Ace Cash Express Reviews

Updated Apr 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
53%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Ace Cash Express Chairman, President, and CEO Jay B. Shipowitz
Jay B. Shipowitz
185 Ratings
Pros
  • "Ace is a good job if you like to work alone and the pay is decent(in 14 reviews)

  • "Bullet proof glass and decent pay(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Stuck in the back for long hours(in 39 reviews)

  • "You also work alone most days which means no breaks or lunches, which is highly illegal in this state(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers, Great understanding boss, easy going, easy to learn. I loved working here. i worked here for about 5 years until I got another job and I regret leaving this place. It was the best job ever I believe it was largely due to my DM, my store location and my Store Manager. Both DM and Store manager were amazing and nice and because more than just coworkers. The store location was perfect due to it not being too slow or too busy where I know some stores get super busy and its hell to work in. Definitely recommend working here based on my experince

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better, If you fail 3 mystery shops in a row you get fired no exceptions

    Continue reading
    Ace Cash Express2019-08-07
  2. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ace Cash Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for growth and development!

    Cons

    The new parking garage can fill up quickly and the cafe in the building only serves breakfast on Fridays!

    Ace Cash Express2020-04-29
  3. "Ok pay, dangerous job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Manager in Philadelphia, PA

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy work, laid back environment, good teamplay

    Cons

    Roaches, attempted robberies, pay could be higher

    Continue reading
    Ace Cash Express2020-04-29
  4. "Not so bad..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Loan Specialist in Saginaw, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can easily get incentive pay

    Cons

    Thenonly downsides i can think if are rude customers and late nights

    Continue reading
    Ace Cash Express2020-01-28
  5. "Not a career"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, good benefits through BCBS

    Cons

    Long hours (a normal day is 10-13 hrs), low hourly wage, exhausting because you have to float between multiple stores, disorganized HR and ineffective communication, gossiping environment and company politics can affect advancement and location stability, there are strict requirements to sell cards and coax customers to enroll in direct deposits; you will be terminated if you don't push these cards, and the childish gossiping culture is supported and fueled by district manager who gossips with center mangers about staff and other center mangers.

    Continue reading
    Ace Cash Express2020-02-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Not terrible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time

    Pros

    Usually no more than 35 to 40 hours per week

    Cons

    No break, long shifts without being able to leave or take a real break.

    Ace Cash Express2020-01-30
  7. "Good place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Journalist in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ace Cash Express full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Some of the people you get to work with are great . Benefits are ok. Some district managers are awesome and the PTO is amazing! You accumulate hours every pay period and I’ve gone up to 4 weeks off per year

    Cons

    Sometimes you work alone all day when someone calls off. Sales expectations bring on stress

    Ace Cash Express2020-01-18
  8. "Upper Management"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Security 

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time

    Pros

    Flexible and conducive work environment, training opportunities 401k match. Great work life balance and great people. I had a good manager and mentor.

    Cons

    Upper management could pay better more attention to development of employee

    Ace Cash Express2020-01-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Don't do it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Center Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ace Cash Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None, nope, it's not worth it

    Cons

    They will pay everyone in the area wildly different pay not based on experience but on a whim. The fact you have to secure a certain # of loans is not good.

    Ace Cash Express2020-01-04
  10. "Na"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ace Cash Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, a lot of alone time

    Cons

    Hours conflicting, not a set schedule

    Ace Cash Express2019-11-20
Viewing 1 - 10 of 378 Reviews