KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Achieve3000

Is this your company?

Achieve3000

Add a Review

Achieve3000 Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jan 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 165 reviews

4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Achieve3000 Chief Executive Officer Stuart Udell
Stuart Udell
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product, AMAZING co-workers, remote work is possible(in 17 reviews)

  • "Some nice people, good compensation, flexibility to work from home(in 10 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management sends employees videos of themselves on work trips enjoying extracurricular activities(in 10 reviews)

  • "There is little concern for work life balance by corporate and regional management(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Race Ethnicity

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Achieve3000 and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Learning experience - the good and the bad

      Jan 30, 2020 - Customer Support in Red Bank, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Remote work (Evening shifts), robust PTO, direct supervisors (Team Leads) are supportive and the support/rostering teams are some of the kindest people I’ve ever worked with. I was given extensive training; learned incredibly valuable support and software tech skills.

      Cons

      Revolving door which makes morale low. You don’t feel valued, department heads and HR don’t care to know your name. Upper management is unaware the support team has some of the most talented employees. There is an overall lack of soft skills beyond the employees you work with on a daily basis.

      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Not Sure What Happened

      Jan 31, 2020 - Education 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You make money. Decent product. Great vacation time. Good work life balance.

      Cons

      Company is falling apart at the seams. Upper management sends employees videos of themselves on work trips enjoying extracurricular activities. The office atmosphere is abysmal. There is no culture or diversity. Bottom line is all about saving money, yet the exec team gets catered lunches and business trips monthly. A mural was just installed in an office where the mood is drab. How we had money for that is beyond anyone's understanding. Employees are fired and laid off on a weekly basis, and no one is replaced. Work is spread to already maxed out employees. Certain departments are overstaffed with 'director' positions with no direct reports, while others are told 'we are unable to promote you due to budget.' The office fits about 150 employees, yet there are more than 60 empty cubes. Upper is management is never in office, yet they demand everyone else report daily. Recently an email was sent out demanding everyone to report to the office to impress a big wig, who was paying a visit to the office. Office sure looked full that day with people who had never reported to the office before.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Mixed Bag

      Nov 15, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Wonderful & impactful product. Amazingly talented coworkers across departments. Great initial training. Learned a lot from my boss & teammates. Generous time off.

      Cons

      Work-life balance is difficult to have when working here. Very little appreciation from execs/upper management is shown, much less an acknowledgement that folks work their fingers to the bone; it seems that the expectation is you should/can always do more. If something goes wrong with a customer, upper management seems to want to pinpoint an Achieve employee with the blame instead of looking at the situation objectively and trying to learn/grow from the experience. Pricing seems to be unrealistic for continued renewal in many places. The rollout of new systems & processes are often done during peak season which just adds more work to learn the new information & in turn leads to frustration when it is already a challenge to get everything done during the week. Minimal chance for internal career advancement.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Horrible treatment of Employees! Zero job Security

      Nov 24, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay - that's it! Total favoritism based on religion

      Cons

      Most Dysfunctional Company I've ever worked for! I really think all these positive reviews on this site, were written by Achieve3000's HR Dept trying balance out all the REAL reviews! The CEO at Achieve3000 needs to MICROMANAGE EVERYTHING! On top of that she has zero respect for anyone, but those in her own religion! Who are treated with total favoritism She has no problem screaming at employees, belittling them and treating people horribly, witnessing this is truly shocking and appalling. No person should ever be verbally abused in the work force, yet at Achieve3000 it happens on the regular Management there can't do ANYTHING without approval by the Owner/CEO! Which is virtually impossible since she misses 80% of the meetings with management and customers! Zero faith in upper management to make any major decisions-at all Its truly dysfunctional While I worked there I watched atleast 1 person get fired a week. No verbal or written warnings! If you are planning on working here, have a backup plan. You say the wrong thing or get the CEO upset over ANYTHING, the next week you'll be out! This company needs to be held accountable for their awful treatment of employees! Should be illegal to treat people the way they do

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee

      So much potential, so much disappointment

      Apr 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Great product with a great mission. Who doesn't want to help kids read? - Highly skilled and motivated employees who genuinely care - Remote work available

      Cons

      - Like other reviewers have pointed out, you will be mircomanaged like you have never been mircomanaged before. - High volume employee turnover (both because of people are let go and because of burn-out resignations) - So many meetings - Difficult to innovate because (1) everyone is in meetings all of the time and (2) upper management only trusts ideas that they think up

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Excellent Opportunities, but Many Badly-Planned Processes

      Apr 6, 2014 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      growing company, exudes energy, lots to do and accomplish

      Cons

      Parts of the upper management wish to be involved in everything and therefore constrains workflows and processes that work better without their involvement. Not a strong sense of trust for employees' abilities to work independently.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Stop favoring employees

      Jun 24, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Casual work attire, friendly colleagues, generous vacation time, flexible hours, can work from home (but only if you beg).

      Cons

      Certain members of a religious community get highly preferential treatment, very rarely promote talent from within, upper management is full of micromanagers, resistant to change, raises are poor, and it's rare to get any type of coaching or feedback from supervisors.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Unprofessional Lack of Direction

      Nov 10, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent product - no other Pros.

      Cons

      This company is so poorly managed, cheap, and inefficient. I was recruited to Achieve3000 from an established publishing company, where I held a senior level position and was highly regarded for my accomplishments in that field. I worked at Achieve3000 for less than a year before being laid off for indecipherable reasons. In that time I experienced some of the most bizarre strategies (or lack there of), discussions, and business practices I have ever seen. The major problem with this organization is that the CEO, Saki Dodelson, has absolutely no business sense and is entirely unprofessional. The product that she has created is very good, however, decisions about the product, enhancements, segmentation, and marketing has completely missed the mark. During my brief time, I was micromanaged by the CEO (who was not my direct manager) to the point of not being allowed to send emails out to others in the organization without first going through layers of approvals. I was never allowed to do the job I was hired to do, and neither was anyone else in my department. We were given meaningless tasks that didn't contribute to any real business growth and I often spent my time doing administrative work. Upper management cannot seem to articulate a clear brand or vision for their products and there is no clear, concise way of speaking about the offerings. However, you are expected to discuss the product as if you know and understand what the brand is - an impossible task since an accurate mission or product statement has never been agreed upon by anyone. The lack of direction and product vision means that decisions are made (by upper management only-nobody else is allowed to make decisions) haphazardly and continually changed, revised, and walked back on without any projected goal or ability to move the business/product forward. Whatever you write or say about the product, even after countless reviews, is not considered "correct" or done well, since the CEO cannot decide upon what her product actually is or how it should be accurately discussed in the market. You are a disposable employee if you cannot keep up with the level of micromanagement, and expected to work 10+ hours a day, just to keep on top of work that needs to re-done time and time again. This effects all employees, making the company culture horrendous, and providing no ability to grow or embark on any new career opportunities within the organization. Working for Achieve3000 was the absolute worst decision I have ever made, and it has effected my career to this day. I've spoken with other companies in the ed-tech space, who have expressed how poorly Achieve3000 is thought of within the industry. Saki is a joke among other industry professionals, so please let this be a warning to anyone considering working at this company.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Development

      Feb 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Non-management are pleasant, kind, and highly motivated to grow and learn.

      Cons

      Upper management communicates poorly, doesn't provide clear guidelines, takes credit for employee's achievements, and overreacts to small setbacks. Company didn't pay accrued vacation time or floating holidays or sick time (which doesn't accrue) upon leaving company. They decided to not even fully pay me what I worked. Worst company ever worked at.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Would be great if more opportunities for promotion were available

      Dec 30, 2012 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work hours, great product, extremely talented staff, friendly colleagues

      Cons

      Limited opportunities for upward mobility as they rarely promote from within, dysfunctional upper management, not enough recognition or opportunities for high achievers

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Achieve3000 Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Achieve3000? Share Your Experiences

    or