KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Activision Blizzard

Engaged Employer

Activision Blizzard

Add a Review

Activision Blizzard Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Nov 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 370 reviews

3.6
56%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Activision Blizzard Director, President & Ceo Robert A. Kotick
Robert A. Kotick
149 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, good work-life balance(in 23 reviews)

  • "Work on video games and get your name in the credits(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Waves of long hours with no provided time frame of how long they will last(in 17 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance is pretty much nonexistent(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Activision Blizzard and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "long hours"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company great culture

      May 31, 2021 - Specialist Software Engineer in West Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working on games. New challenges.

      Cons

      High stress. Long hours. Not bad.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Activision Blizzard Response

      We are so glad to hear that you're enjoying the culture here! We agree that Activision Blizzard is a great place to work, and we're happy to hear that you feel challenged in the work you do. When not working, we encourage our employees to unplug and take time for themselves during off hours. If you'd like to provide further feedback or have suggestions on how we could improve work-life balance, please reach out to your manager or HR representative.

    2. 1.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      A vile, evil place

      Nov 9, 2021 - Software QA Tester in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Other QA Testers were quite nice

      Cons

      - low pay - long hours - My work was NEVER satisfactory nor appreciated - Racism and especially sexism seen and encouraged on a near-daily basis

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Contractor

      Look elsewhere

      Sep 29, 2021 - Anonymous Contractor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Casual dress. Some friendly people

      Cons

      Long hours, not eligible for benefits if on contract

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Low pay long hours

      May 13, 2021 - Software Tester in El Segundo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work on video games and get your name in the credits. Cool co workers.

      Cons

      long hours, lower pay than the industry average, not much room to grow. They use bug count as the most important metric.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not as great as it used to be

      Apr 8, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work with great people. Decent perks. Fast Paced. Always things to do. Exciting Industry

      Cons

      Bad Advancement opportunities . Management Lacks understanding what support staff does. Long hours. Lots of crunch. Plans seem to go nowhere or constantly change without notice. Never know when you might get fired. Profit sharing but if you're low on totem pole don't expect much.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Activision Blizzard Response

      Thank you for the feedback, and wholeheartedly agree that our people make our business so special. It's important to us to make sure our people can grow here as professionals, which is why we offer employees growth and development opportunities at all levels, and we strive to create an environment where everyone feels valued. We have taken steps to create a compensation structure that reflects our diverse set of roles across all business units, and regularly review our salary rates to ensure they remain competitive within the industry. We take a similar approach to all our employee programs and offerings and continuously work to improve our employee experience. That said, meaningful change may take time, but we’re committed to creating an environment that best serves our employees – and, in turn, our players – around the world. We encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR representative to discuss your experience further.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Friends, Grueling Hours

      Mar 12, 2021 - Quality Assurance Tester in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a QA tester you get to hang out with a bunch of other fellow nerds. People are generally very friendly and understanding Have been very accomodating with work conditions, and allow testers to work from home if they do not feel comfortable going in Have been pretty responsible in handling pandemic work circumstances

      Cons

      Waves of long hours with no provided time frame of how long they will last At the beck and call of the devs and crunch time Be prepared for devs to rant about how the bug you reported is actually a feature and that you need to shut up and do your job The long hours and repeating the same tests week after week can be mind melting Lots of issues with communication on who exactly is supposed to be doing what

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company

      Feb 17, 2021 - Activision Blizzard Media (Advertising Division) in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Benefits, Good Workplace, Business Trips

      Cons

      Long Hours, Poor Management, Long Hours

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Contractor, more than 1 year

      Long hours

      Mar 2, 2021 - Junior QA Tester in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Atmosphere, coworkers, and occasional catered lunches. Plenty of overtime.

      Cons

      Long, long hours. Overtime is not optional in most cases, work-life balance is not good at all.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      Not the worst by far

      Dec 29, 2020 - Functional Game Tester in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - 40 hrs of sick pay off the bat. - Paid training. - Very PC. - Community involvement. - Moral Compass - Understanding

      Cons

      - Long hours - Lots of Multi tasking - You have to learn to use a lot of uncommon software that may take time to learn how to use and can be frustrating.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good experience

      Nov 27, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Welcoming: Almost everyone I interacted with was very friendly and helpful, regardless of their level/rank within the organization. Strong business: There is a good amount of stability in the organization and they've made great strategic acquisitions to help grow the business.

      Cons

      Long hours: While the hours fluctuate throughout the year, the busy times are extremely busy with 10-12+ hour days and some time commitments on the weekend as well. Limited career growth opportunities: Advancement can be difficult with the preference seeming to be to fill open positions with outside talent vs. internal promotions.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Activision Blizzard Response

      Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're glad to hear you're enjoying your experience at the company. One of our priorities is to make sure our people can grow professionally; we recently launched a company-wide internal mobility program to help support this effort. We are also working with people managers to foster a stronger career development conversation as part of our performance review process. We are focused on creating more diverse pipelines to find talented people at all stages of their careers. We value your feedback and encourage you to share it with with your direct manager and/or HR representative as we work to maintain an environment where employees feel valued, respected, and fairly treated.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Activision Blizzard Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Activision Blizzard? Share Your Experiences

    or