Accuray "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Accuray Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 136 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
34%
Approve of CEO
Joshua Levine
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "Still great products that help people fight cancer(in 11 reviews)

  • "Collaborative environment, interesting products to work on, good work/life balance, great coworkers(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fails to meet business model on a continuing basis due to allowing unmotivated individuals to hold and keep upper management positions(in 10 reviews)

  • "Organization is top heavy, retention issues - too much experience and talent going out the door(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Top heavy, pay was below standard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Accuray full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative environment, interesting products to work on, good work/life balance, great coworkers

    Cons

    Organization is top heavy, retention issues - too much experience and talent going out the door. Came close to doubling my income by leaving.

    Advice to Management

    Lean things out up top, invest more in keeping your experienced technicians, engineers, and software developers.

    Accuray2018-08-17
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Sr.Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Madison, WI
    Recommends

    I have been working at Accuray full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Opportunity to learn new things.

    Cons

    can't think anything as of now

    Accuray2017-12-04
  3. Helpful (19)

    "Field Service Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Engineer in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Accuray

    Pros

    Competitive pay for a medical device company. Cool Technology

    Cons

    Working almost every other weekend and lots of late nights during the week for field service seems to be the norm for this company. Very poor work life balance. The company has had 2 layoffs since I was hired 9 months ago. Also lots of problems with bad parts and out of date procedures that frankly are useless. It's like trying to fix something without using your hands. ...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None

    Accuray2016-11-01
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Production Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA

    I worked at Accuray full-time

    Pros

    Great to work on products that help caner patients. Company created social events (BBQ, Ice Cream Socials, Picnics) to help employees socialize.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. Some of the worst management that I ever had was at Accuray. Company struggles to become profitable.

    Advice to Management

    Close up shop in Sunnyvale and move whole operation to Madison. Determine and fire bad managers more quickly. Keep trying to bring employees together.

    Accuray2016-08-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Until Purchased"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Accuray

    Pros

    TomoTherapy provided for an excellent work/life balance. Also, I really felt like I was part of helping patients even from behind the scenes.

    Cons

    When the company was purchased by Accuray, everything changed. It was more about the management and internal politics.

    Advice to Management

    Growth is good, but remember those who helped get there! It's still great to see how much the company's products help patients.

    Accuray2015-01-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Accuray

      Pros

      Good work life balance, motivated employees, technology makes a difference

      Cons

      Top heavy organization, recent loss of technical talent

      Advice to Management

      Provide growth opportunities to individual contributors and augment development resources instead of continued upper management hires

      Accuray2015-01-19
    • Helpful (1)

      "Co-workers are kind, helpful, and passionate."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Engineer in Madison, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Accuray full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Professional company. Co-workers are kind, helpful, and passionate. Good work/life balance is respected. Top-notch benefits.

      Cons

      Advancement is minimal and vague.

      Advice to Management

      n/a

      Accuray2015-01-11
    • Helpful (3)

      "Everything was chaotic after the merger"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Technical Writer in Madison, WI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Accuray full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Very flexible; good work/life balance; able to (mostly) manage my own workload.

      Cons

      Four bosses in three years; multiple, arbitrary re-orgs after the acquisition/merger.

      Accuray2014-08-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good benefits and paced environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Accuray full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      -Professional and friendly people in most areas -Convenient location in Sunnyvale -Excellent benefits -Good work/life balance

      Cons

      -Highly regulated as any medical related company -High employee turnover

      Accuray2014-03-03
    • Helpful (6)

      "Very bad place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Accuray full-time

      Pros

      I can't come up with any good reasons besides that it is a good field to work in

      Cons

      Competence is low, the good people leave or are let go because yhey have an opinion. Management is very bad, where lots of bullying occurs and people are treated poorly. Lack of work life balance.

      Advice to Management

      Stop holding eachothers backs on management level and start doing your jobs. Treat people well.

      Accuray2017-12-16
    Found 136 reviews