Acquia Reviews | Glassdoor

Acquia Reviews

Updated February 5, 2017
31 reviews

Filter

Filter


5.0
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Acquia CEO Thomas Erickson
Thomas Erickson
25 Ratings

31 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • You work with the best talent in Open Source , you will have lots of exposure to the (in 7 reviews)

  • Over time the work life balance has become better (in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • Work life balance can be difficult to find (in 7 reviews)

  • No one is upfront and they will back stab you (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (4)

    "A fantastic learning experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Sales in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acquia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Unbelievable career advancement opportunities
    Internal promotions are the norm in Sales
    Most senior management (CRO, CEO) are incredibly in touch with the team, challenges and always willing to help
    Love our second line sales management team - some great changes there recently
    Colleagues across other departments are super smart and very collaborative
    Not a "frat house" atmosphere - like other Boston high fliers, which is great. This is a group of super smart, family oriented,driven people who care about each other

    Cons

    Would be nice to see an expanded PaaS offering. It's something we know how to sell and market extremely effectively.

    Work life balance can be hard when you are climbing the next mountain although I will say the company is extremely flexible and understanding

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the transparency. The lower levels like to know what's going on at the top. More communication from the top on our opportunities AND challenges are welcome as long as they don't come out of the blue as edicts.


  2. Helpful (4)

    "Product Marketing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Product Marketing in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Amazing office space, empowered team - and I really mean team - great leadership and innovative products. Acquia is on the verge of the next phase and is a great place to be

    Cons

    Coming out of a period of rapid growth, there is catch up to do on products. No 401K match. The brand is not as well known as it should be.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course and keep the culture from going political. There are great people here, but get big without losing the DNA.


  3. "Technical Architect"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Remote, lots of travel, get to go on clients dime.

    Cons

    Lots of travel. But if that doesn't bother you, its a con!

    Acquia Response

    Mar 26, 2016 – CEO

    Indeed, technical architects are required to travel frequently. It appears that you enjoy it, as I did when I was a technical consultant at the beginning of my career. I presume you meant "if that ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Acquia full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have been working at Acquia for 10 months now. It is the best place that I have ever worked and no they did not ask me to write that. hah. Great people, great culture and great work life balance. They really respect and care for their employees at all levels. I am very happy here.

    Cons

    Nothing is a con here for me.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing/ don't change the openness and respect for all level employees.

    Acquia Response

    Aug 1, 2015 – CEO

    It's wonderful to see that you are enjoying being a part of the team. It's in our DNA to be respectful to our colleagues and you've provided us a good reminder to keep that up. Thank you. Tom ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A wise career move"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acquia full-time

    Pros

    I have a background in working at start-ups in hopes of a solid exit strategy. In some instances it's ones out, in others it has not. I will say that Acquia is the first company I've joined (and on the later side) where I really feel like we are poised for exceptional things. I joined the team because I felt strongly about the leadership team in place and the work ethic behind the people executing against the plan. So far those things have held true.

    Cons

    I am not sure this is really a con or just sort of industry standard but there does seem to be the tendency to run towards shiny objects. I've seen this at all of my prior companies as well. It seems like the leadership team is fully aware of this behavior and they have made strides at ensuring that products and services that we release are going to fit the needs of our clients and that they are implementing them properly.

    Advice to Management

    I truly feel like the passion that the leadership team has permeates down to all employees within the organization. The leadership team is always looking for ways to improve and I appreciate that about an organization.

    Acquia Response

    Aug 1, 2015 – CEO

    Thank you for your post. It's ironic that the same passion to constantly improve also leads us occasionally at shiny objects. I do believe it is a general business thing as I was visiting with one ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Team will become family, management will become lifelong mentors."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Amazing people, amazing place to work.

    Cons

    Really. none. Unless you aren't interested in working hard to get places in life. Then you should probably look elsewhere.

    Acquia Response

    Jun 12, 2015 – CEO

    Thank you for your comments, especially as an alumnus. Tom Erickson, CEO.


  8. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Inside Sales Representative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Inside Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Inside Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Acquia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    One of the fastest growing young technology companies in North America. The position includes an excellent compensation package, equity ownership, Health Benefits, 401K and more.

    Cons

    As a growing company, there is constant fluctuation in the way the company runs the business, creating a lack of constituency in product lines/ GTM/ sales structure etc

    Acquia Response

    Jun 12, 2015 – CEO

    Thank you for your comments and your positive sentiments. We are certainly making our best attempts to ensure being a member of the Acquia team is rewarding both career wise and benefits wise. You ... More


  9. Helpful (14)

    "What Tom Erickson is doing on Glassdoor is OUTSTANDING!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I'm not going to comment on the company. Rather, I'm going to point out that the fact that Tom Erickson, the CEO, takes the time to craft a personal and specific response to every Glassdoor review, positive or negative, is highly unique and truly outstanding. Most companies don't even respond to reviews, and when they do, it's a BS boilerplate response crafted by the HR team. Tom should be applauded for recognizing the power of social in the workplace and the impact reputation has on a company's ability to both recruit and ultimately, succeed in the market. KUDOS Tom!!!

    Cons

    I see no cons worth mentioning in the context of this review and the point I'm communicating.

    Advice to Management

    See above. Keep doing it, Tom!

    Acquia Response

    Dec 8, 2014 – CEO

    Wow. Did not expect this. I am glad you appreciate my responses. I learn a lot from each of the posts, positive or negative, and try to ensure we reinforce the positives and correct the ... More


  10. Helpful (7)

    "Incredible People, High Profile Customers, Lots of Learning"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acquia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people who work here are brilliant and fun to work with, and the culture here is amazing and very laid back. People are allowed to express their minds without reprisal, and we are encouraged to think outside the box and take chances when we have ideas we want to explore. Flexible vacation and sick days. CEO and most of the Exec Team are very approachable and usually fairly open to ideas and constructive criticism (within reason), and progress is always being made to improve office life and working conditions.

    Cons

    There is limited room for advancement in most departments, which is somewhat understandable since you can't promote everyone, but it would be nice if they were more candid about that. If you do find your way into a new position, it can be a struggle to get more money unless you're a rockstar and/or irreplaceable. Expect an uphill battle on either front.

    Additionally, several departments are consistently understaffed as Acquia searches for more talent to keep up with our growth, vacations, and the occasional departure, so that can lead to a consistent middle-to-high level of stress, especially for departments with fewer people.

    For most of us, though, the Pros that come with working here vastly outweigh the Cons. It's just good to know them up front.

    Advice to Management

    Things have constantly been improving here over the past 2 years, and there are so many exciting changes and improvements on the horizon. Please continue to support these initiatives and push for them to be completed as quickly as possible without sacrificing their quality.

    Please also consult more frequently with lower-level employees to candidly discuss their concerns and recommendations. There are a lot of great ideas floating around to improve efficiency and morale, but they rarely seem to make it through the "filters" in middle- and upper-management, and when they do, no time is allocated to work on them because of limited staffing and higher priorities.

    Acquia Response

    Oct 27, 2014 – CEO

    Excellent commentary. Thanks. Very pleased you like it at Acquia, you're clearly the type of individual with this thoughtfulness that can help us continue to improve our company. You bring up a ... More


  11. "Ready, Set, GO!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Burlington, MA
    Current Employee - Sales in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acquia full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You can feel the momentum in Drupal adoption in the enterprise. This is going to be big..

    Leadership in every department is phenomenal. Culture comes first here and it shows in many ways - community service opportunities, company Red Sox games, open door policies with leadership, food trucks, etc.

    Be ready to ride this roller coaster with a community of people that want to WIN!

    Cons

    Training for new hires can be better. It is something they are actively working on and investing in. Be prepared to leverage those around you to learn more.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest heavily in our new hires to prepare them to succeed here.

    Acquia Response

    Jul 9, 2014 – CEO

    Thanks for your comments! I think it's going to be big also! Sales is a constantly changing world at Acquia as we evolve our model to optimize for verticals, new products and the mid-market ... More



Showing 31 of 86 reviews
Reset Filters