KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Act-On Software

Engaged Employer

Act-On Software

Add a Review

Act-On Software Employee Reviews about "quota"

Updated Mar 23, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 224 reviews

3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Act-On Software CEO Kate Johnson
Kate Johnson
48 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Act-On Software and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "quota"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Challenging and rewarding.

    Feb 24, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Performers are rewarded nicely and have the opportunity to earn a great compensation (salary/commission) and work from home days. More often than not good people work here. Some of the sharpest people I've met work here.

    Cons

    Frantic at times. They try to preach work/life balance but unless you are a performer, it's very hard to achieve. The comp structure does change often which can be annoying and troublesome. Some managers should not be managers as the company unfortunately falls into the 'butts in seats' syndrome...which can also be reflected in the hiring of sales people. The turnover is high and one wonders how much time is wasted in getting someone trained when they could have been identified as a bad hire from the on-set. Good people also tend to leave due to not being able to hit the salary bumps or achieve better work/life balance. Long days 10+hrs are the norm unless one shows incredible consistency in hitting quota, only then more balance can be attained.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    My Opinion on Act-On

    Nov 3, 2014 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Catered meals Good entry-level sales position Good benefits

    Cons

    I couldn’t do a better job at describing the management approach and sales culture than the 7/23/14 post by the “National Sales Manager”. Act-On’s culture is fear-driven, cliche, and tired. 60 hour weeks are expected. Most only work those hours to avoid being viewed by management as not caring, or not working hard enough. It's so bad that a recruiter told me, “I don’t recommend Act-On to anyone with a family.” Sales management will make you feel like you're crazy- and they constantly tell you that you need to be doing better because the company has record performance. This is because they’re increasing their headcount at an exponential rate. At the same time, a high percentage of reps don't even hit their low, 750k -ish annual quota. Considering Act-On’s a Marketing Automation company, lead quality and quantity is a joke. While reps tell prospects about the 'power of our platform', we have no choice but to cold-call, and call into leads that have been downgraded 2, 3, and 4 times. Deals are given away to reps, and the worst part is that they use deals as an opportunity tell you you're doing something wrong. Don't let management make you feel you're stupid by tricking you into telling you they're fair. People there get sick from stress.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    From ideal to blah

    Oct 25, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are the best thing about working here. Free drinks and snacks. The company still makes an attempt at a good culture. You will become very proficient at spelling "Act-on" because nobody has ever heard of the company

    Cons

    Where to begin...when I stacted at Act-On, the quality of the leads sales received was what you might expect from a company specializing in lead generation...since the new management team has taken over it has been a slog through the most miserable batches of 'leads' I have ever seen. It's literally just cold calling in most cases. Our demand generation team doesn't seem to have any sense of how to generate demand so sales spends most of its time cold calling on purchased lists. Our branding team and marketing executives laughed at our sales kickoff about how nobody knows who Act-On is. I'm not sure why they find it humorous that our brand positioning is the worst in our target market Sales targets are met by only a few reps...and I mean a few...like...less than half a dozen in any given quarter is a good bet. And we're talking about a group of 75 people (now 30 after the layoffs) the lack of quota attainment is probably attributable in equal parts to bad hiring, lack of training, lack of leads/brand awareness.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Hard Work, Great Rewards

    Dec 12, 2014 - Regional Sales Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been in sales for many years and have experienced both the good and the bad. Act-On is one of the best places I have worked. They work long hours and there is always a focus on hitting your numbers and working hard. But along with that, they treat you with respect and reward you for your efforts. Rewards include nice paychecks, bonuses, trips, and options. I knew going into sales that it would be a grind, but that doesn't scare me AS LONG AS I GET PAID! I have seen negative reviews on here about the hours and the stress. I work long hours, not because they MAKE ME, but because I am the type of person that will do whatever it takes to exceed my quota and make that money. The environment and people that I work with are awesome. Free food, ping pong, and incentives make it a great place to work.

    Cons

    Again, the hours can be long and there are days when I feel like I am winning, and others when I feel like I am not. I have to remember that there will be ups and downs, but that is what big boy sales is all about. It is a roller coaster, but as long as you win more than you lose you will be successful. It is not a job for the 8-5 time clock guy. There will also be times when I need to be doing things from home. I wish I had more of a work-life balance, but overall I am happy.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast-paced sales environment

    Nov 20, 2016 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good earning potential, smart people, good product. They treat you well, but they do expect a lot from you in return. You have to be a go-getter to succeed in this environment. Friendly, helpful colleagues who really do care about your and the company's success.

    Cons

    Long hours, high quotas & high pressure. Growing company with aggressive year over year growth targets. If you have a family, go into it knowing that you will sacrifice work-life balance and should expect to work 10+ hour days to achieve your sales quota.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Control your own destiny

    Feb 24, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Unlimited leads. Top notch sales training programs. Great benefits, Strong leadership team that cares about its employees. Competitive salary with a chance to earn large raises after periods of success. Strong focus on company culture. Working for a company on the path to going public is a wild but fulfilling ride. The quota structure is set so you can slowly walk into higher levels of goals but still make money while you are getting better at your job.

    Cons

    In order to make quota and survive in this competitive market you need to be a top notch sales person. This job is not for the faint of heart. You need to be constantly learning and evolving to stay ahead of quota. While you can do well without SAAS experience there is a sharp learning curve.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Apply here if you want to get laid off in 6 months!

    Mar 23, 2018 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Free snacks and energy drinks -Ping pong and keg in the office -Decent product

    Cons

    -CEO has no idea what she is doing. She runs companies to the ground before moving on to her next victim. Do your research on Jive. -They shut down the only office that made them money. But wait... the CFO now CEO made that decision? Based on what logic? -No brand recognition. Have fun spelling where you're calling from every time you pick up the phone. Act-On who? -No marketing, crazy quotas, only 1 rep who hits his quota cuz he's spoon fed from senior leadership. -Cliquey frat boy mentality in Roseville. Not sure if Portland is much better.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Regional Sales Manager

    Jun 23, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun place to work. Great product with huge market potential. Pre-IPO stock options available.

    Cons

    Long hours, no time off at Christmas unless you are over quota.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    Aug 10, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall I cannot complain about my time at Act-On. If you put in the work and deliver you will be rewarded.

    Cons

    Long days, and always being reminded of where you are at in regards to your quota. If your ahead your gold, if your behind watch out.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 Reviews

Popular Careers with Act-On Software Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Act-On Software? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Act-On Software Photos

+ Add Photo
Act-On Software photo of: Act-On Scottsdale at Giants Spring Training game
Act-On Software photo of: Holiday Time in Scottsdale
Act-On Software photo of: EOQ Daily Deal Giveaway at Act-On's Scottsdale Office in Kierland.
Act-On Software photo of: Act-On's Scottsdale team enjoying a day at the WM Open. #membersclub
Act-On Software photo of: Scottsdale office outing!
Act-On Software photo of: Friday Fun!
Act-On Software photo of: Just another day of success at the office!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Act-On Software Job Seekers Also Viewed

Blue Shield Of California Logo
Blue Shield Of California

4.3

1,763 Reviews
Compare