Cover image for Act-On Software
Logo

Act-On Software

Engaged Employer

Act-On Software

Add a Review

Act-On Software Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 9, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 228 of over 229 reviews
3.5
64% Recommend to a Friend
Act-On Software CEO Kate Johnson
76% Approve of CEO

Found 12 of over 229 reviews

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Act-On Software CEO Kate Johnson
Kate Johnson
48 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

630.2K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Act-On Software~502884
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Act-On Software? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Act-On Software employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Act-On Software and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company, Amazing People!

    Jan 13, 2016 - Senior Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Act-On Software has always treated me great and has given me many opportunities to advance my career. They have great people and there are many perks in the office. Always changing and growing. A lot of opportunity for the right person. Many office locations around the world. European market is expanding so many opportunities there. Very innovative and always up to date with marketing automation technology, its every changing and always adding. Fun environment and you will always be learning something new.

    Cons

    I have never had any issue working here and Act-On Software has been great for me but here is what I see others may have issues with: If you dont like change dont work here. A start up will always have many changes and you just have to go with the flow You will have to work hard and really be a person who just rolls with the punches. This company does need more processes in place and a better defined system, but I think that is coming with the new management and a lot of great things are on the horizon. Work life balance depends on which department you work in.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Act-On Software Response

    Sr. Director, People

    Thank you for your feedback about people in management actually knowing how to manage people. Because we believe in promotion from within, when we have a manager opportunity, we tend to look internally for employees who may be ready. Sometimes this means we promote employees that have never done the job before (or managed before). To address this issue, we recently developed an exciting new manager training program that got kicked off in February. We hope this helps new managers (and managers that may need some tools in how to manage) be successful in their roles. In addition, we have an employee training program available to all employees who want to enhance their skills.

  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Challenging and rewarding.

    Feb 24, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Performers are rewarded nicely and have the opportunity to earn a great compensation (salary/commission) and work from home days. More often than not good people work here. Some of the sharpest people I've met work here.

    Cons

    Frantic at times. They try to preach work/life balance but unless you are a performer, it's very hard to achieve. The comp structure does change often which can be annoying and troublesome. Some managers should not be managers as the company unfortunately falls into the 'butts in seats' syndrome...which can also be reflected in the hiring of sales people. The turnover is high and one wonders how much time is wasted in getting someone trained when they could have been identified as a bad hire from the on-set. Good people also tend to leave due to not being able to hit the salary bumps or achieve better work/life balance. Long days 10+hrs are the norm unless one shows incredible consistency in hitting quota, only then more balance can be attained.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. Join the Act-On Software team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Culture has gone and sales not performing

    Aug 19, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    What makes Act-On are the people you work with. Typically they're great fun and know what they're talking about. The company has a very good work life balance and some of the management are very flexible regarding how you like to operate. You'll definitely get some autonomy!

    Cons

    Unfortunately sales have not been coming in as planned and so the company is not growing as expected. This means that salaries aren't increasing and quickly becoming uncompetitive, and there's very few promotion opportunities. The culture also took a huge hit last year and has not managed to recover. Losing and lost a lot of talent in all levels of the organization!

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    "regional sales manager"

    Jun 24, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    free chips, great software...Act-on REALLY aspires to look like a start-up. They lay it on thick. Offering free lunch twice a week and all the snacks you can eat. What they don’t tell you is that they expect you to eat from your desk every day. When starting at ACT-ON expect a 10-12 hour workday as the standard. I cannot stress this enough: There is NO work life balance.

    Cons

    They preach having Act-on tattooed over their heart. They preach a family-like environment with opportunities for career growth. However, as soon as a problem occurs weather it comes from upper management or a customer the first people thrown under the bus is the sales team. It’s hard for me to describe the manipulative tactics for making everything seem like it is your fault. They expect you to convert leads within a month otherwise it is taken away from you and given to another rep. What they don’t realize is that all of leads are passed around to multiple reps for months.

    Continue reading
    17 people found this review helpful

    Act-On Software Response

    Head of Sales

    Sounds like you had more leads than you could handle. We see that as a good problem to have but are sorry to hear that you felt it was taken away from you. Our expectation is that sales reps follow-up on the leads provided by marketing. Our customers are working in real time and expect a certain level of response time. Our lead distribution model continues to evolve with a primary focus on taking care of the needs of our prospects and responding to their interest in a timely manner. We will continue to look for ways to improve the model and appreciate the feedback. The Act-On Commission plan is designed to reward performance like most sales commission plans. Accelerated payouts for the first quarters are part of most normal ramp periods. All of our new hires have 180 days (6 months) of a ramped goal and ramped compensation. This allows our RSMs to sell a lower amount but still make their targeted compensation. Our goal is to make sure each new hire on the sales team has an opportunity to achieve 100% of their variable comp in their first year. We appreciate you letting us know that we need to do a better job with communicating the commission structure.

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    People Matter to Act-On

    Oct 29, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Act-On prioritizes people. As a business, it is very easy to boil everything down to the bottom line, and keeping the impact on the lives of employees is very difficult. Over the past year, the company has had to make some very difficult decisions, but the executive and management teams have never stopped caring about how their decisions will impact the lives of individuals. In every department, you can count on three things: 1. The job will take commitment and skill. This is not an industry for junior players. If you are at Act-On, you will have to be your best to succeed, and it feels good when you do. 2. Your leader will care about you. Any leader at Act-On will fight for the priorities of their group, and unfortunately competing priorities means what's best for one group is not always best for another (classic Operations vs. Sales dilemma). Your leader will care about you as a person, and champion you and your needs. 3. Collaboration and compromise will happen. At the highest level, Act-On's executive team strives for balanced and profitable outcomes. The executive leadership will hear input from all teams, and will implement a balanced outcome. This typically means that individuals will all feel they haven't been given everything they want, but that is balance, and everyone is better for it. I respect the balanced, people-centric focus at Act-On.

    Cons

    Work life balance is very difficult to achieve, and not getting any easier. With the reduction in force, the workload on individuals has dramatically increased. Priorities have become confused, and there is a need for clarity and inspiration among the employees.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Witnessed transition from "Serious Business to Monkey Business"

    Nov 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free lunches. Had a chance to work with good people(They were few). Great work/life balance. Flexible WFH policy.

    Cons

    Current management have no clue how to run a company(Missed previous management badly when I was working). Almost everybody in management under-estimate overseas teams. Management completely lacks foresight.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    OK company , lots of change

    Jan 12, 2021 - Account Executive in Reading, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Values, European culture , Work life balance and

    Cons

    Mediocre product and not so clear prodcut strategy at the time ( 2017)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    National Sales Manager

    Jul 23, 2014 - National Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Opportunity to make a lot of money -Strong/experienced/fair management -Feeling like you are truly making a difference in the growth of a company -Spiffs, prizes, contests, bonus', commission, trips and more -Great co-workers who support each other -Investment in employees through additional training on and offsite -Don't have to deal with all the corporate tape of larger organizations -Clear goals and objectives If you are driven and looking for a challenge this is the company for you!

    Cons

    This is a very ambitious company. We are growing rapidly and with that comes a lot of change. Some people have a hard time riding the waves and remembering that with the fun and excitement of a growing company also comes A LOT of hard work. With ALL jobs you have to take the good with the bad and it is up to you with how you choose to handle that. After reading some of my co-workers comments on the lack of work/life balance, I have to say the decision to balance your life is 100% in your control. If you are working 11 to 12 hour days and not happy about it, don't take the easy way out and blame the company but instead ask yourself if you are being as efficient with your time as you could be. I left a very large company to come to Act-On Software. I knew I was leaving a comfy yet complacent position for the unknown but I was also ready to challenge myself and see what I was made of. I love the quote below. In my opinion it is what Act-On represents for those ready to accept the challenge. 'Don't Be Afraid to Work Hard to Find Out How Good You Can Really Be'

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fast-paced sales environment

    Nov 20, 2016 - Regional Sales Manager in Roseville, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good earning potential, smart people, good product. They treat you well, but they do expect a lot from you in return. You have to be a go-getter to succeed in this environment. Friendly, helpful colleagues who really do care about your and the company's success.

    Cons

    Long hours, high quotas & high pressure. Growing company with aggressive year over year growth targets. If you have a family, go into it knowing that you will sacrifice work-life balance and should expect to work 10+ hour days to achieve your sales quota.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Trust the negative reviews as they are spot on...

    Jan 27, 2015 - Regional Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people in general Fun energy and vibe initially Good for about 3 months if you need an in between job. Easy interview process.

    Cons

    They will probably crash and burn as turnover is really bad. Everyday has no work life balance is like working a typical sales job end of the quarter. Where there is smoke there is fire. Plenty of negative reviews on here to show a trend of place that does not truly value their reps. Read through them as you will spot a few similar points. Favoritism is huge as you do not have a territory. The senior selected reps get all the big agencies and just sit back making money. The 80/20 rule is big at Act-On. 80% not making it while 20% (favorites) hit their number. This is an outbound sales call center where smiling and dialing is the name of the game.

    Continue reading
    20 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 12 of 12 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Act-On Software Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Act-On Software? Share Your Experiences

Act-On Software logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Act-On Software Photos

+ Add Photo
Act-On Software photo of: Act-On Scottsdale at Giants Spring Training game
Act-On Software photo of: Holiday Time in Scottsdale
Act-On Software photo of: EOQ Daily Deal Giveaway at Act-On's Scottsdale Office in Kierland.
Act-On Software photo of: Act-On's Scottsdale team enjoying a day at the WM Open. #membersclub
Act-On Software photo of: Scottsdale office outing!
Act-On Software photo of: Friday Fun!
Act-On Software photo of: Just another day of success at the office!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Act-On Software Job Seekers Also Viewed

Blue Shield Of California Logo
Blue Shield Of California

4.1

1,831 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 229 Act-On Software reviews submitted anonymously by Act-On Software employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Act-On Software is right for you.