KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Activision

Engaged Employer

Activision

Add a Review

Activision Employee Reviews about "video games"

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 331 reviews

3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Activision CEO Rob Kostich (no image)
Rob Kostich
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, minimum of politics considering size(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great way of starting your career in the video games field(in 18 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Activision frequently required long hours with little notice(in 30 reviews)

  • "Abuse of workers, no respect for work/life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Activision

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Activision and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "video games"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      game tester

      Apr 6, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun fair amount of money video games

      Cons

      long hours big group late hours

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      If i would have found this job when i was younger i would stay a lot longer.

      Sep 25, 2019 - QA Tester in Bloomington, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Activision is amazing in so many ways. The people around you are helpful and fun to meet and talk to. The management is better than most jobs ive had but still could have been better. If you enjoy playing video games or are in to the video game industry this job is everything you want it to be and the pride you will feel being apart of the industry is real. The pay while not being amazing is def worth the work and during crunch times you will make lots of money because of the over time. The place is a VERY inclusive work place for any and all backgrounds and for the most part everyone feels included and can make friends in a safe environment. i absolutely love working here and i wish i was at a point in my life that i could stay but because of the con its just not able to work out for me. if i would have found this job several years ago i would probable still be working for this company to this day.

      Cons

      No life, especially on the night shift. if you work nights during crunch you are forking 12 hour shifts 6 nights a week. It instantly kills all social life you have outside of work. This at first didnt seem like that big of an issue for me but all my relationships are falling apart because i get one day a week to see anyone or do anything unless i sacrifice my sleep. also the length of work is questionable. its a full time temp position meaning your employment is limited and most dont even last the full length because they lay people off due to company needs. so job security is non existent.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Yeah, no.

      Feb 17, 2020 - QA Tester in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Play video games all day.

      Cons

      You WILL learn to hate playing video games. Most management are mentally abusive.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Fun job,

      Feb 7, 2019 - QA Tester in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Get to work on some of the most exciting video games in the industry. - Great, relevant, video game work experience.

      Cons

      - A frequent amount of changes in the daily tasks at hand, which can be hard to keep up for some.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      It's an experience but not an interesting one.

      Apr 16, 2011 - Quality Assurance Tester in El Segundo, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You can sometimes play some amazing games, and have contact with studios that can work miracles. There is also a lounge where workers can go on breaks to eat and play video games. The area is also one of the best, with multiple restaurants to choose from within walking distance.

      Cons

      Activsion has great games, but a lot of people in charge don't seem like they should be. Most of the managers don't understand their own jobs, and usually want you to take steps that are wholly unnecessary. Add in a constant nagging feeling that they'll never really want you to advance, and you will be in a frustrating and boring position. No matter how good your work ethic seems to be, from finding advanced bugs or taking on the jobs of QA leads. You won't be appreciated and constantly nagged over "small" things that seem odd during late game releases.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Contractor, less than 1 year

      Fun work enviornment, but can get tedious or boring

      Oct 2, 2012 - Quality Assurance Tester in Eden Prairie, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to play video games ALL DAY! We take breaks often which is needed when testing video games. There is usually opportunities for overtime. Training helps you get an idea of how your time there will go.

      Cons

      If you are assigned to a "bad Game" the work can get very tedious and boring.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Ambitious and rushed don't make the best game possible.

      May 7, 2011 - Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at Activision is great because we're the top publishing company of the game industry. The workplace is great, and the development team I'm in is very united. It's fun to make video games. The support and work perks are pretty good.

      Cons

      Its a little frustrating the poor work and life balance. I love making video games. I take pride in my work. I want to deliver a really good fun quality polished game, but certain conditions don't allow this. Rushing and crunching are bad. My heath suffers from it. Which makes me feel under-appreciated and disposable.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      It was a roller coaster of a job!

      May 29, 2013 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You received the chance to test games before they are release to the general public. This offers you the chance to obtain braging rights to your friends. Break into the video game industry Fun environment

      Cons

      Long hours. There are days you will be working Monday through Saturday or Sunday making sure games get submitted on time. Tedious and repetitive work.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Vice President

      Jan 30, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working at the forefront of the video game industry provides you with multiple learning opportunities and a rewarding career in the future.

      Cons

      As with all large and growing companies, conflicts will arise with coworkers and staffers. Stress and long hours are sometimes the norm.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Worked as a Functional QA tester for a summer

      Nov 18, 2013 - QA Tester in Minneapolis, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great summer job decent hourly wages fun environment fun job benefits including cheap video games

      Cons

      Some shifts are overnight shifts (round the clock testing) Long shifts at different points in development (12+) and 6 days a week (normally 8 hour days, 5 days a week) mandatory 1 hour unpaid lunch/dinner break

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Activision Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Activision? Share Your Experiences

    or