Acme Brick Reviews | Glassdoor

Acme Brick Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
40%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Acme Brick CEO Dennis Knautz (no image)
Dennis Knautz
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours, very hot work environment(in 3 reviews)

  • "401k, pension, car program, etc have been slashed, pay raises nonexistent(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Acme Brick... Yes, we make bricks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Information Security Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    family oriented, flexible and understanding. A laid back environment with friendly people who treat you like family.

    Cons

    I don't have a lot to say here. Maybe just because of the size, there is not a lot of room for advancement.

    Acme Brick2019-11-04
  2. "Packager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Acme Brick full-time

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits nice job

    Cons

    Nothing I can complain about

    Acme Brick2019-10-27
  3. "Im an Experienced EHS Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - EHS Coordinator 

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere like one big family

    Cons

    Hard to get support from supervisors

    Acme Brick2019-10-09
  4. "Nice job i like it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Denton, TX

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lazy people and people that stand a just watch people work

    Cons

    many many many many ,many

    Acme Brick2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (2)

    "ACME is not special anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am sure there are pros to working here. And when things are working good, they are GOOD. There are just so few good days.

    Cons

    The cons of working at Acme Brick, its hard to feel important, when your just another brick in the wall.

    Advice to Management

    Remember to get your hands dirty and back sweaty. Sitting in the AC office, does nothing for moral. Just like you, we are only here for the paycheck.

    Acme Brick2019-06-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Over 330 people quit last year or where let go."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time

    Pros

    It is a job. I guess that is better than nothing.

    Cons

    Very bad work conditions. Very bad leadership at all levels. Place is run like a jail. Alot of intimidation, manipulation and out right lieing about job situations from managment. Billion dollar company run like a cotton field!!!

    Advice to Management

    Quit and let someone who cares run things.

    Acme Brick2019-07-12
  7. "Great place to work if you know masonry."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Associate in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acme Brick full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bankers Hours, paid vacation, management.

    Cons

    Getting orders on time is difficult and you get angry customer because of it.

    Advice to Management

    Fix lead times and ordering systems so there is not so much confusion.

    Acme Brick2019-04-08
  8. "Company Downsizing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Acme Brick full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and brand awareness

    Cons

    Company recently announced closures across several states...manufacturing and sales offices. Be careful applying for anything outside of Texas, where there is no loyalty, nor a specific plan regarding the closures.

    Advice to Management

    COMMUNICATION...believe it or not, it works! Continuous bad hires by the same management team should be recognized and addressed.

    Acme Brick2019-03-24
  9. "Honest, hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acme Brick full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, overtime is allowed.

    Cons

    Hard long summer days.

    Acme Brick2019-03-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Low on common sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator/Yard 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, some friendly people

    Cons

    Ordering processes are asinine, Raises are annual, money hungry, in house negative competition, constant screw ups, bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that actually do the work, not the ones that sit in the offices

    Acme Brick2019-03-14
Found 51 reviews