Actian Reviews | Glassdoor

Actian Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Actian CEO Rohit de Souza
Rohit de Souza
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great R & D and GA'd Big Data products(in 6 reviews)

  • "Laid back management style, small company, little to no bureaucracy, friendly co-workers, great work-life balance(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "not very well known, private equity so no stock options to entice top talent(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not see the forest through the trees(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work life balance and culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co-workers, Comfortable environment, Flexible schedule

    Cons

    Not too many cons that I can say

    Actian2019-09-06
  2. "Great technology, great culture, lots of flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Actian offers a very rewarding place to work. It offers excellent work/life balance, good bonus plan, competitive compensation, plenty of opportunity to learn and a very transparent leadership.

    Cons

    Small company (which may be a positive for some folks).

    Actian2019-08-27
  3. "Amazing Culture with products that are rocking the Cloud Database Warehouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - G&A in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Starts with the employees, it is a set of people passionate about the product, the company and they love to "hang out" with each other.

    Cons

    Our new product needs more "air time" meaning- to be recognized in the market place. Avalanche and Actian X are a fantastic product; it will be the future, it needs time and maturation

    Advice to Management

    Continue building and investing in the company culture and employees and maintain laser focus in sales

    Actian2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "If there's any review you read on this page, make sure it's this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Recruiter in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Actian back in March. At the time, I had offers from both Google and Amazon (for more money). Clearly, I chose Actian. There's a few reasons I opted to join this organization: --Culture: no micromanagement, no dress code, incredible flexibility, catered meals, more snacks than you'll know what to do with, beer fridge, two kegs on tap, and much more that I'm too lazy to type. --Passion: I've never seen... anything like it. Each employee, regardless of title/level, has the same amount of respect for everyone, and provides the same amount of attention/care into what they do. No one here views this as a "job." Instead, the attitude in the office is that we are all lucky to have the opportunity to work on so many exciting products/projects in one of the fastest-growing spaces in the tech world --Opportunity: for me, I'd rather be a part of a smaller company on the rise versus a large corporation with 10,000+ employees. I've been pushed outside of my comfort zone (in a good way) multiple times, which has allowed me to grow both as an employee and a person. A company with $100m+ in yearly revenue with less than 300 employees? Unheard of. We are growing more now than any previous time in the company's history. Each morning I wake up to a new challenge that makes working here so exciting and fun. Yes, I'm biased. BUT, that doesn't mean my words have any less value than any other current/former employee. I speak the truth. Are there areas that we can still improve? Absolutely. Are you passionate about what you do? Do you enjoy being able to succeed on your own terms? Do you want to continuously learn and grow? Are you looking for a place with incredible work/life balance? Look no further, Actian has it all.

    Show More

    Cons

    401k plan is below-average, but I know for a fact it's in the works to get it improved for the 2020 year and beyond.

    Actian2019-07-10
  5. "Most collaborative environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People work well with each other. Excellent collaborative environment. Everybody picks each other up. Distributed team lends itself well for diversity

    Cons

    Not much to talk about. Its really good here

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Lets go win

    Actian2019-07-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    ""Awesome co-workers""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome co-workers, great team, always happy to help !!!

    Cons

    Have not seen any yet !

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing great job !

    Actian2019-06-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Phenomenal Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture here is better than any company I have worked for! Leadership is doing a lot of grass roots effort to drive change, so I feel everyone is a part of what is being built. The technology is great and I am excited about the future here.

    Cons

    For a company with flexible time off, the maternity/paternity leave offered could be significantly improved upon.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being transparent!

    Actian2019-06-13
  8. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you want to work with incredibly smart people, great technology and amazing culture then Actian is a place for you. The top management is supportive, transparent and leads by example. You feel empowered every step of the way to deliver the best work.

    Cons

    I did not find any cons for far

    Actian2019-05-24
  9. "Great people, great culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Actian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People here are great. They are helpful patient and overall awesome to work with.

    Cons

    Advancement. Needs better career paths for those who want to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Training and career advancement opportunities. Being able to learn and grow within.

    Actian2019-05-30
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Software Support in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Actian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I was there before the big change. There was a very good culture of respect with all the employees. It was a lot of fun and we got a lot of work done..

    Cons

    It all changed with new management. Turned into more of a competitive, instead of cooperative, culture. Sad, it was a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees the way you would like to be treated. Show respect. Listen. Let your hair down and have fun.

    Actian2019-04-09
Found 95 reviews