Act-On Software Reviews

Updated Mar 18, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
39%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Act-On Software CEO Kate Johnson
Kate Johnson
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free snacks, regular hours, nice views(in 11 reviews)

  • "Had a chance to work with good people(They were few)(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "It can be hard to find a work/life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Company missed its window and a lot of us that worked long hours will never see a return(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It’s hard, it’s challenging, and it’s worth it"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Act-On Software full-time

    Pros

    Act-On has hard problems but has a solid product with a real market. The senior leadership team listens and wants to make a difference. There are smart people all over the company dedicated to trying to make a difference.

    Cons

    Tough market and brand that doesn’t do the company justice. There have been tough decisions made over the last couple years and some good people had to leave.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Dying product's last gasp"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Act-On Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good office location and trimet pass.

    Cons

    A mess from top to bottom. Where to begin... The Product: Archaic, buggy, and hated by even the teams working on it. The majority of 2019 was spent dealing with frequent outages. So much time is spent getting it to barely function that no innovation is made. Few long standing engineers left, due in part to... Turnover and Culture: Average tenure at Act-On is under a year. Fueled equally by key employees leaving for competitors and constant, massive layoffs. No company culture, not so much a holiday party. HR is a joke and now a department of one with the previous three employees having quit or laid off with no sign of replacement. Expect to email Dawn 10 times for a simple request. Leadership: The core problem. Kate is destroying the company. She's a talented financial expert, but has no ability to lead. She can't be bothered to interact with employees, only leaving her closed door office to silently get coffee or take other executives/her friends to lunch. The entirety of her efforts are making the company appear like it isn't hemorrhaging money and losing customers, despite it being known to the entirety of the company. The rest of "e-staff" (yes, they really call it that) will either blindly agree with anything she says or stay silent as they plan to leave the company soon.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2020-02-20
  3. "Benefits"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Act-On Software full-time

    Pros

    Great medical and dental options

    Cons

    No 401 K currently available

    Act-On Software2020-01-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Was a great gig at first, now in a death spiral."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Act-On Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free snacks, regular hours, nice views.

    Cons

    This was a great place to work back in the day, but they are circling the drain now. CEO is nice when she deigns to make eye contact with you, otherwise you are a bug to her and most of the executive team. Not going to give her a thumbs down because I'm sure she tries in her own way. Management is always fighting with each other and the admin team especially is heavily trodden on. Avoid at all costs, they will either go under or be purchased...that seems to be what most people are waiting for.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2020-01-15
  5. "Massive improvements in the time I've been here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Act-On Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Act-On is a small enough company that if you see something that needs to be done, you can step up and get it done. There are a lot of opportunities to step outside your comfort zone and learn. The leadership team is focused on getting things done in the right way.

    Cons

    There's a lot of work to be done. This isn't a place to hide in your department and coast hoping someone else will fix it. If you like challenges and learning, this could just as easily be a Pro as a Con.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2019-11-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Run!!!!"

    1.0
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Act-On Software

    Pros

    Some company will come along and snap this dysfunctional org in a fire sale. A few select people will make $$.

    Cons

    “Leadership” uses the term “EStaff” as if they are somehow a different class of citizenry.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2019-12-20
  7. "Every rose..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Act-On Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Despite some (or perhaps in spite of???) the recent not-so-great reviews Act-On has gotten on this site, I felt compelled to share a different point of view. I was part of the team before, during and after the "transition" of leadership in early 2018. This is a company that knew it was headed in the wrong direction and took what in my opinion were some pretty bold steps to right the ship. Not all of these steps were popular, and the unfortunate truth is that some of them downright hurt. But it is equally truthful to acknowledge that growing and scaling a business is HARD, and with hard things come hard choices. As much as we all wanted it to be a glorious rise from ashes story, I have come to understand that those comebacks take time, and sacrifice, and yes - some (a lot of!) rough days. As someone who directly experienced all three of those things during my time there, I was also lucky enough to share in the sheer passion and teamwork of people who truly believe in what they are doing and who they are doing it with. This is a company still in transition and it is a slog. But there are a LOT of really incredible people within those walls that I learned from, laughed with and will always count amongst my friends. It wasn't all roses. But don't let a couple of thorns scare you away from what is, at it's heart, still a great company whose story isn't over yet.

    Cons

    many opportunities and sometimes difficulty prioritizing them

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2019-11-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Getting Better"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Act-On Software full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Trending Up. Headed in the right direction

    Cons

    Old Guard. Bad attitudes from people unwilling to work.

    Act-On Software2019-10-31
  9. Helpful (9)

    "Starts and Ends at the Top"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Act-On Software full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good views, nice co-workers, decent snacks, work-life balance

    Cons

    The recent posts are true. There was so much good energy last year but unfortunately the CEO is not a leader. The focus is exclusively on financial bottom line and sales numbers. Every all hands and update focuses on sales wins and financial metrics. We celebrate things like "cash-flow" while there is zero conversation about diversity, career development or management training. And anything the CEO says about culture comes across as if she had just read a management book on what to say about the topic. She runs the company like a CFO. She does not spend any time with the employees. I have worked in several start-ups and this is not how it should be. Other leaders engage. I see other execs on the floor trying to establish a connection with the employees but it feels like the culture (or lack there of) is dictated from the top. It doesn't need to be this way. It is a shame because there is still potential with Act-On and there are many good people who have been attracted here but the blatant lack of leadership, disregard for culture and solo focus on financial outcomes has made this a place where all of the top talent is or soon will be looking and the morale is the worst I've ever seen.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2019-11-04
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Clueless Leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Act-On Software

    Pros

    Free snacks, free bus pass, decent health insurance plans, casual dress code, a fair amount of PTO and paid holidays.

    Cons

    The product is barely functional. Everyone who uses it internally hates it and it crashes constantly. The UI is straight out of Windows ‘95 and lacks basic features that you can find in any modern software application. But the Product team is too busy fixing bugs and remedying the latest outage to be concerned with any real innovation. Leadership is clueless. The company has zero brand awareness and is hemorrhaging money, while Marketing does nothing but bribe analysts and purchase third party lists. Sales isn’t held accountable for anything. Reps flat out refuse to contact leads or book demos and no one gets reprimanded for it. But who can blame them for not wanting to peddle such a subpar product? There’s no strategy in place for how to turn things around. Leadership has been operating under the assumption Act-On would be bought out, but there’s no one left in the market who would touch them now. Their reputation is in the toilet and I don’t expect the company to be around much longer.

    Continue reading
    Act-On Software2019-10-11
Found 198 reviews