company under our former CEO(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "health assistants"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great cause, fun culture, outstanding people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Accolade full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/life balance, smart/competent people, fun work environment, great connections between offices, and a startup environment with a mature workforce. Vacation, pay, and benefits are competitive with Facebook, Amazon, and Google, but without the drama of working in corporate.

    Cons

    The sides of the business (health assistants and R&D) can feel isolated from each other without an active outreach.

    Advice to Management

    Make more opportunities for R&D and health assistants to interact on a 1:1 level.

    Accolade2017-09-19
  2. "Beware if you are “Temp to perm”!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Client Support Associate in Blue Bell, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Accolade for less than a year

    Pros

    A nice facility that is very modern and forward thinking. Very lax when it comes to things like internet and phone usage.

    Cons

    I signed on as temp to perm, where I was told 2-3 months to get hired from my staffing agency. Then I was told it would be 6 months. Then I heard this same story was fed to a group of 35 Health Assistants, only to have 5 hired, while the rest had their staffing contracts extended, working well below their fair rate and having access to the paltry benefits their staffing agencies offered. At the five month mark I... started asking questions to my agency, the hiring director, and my supervisor, asking if this would happen to me. They were met with evasiveness and more non-answers. I finally gathered the courage to ask because it was announced they were hiring 7 new people DIRECTLY, and it didn’t seem fair that despite proving my worth as one of a couple temps that survived out of about 10, new hires would be making more money and receiving benefits, while I was toiling away at my meager compensation. I was let go shortly after these conversations and requesting time off for interviews.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It seems as though, from what I’ve heard from long tenured employees and the values I’ve seen demonstrated, there is a shift from having a noble goal and focus on employee and client satisfaction, to maximizing profitability, at a huge cost to quality and morale. There were a number of extremely talented and capable individuals who left bc they saw this change and left for other opportunities (this the need to hire... so many new CSAs). I think it is a real shame bc I had heard such great things about this company 3 years ago and it is disappointing to see the decline.

    Show More
    Accolade2019-05-17
  3. Helpful (21)

    "Accolades management/ senior leadership is oblivious to the current mood of Health Assistants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Assistant in Plymouth Meeting, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Accolade full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working remotely is an option. Health assistants support each other. A pretty solid benefit offering. I am at a loss for mor pros.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Since the new CEO was hired and brought in his team the spirit of the company has changed from actually caring about ALL employees to only rewarding those or caring about those that are not client facing. It was advertised on the company portal when raises and bonuses would be paid out, rubbing salt into the wounds that Accolade Health Assistants (AHA’s) were not getting bonuses and the few that... got raises- and what I am hearing is there were very few who got raises- only got a 2% raise. In the last year , the AHA’s have been asked to increase the number of incoming calls we take in a week by 30-50%, have had to decrease the amount of time we spend helping clients that are not new callers and increase the ways in which we communicate with clients. How we are rated is based solely on insane metrics that change all the time. AHA’s are the product the company sales and we are treated with minimal respect. We are no longer told what we do right, only what we do wrong and how we are failing if we cannot meet impossible and moving targets. If we prioritize staying in queue to answer incoming calls over assisting clients who need follow up, or have sent us mobile messages, voicemails or emails, we are penalized. If we don’t get back to clients within 1 business day, we are penalized. It’s a catch 22 and the only response we get is to work smarter not harder. I would love to see the people who set these metrics actually do our job. They wouldn’t last a week. There is no financial incentive to do better. There are no perks to do better. The status quo seems to be if you don’t like it, leave. It’s like we are working in a very pretty sweat shop. The technology platforms we have to work with fail all the time, and when they fail across the company, as they have several times in the last month, the HOURS of not having operational phones or computer systems are not taken into account when reviewing our call volume or “client reach.” We cannot get more than 2.5 hours of overtime a week, which was supposed to make up for our loosing the bonuses. Many people in the HAC clock out and keep working, because we care about our clients and we know the importance of keeping our promises to them, and to maintain our metrics of keeping client promises. The powers that be are driving their main product, and the people that produce the main product into the ground. There is no incentive to do more, and this year when we have worked our bums off, it became very very clear that senior management doesn’t care at all about their number one asset.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the HAC. Read Tiny Pulse and take action on the recommendations there. Reinstate bonuses and make us salaried. Give us tech that works.

    Accolade2018-04-07
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Disappointed at the way HAC employees have been treated as the company has grown."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Center Assistant in Plymouth Meeting, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Accolade full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many of us are able to work remote.

    Cons

    The company markets itself as a leader in technology with healthcare innovation but the platforms we work off of are standing on stilts and crashing on almost a daily basis. The company has increased workload for those employees working in the Health Assistant Center but took away bonuses and made us hourly employees as well. The metrics by which our performance is measured has changed every few months but as they... change the metrics they have no way for us to even check our performance consistently. Last week I received my performance metrics for January and February but it is really hard to make improvements and know where you need to adjust when the info is provided months later.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The previous CEO showed appreciation for the HAC employees---afterall we are the ones who have to be the frontline with the clients. We are pushed and pushed and there is NO positive feedback anymore. Try applauding us for a job well done and when clients give positive feedback.

    Accolade2018-04-15
  5. Helpful (20)

    "Was part of something special, but reality kicked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Accolade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Option to work from home; decent benefits

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Pretty much what other reviews have said are mirrored here. The bonuses were an added incentive for the Health Assistants, who were the heart of the company under our former CEO. Yes, it was not perfect, but at least we felt valued as employees. The new management don’t know us, nor do they take the time to know us either or are accessible. They hire people in management who make unrealistic... decisions on how we do our job, but I know they would not last one day doing the job that we do. There’s so many contradictory comments made that you don’t know if you’re coming or going. If you speak up or express a concern, it is held against you for the remainder of your career and you will never get anywhere in the company. Health Assistants have so much anxiety over the recent changes that it is not uncommon for someone to be crying, or running to their doctors for anxiety medications! And these are the people who are your top performers who are stressed out the most. The most recent hires buy into reaching their numbers but don’t take the time to listen to clients, and give them the special experience that USED TO BE Accolade.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Dear Accolade Management, I implore you to read these reviews very carefully. Stop having Stepford Wives comment, as they are not the ones doing the jobs of Health Assistants,and have no idea what we do. If you want Accolade to be a best company, you have work to do to repair what you broke. Please don’t comment on this review, because it is all words at this point.

    Accolade2018-04-18
  6. Helpful (18)

    "Terrible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Accolade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Accolade puts everything in writing. See why this is important below:

    Cons

    Where do I start? Management is terrible at this place. They will tell you one thing one moment and then something completely different the next. It is complete chaos there and no one in management can be trusted. Health Assistants work their tails off and do not get much in return. You are there to help people, but they constantly hold pointless meetings and have you take surveys on how the company is doing,... which they never seem to actually take your opinions into consideration. This takes away from your actual job-helping people understand their benefits and investigate claims. The stress levels of the employees are through the roof in which many people have either left or have been fired. Also, they have you write reviews about your supervisor and tell you that it is “anonymous”. This is not the case. They know exactly what you wrote and can trace it back to your computer. Do not trust them when they tell you it is anonymous. Management always tells you to “own the relationship” and to “take responsibility”. This is hilarious because they do not follow their own advice. Back in January 2017 we received an email telling us that they fell for a phishing scheme and that our W2 information was sent out to someone without verifying who it was being sent to. Think about that for a second. This was not a data breach, they were not hacked. THEY LITERALLY HANDED OVER THEIR EMPLOYEES MOST SENSITIVE INFORMATION WITHOUT VERIFYING WHO IT WAS BEING SENT TO! Hundreds of employees SSN, salaries, and addresses were sent out to criminals. All the criminals did was send an email asking for their employees W2 information and Accolade sent them out because they were either too stupid or too lazy to make sure it was legitimate. Many people, myself included, had their taxes filed fraudulently as well as their student loan information accessed. This is an inconvenience that will follow us for the rest of our lives in which we will constantly have to look over our shoulders. The IRS has contacted me 5 times so far about someone pretending to be me. Sad thing is this was all completely preventable if they had just done their jobs. The company that preaches ownership and responsibility does not want to do either in this case. Their response to this was lazy. This is going to affect us for the rest of our lives and they think they can just wash their hands of it. There have been other reviews left on this site regarding their negligence, however, they always seem to disappear. Why is that? Even more interesting, there was a review left on 3/17/17 about this where one of Accolade’s Cyber Security officials responded and even admitted that an employee made a mistake. THEY ADMITTED TO THEIR NEGLEGENCE (AGAIN) yet it was removed the next day. That is okay because I know a lot of people who kept the original emails that they sent out regarding their negligence. If you do decide to take a job here, watch out and hope that they do not just hand over your identity to someone. Hopefully this review stays because it is the truth.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire the CEO and the rest of the incompetent upper management.

    Accolade2018-01-11
  7. Helpful (24)

    "Decent Pay. Unstable Environment. Practically Non-Existent Diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Assistant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Accolade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    First, if we're referring strictly to hourly pay, it's higher than what you'd be paid for similar work at other call centers. (See the cons for the company's definition of "call center.") Second, the benefits are certainly impressive. Most notably, they cover the entire deductible for their high-deductible plan, and the premium is low. They also have an HMO option -- they called it closed-panel PPO -- that's a... little pricey, but you have very low cost sharing and low out-of-pocket maximums. Third, they have a constant supply of fruits in the break room, ostensibly to promote a healthy culture. (Why not? After all, it is a health-care company.)

    Show More

    Cons

    Salary -- notice in the "Pro" section, I commented strictly on the dollar rate you're paid. This does not include ancillary pay, such as bonuses. Why? Because they took them away from everyone -- except salaried employees. They made the change when they converted health assistance to non-exempt employees. They sold it that you can do some overtime to offset the loss in bonus, but the stewards (supervisors) will... issue corrective action if you attempt overtime. Ask your steward about the logic about removing the bonuses from people who need them most, and you'll hear them stammer incoherently. Or they'll argue that most call centers don't offer bonuses, which is a pretty ignorant statement, considering every center I've worked with offers bonuses. BUT AT LEAST THE LEADERSHIP TEAM AND MULTI-MILLIONAIRE-PAID EXECUTIVE TEAM GET THEIR BONUSES. Also, and this is important, although you get a lunch, THE COMPANY DOES NOT PROVIDE OFFICIAL BREAKS. What you get is 20 minutes of "personal time" that can only be used in five-minute increments, and even then the stewards may have questions if you start using it. Ask a steward why you don't get official breaks, and their response is, "One of the draws of having a presence in Arizona and Pennsylvania is that neither state mandates break and meal periods, so we're not required to give you one." They also argue that this is common in all call centers. Again, their understanding of call centers is woefully unsophisticated. Leadership -- The executive team seems nice enough, but front-line leadership are poor communicators, lack vision, and despite their title of "steward," take very little interest in being stewards of their teams. They're pretty much cattle herders. Diversity -- Embarrassing, although they are trying to bring in token people of color to throw off the white's-only scent. They have an Indian American CEO and a new CMO who is black. However, on the front line, health assistants are invariably white and women. When they brought in interns to our center recently, they were all white, mostly blond hair, and were practically indistinguishable from each other. Ask your steward about this, and the response is, "Well, we don't have a lot of men or people of color apply." Puhleaze. Call-center culture -- They really stress out when you refer to health assistants as workers in a call center. They justify this by saying that call centers are transactional and that we aren't. They clearly have an unsophisticated understanding of call centers. Many call centers provide qualitative service like ours does. But the recent, massive process changes has us on the phones, really, for the entirety of the day, but we're also supposed to manage an array of tasks, customer e-mails, SMS messages, and follow-ups. Ask your steward about this, and the response is, "Oh, this is totally doable." Being doable and being reasonable are two different things. This is lost on them. Raises and promotions -- nebulous, to say the least. Apparently, to move to a higher pay grade, e.g. "band," part of your review is based on feedback from other stewards and your own team members. If any of them have an issue, you will not be promoted. When you ask explicitly for the metrics surrounding peer and leadership feedback (so you know what you're gunning for in the future), the steward doesn't have an answer. The reality: They don't want to pay the money out to move people, so they apply the most nebulous, asinine review standards. (Conduct an informal survey among health assistants, and you'll see this is a big gripe for most.) Overwork -- They are bringing in several new clients who have employee bases, in some cases, in the thousands, BUT they refuse to hire other health assistants to help with the workload. Ask your steward about this, and they'll say, "We're trying to be profitable. Not hiring will save us money. You guys can just take on the extra work." In other words, "Get ready to work like an indentured servant -- AND NO BONUS FOR YOU!"

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    First, explain why taking away bonuses from non-exempt employees is necessary to "promote profitability," but keeping them for exempt employees who, in some cases, make TWENTY TIMES our salary suddenly has no impact on profitability. Second, have an honest discussion about your annual-review policies, because what we're sold on is not congruent with reality. Third, presenting us with an apple but demanding... that we check our brains at the door and agree to call it an orange is an insult to people's professionalism and intellect. When you push process changes that increase our call targets to such an extent that we have to be on the phones all day to meet them, THAT IS A CALL CENTER. Fourth, it would be great to stop hearing excuses that not enough people of color apply for roles and just admit that you want a specific gender and ethnicity of employee, token people of color notwithstanding.

    Show More
    Accolade2017-10-25
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Take take take from the health assistants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Assistant in Plymouth Meeting, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Accolade full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and PTO, oh I take that back- good PTO only if you have been there for some time. They recently took back PTO days for new hires. The maternity leave benefits are great. They give 2-3% raises on a yearly basis.

    Cons

    Hourly pay, unable to work more than 2 hours overtime. Micromanaging. Metrics are your job review. Call quotas per day that they increase. It's a call center. The have lost so many employees because they are trying to squeeze every cent and ounce of energy from their current employees. They took away bonuses for hourly employees. Supervisors still get bonuses. If you start as a health assistant it's almost... impossible to get a promotion out of the call center portion, especially if you work from home full time. No opportunities for advancement in work from home. There are also a lot of rumors about lawsuits for discrimination and fair labor disputes.

    Show More
    Accolade2017-08-20
  9. Helpful (12)

    "Great company IF you want to go No where Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Health Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Accolade full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I haven't found a pro within this organization since 2015

    Cons

    It seem as though in order for a health assistant to be promoted is if they are in a clique with those who are able to influence that promotion. Education and experience mean nothing according to what a manager told me, and including my own observations.

    Advice to Management

    There are plenty of advice listed in precious reviews; however, they are often overlooked if it doesn't benefit upper managements' bottom-line.

    Accolade2017-05-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Accolade

    Pros

    Work/life balance is seriously amazing. You can work from home (as long as you are reliable), use flex time, ask for schedule adjustments for appointments, and you will have a generous amounts of PTO. I seriously love that personal days, vacation days, and sick days are all just lumped together. I (fortunately) don't get sick often so I can use my time off for fun things like vacation and not have to lie about it.... When I was really sick earlier this year, I don't need to bother my doctor for a note. The Christmas and summer parties are amazing. You really feel appreciated when you come to these and see the generosity of the company. I love that we've celebrated Dr. Martin Luther King Jr day as he intended- by giving back to the community and spending it as a day of service rather than a day of normal work. We've done that for the past 2 years now and it really feels good being a part of it. The new milestone program that was implemented is also a great motivator for health assistants to keep improving as there are both career and financial incentives to move from milestone A through to D. The bonuses are easy to get- you ALWAYS know where you stand and you have multiple avenues to improve through the year. The benefits offered by this company are outstanding. I have the HDHP, and Accolade contributes the max allowed by law into my HSA. That's just over $3000 that they just give me each year. If you don't know how HSA's work, look it up! This money is mine even if I leave Accolade and can continue to roll over and accrue year after year.

    Show More

    Cons

    Two cons: the first is that as a Health assistant, you can sometimes feel like hung out to dry. When call volume is crazy or clients are unhappy with their benefit package it can feel disheartening to see your leaders just leave to go to a meeting while you are left in the trenches. I know it is the nature of the job but I think there is room for improvement in how our leaders' days look in the eyes of our direct... care staff. The second con is related to the diversity issue. Yes, there was some clear indicators that Accolade had room to improve in developing cultural sensitivity. They have gone above and beyond to address this. Reading these Glassdoor reviews where disgruntled employees bash the company sucks because they just aren't an accurate representation of the day to day life. I'm not sure how Glassdoor is regulated, but I would be interested to compare the IP addresses of most of these reviews because I imagine they are coming from the same couple people. When you work at Accolade you will get loads of feedback. This feedback is how you make sure you get your raise, your bonus, and your opportunities to progress in the company. Your manager will literally give you a step by step guide to get you to where you want to be. If you refuse the help, you are a burden to your teammates. For example, when you don't follow your schedule or you are spending too much time between your calls it is your teammates picking up your slack. I bring this up to prospective employees because to be successful here, you need to be a hard worker. If you aren't, it isn't just "the man" that gets shorted, it's your coworkers too.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I really would like to see management continue to trim the bad apples at Accolade. There are so many wonderful things and people involved in this company and it breaks my heart when I see a few of those bad apples bringing morale down. As I mentioned above, I would also like to see some consideration, possibly in the form of focus groups, into how to improve how leaders are seen by HAs & Chas. Maybe some tuition... reimbursement programs too, please? :)

    Show More
    Accolade2016-10-06
Found 26 reviews