Acme Brick Reviews | Glassdoor

Acme Brick Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Acme Brick CEO Dennis Knautz (no image)
Dennis Knautz
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Low on common sense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator/Yard 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, some friendly people

    Cons

    Ordering processes are asinine, Raises are annual, money hungry, in house negative competition, constant screw ups, bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that actually do the work, not the ones that sit in the offices

    Acme Brick2019-03-14
  2. Helpful (4)

    "If you don’t mind being a doormat...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dispatcher in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acme Brick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, Decent wages, My co-workers were great

    Cons

    Associates who do the most work for Acme are not recognized as assets, everyone is just a number that will assist the management in getting bonuses and company-wide emails acknowledging “their” hard work. Do not expect to be praised or rewarded for your hard work. Training is greatly lacking. Raises or promotions are laughable. All levels of management stick together NO MATTER WHAT (including HR), even when they are... knowingly in the wrong.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit brown-nosing each other and treat your associates like they deserve to be treated—because without them, Acme wouldn’t be where it is right now.

    Acme Brick2018-11-18
  3. "Warehouse Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipping - Warehouse Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Acme is s great company to work for! Work only for the best!

    Cons

    Best benefits ever. No downside here!

    Acme Brick2018-11-07
  4. "De Hack/Training for Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - De Hack/Operator In Training in Elgin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Acme brick is a great company despite what others say. If...you are a hard working, dependable, teamwork oriented and respect the experienced workers and white hats. They pay a fair wage and if you work hard OT is avail.. From what I have seen, we are in a generation of lazy, spoiled, negative people and they will not make it anywhere. This is a high volume brick factory people,,,if you cant come in and have a... good hard working attitude then go work at a mall job or something. The core we have, we bring it everyday and do our best to make production. Myself...I'm BTRB...Born To Run Brick: De Hack Nights. The insurance is best I've had! They always pay on time and accurate...they care about their employees despite what others here say.

    Show More

    Cons

    They need to be better about repairing equipment properly instead on ban dades...even so it doesnt cause me to negatively rate my company...there are budgets that we do not know about. It can be pretty hard work...not for everyone. I bust my butt and it is a long 12 hour shift..you have to be in shape to a degree. I LOVE IT!

    Advice to Management

    Repair our equipment right and listen to our operators...also pay our good operators a little more. That would result in far more production overall...no question. The Night De Hack Operator is in my opinion, the best employee in the plant. Give them a bump and lock them down...as well as others that have been there a few years and have vast knowledge of operations. It would trickle down to the employees and... drive them to advance. Overall, you guys are awesome and I've worked at many jobs...I plan on staying long term this is a good place!

    Show More
    Acme Brick2018-05-19
  5. "Deliver driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Deliver Driver in Madison, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acme Brick full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Off on the weekends, and overtime.

    Cons

    The company run you to death get ready to work late days. The company preachers about safety but when a driver try to tell them something not safe to haul they will not listen to the driver.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your drivers and quit push them to the limit.

    Acme Brick2018-05-25
  6. "Graduate Engineer Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment and also work from home available for some projects

    Cons

    For freshers they train in one domain and put into anything.

    Acme Brick2018-04-24
  7. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick

    Pros

    Good people. Plant is close to my home.

    Cons

    Weird hours. Can be long hours if your in production

    Acme Brick2018-02-01
  8. "Stack bricks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker 

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time

    Pros

    Easy work but sometimes it's get really hot inside the warehouse

    Cons

    Very hot on a summer day

    Advice to Management

    Pretty good

    Acme Brick2017-10-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Experiences are the base of The Results Pyramid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company Stability, longevity, get off work early to be with kids

    Cons

    pay is not competitive. HQ makes to many decisions based of one view. Not all managers are leaders.

    Advice to Management

    If Key Result #4 is truly important, do more and we will give you Key Result #1 & #2.

    Acme Brick2017-09-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acme Brick full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stable company, strong brand, very nice headquarters, leader in its industry, great culture, great people, very nice place to work.

    Cons

    Such a great work environment comes with a cost...you usually won't be paid top dollar. People tend to stay many years at Acme, which can limit upward career opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    Combine the sick time & vacation time into one overall paid time off program. This will make the paid time off look more generous than it is. Consider scrapping or revising the "use it or lose it" vacation policy to create more flexibility for employees.

    Acme Brick2017-08-17
Found 52 reviews