KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Achievement First

Engaged Employer

Achievement First

Add a Review

Achievement First Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Jan 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Achievement First Co-CEO and President and Co-CEO and Superintendent Dacia Toll and Doug McCurry
Dacia Toll and Doug McCurry
229 Ratings
Pros
  • "In house professional development(in 78 reviews)

  • "Authentic relationships with scholars that is fostered in to the school motto(in 21 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Hard to find work/life balance in TIR role(in 112 reviews)

  • "Over worked, long hours, lots of restrictions(in 83 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Achievement First and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      AF continues to grow and change in positive ways - becoming much more equity minded

      Dec 31, 2020 - Principal in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      impact of work, strong teammates

      Cons

      long hours and trying to "do it all"

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Leader Teacher

      Jan 15, 2021 - Teacher in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can work in many different positions throughout the network. Room for growing and moving up in ladder.

      Cons

      Over worked, long hours, lots of restrictions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful Students, Teaching Environment Not For Everyone

      Dec 24, 2020 - Teacher-In-Residence in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dedicated staff, wonderful students, diverse school and some really wonderful co workers.

      Cons

      TIRs are supposed to be trained to become headteachers. In my experience, I was not trained to become a headteacher. Instead, I felt that I was put in classrooms to give teachers an opportunity to prep. So students would do math work on the computer during these "teaching opportunities". Overall, I feel that I did not learn how to become a headteacher. Some students have behaviors, which I was fine with. The issue is that leadership put me, a new teacher in a classroom of 28 students with no support and no idea how to handle behaviors. I felt that I was failing the students because I had not been equipped with information on how to help deescalate students. The work culture is very strong, which is both a pro and a con. You are asked to do things that are not within your job description daily, whether you're comfortable with it or not. I found this to be a disadvantage to students (I am not a math teacher, but was asked to teach math a couple of times, and always with no time to prep). Since you're salaried, you don't receive overtime for working late during conference nights or other events at the school. The hours are long. Work started at 6:30 AM and ended between 5:30 and 6:30 pm. Some teachers stayed longer to get work done. Some of the leadership figures were not considerate of TIRs. You would be put in a room to teach when you haven't actually gained any experience teaching a lesson on your own. I was evaluated on my teaching and taxonomy skills without having followed the protocol for gradual release into the classroom. However leadership has changed since I worked at AF.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Achievement First Response

      Outreach Coordinator

      I’m so sorry to hear this was your experience at AF. The first year of teaching is always incredibly hard – and our TIRs do provide additional support/coverage as part of their role—but our TIRs should always feel a strong sense of support that is far from what you describe. Based on our pulse check survey from last semester, the vast majority of this year’s cohort is feeling supported and valued in their role. Please contact me directly at LeighMcNamara@AchievementFirst.org because I want to learn more about your experience. This school year, we started a mid-year TIR promotion policy which addresses the need for more recognition and support for our TIRs who have taken on more work. All of our TIRs have a mentor teacher coach as well as a coach through their graduate school program and an additional TIR coordinator at the school level. We provide this coaching to our TIRs as they develop into lead teachers. TIRs are vital to what we do and an instrumental part of our AF Team & Family.

    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Long hours

      Jan 16, 2021 - Executive Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relatively high salary for a recent graduate

      Cons

      Long hours, low adult culture, high retention

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Intense

      Jan 7, 2021 - Teacher-In-Residence in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quality Professional Development Decent Salary High Expectations

      Cons

      Long hours Ineffective sometimes unprofessional Communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Rigorous and rewarding work environment

      May 14, 2020 - High School English Teacher and Literature Department Chair in Brooklyn, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professional development and vast growth opportunties I am excited to wake up every morning and go to work to see our kiddos My team at East Brooklyn High is a family dedicated to doing what it right by kids Our Principal Martin Palamore is a TOP educator and leader

      Cons

      If you are not a self-starter and dedicated to doing whatever it takes, this can be a difficult place to work Work-life balance is highly challenging, LONG hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      AF New Changes

      Sep 24, 2020 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      competitive salary, strong sense of team, support from leadership teams.

      Cons

      Long hours, policing kids bodies, power over purpose on many procedures.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      N/A

      May 17, 2020 - Behavior Specialist in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      rigorous curriculum which facilitates healthy challenge for kids, team and family mindset, genuine relationships amongst staff members, leadership encourages staff input, lead with a 'kids first' mentality.

      Cons

      long hours, differing opinions with decision making which might lag rowing together as a team.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Amazing kids and very dedicated teachers

      Apr 9, 2020 - Academic Dean in New Haven, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Innovative work, important mission, very committed staff, Lots of support and room for growth, really amazing kids (the best part)

      Cons

      Long hours/ Work life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Long hours, constant observations

      Jul 14, 2020 - Teacher in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of professional development, good opportunity for growth

      Cons

      Work-life balance is highly challenging, LONG hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Achievement First Job Seekers

    Teacher In Residence
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Director of School Operations
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Achievement First? Share Your Experiences

    or